3/6 Ozzy AMPS 324 +2 294 PMPS 323

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Ozzy is back to pink preshots tonight after 3 wonderful days of blue preshots. That kinda stinks! :confused: We see how he does tonight. I have a feeling he is going to head back up for some reason and we are going to need to increase in the near future.

Hubby and I had quite a discussion on what .75U looks like on the syringe. The width of the black plunger is much thicker than the unit markings on the barrel of the syringe. I went to the sticky information to double check and it shows .75 has the plunger exactly in between the lines. Makes sense right? But what exactly is a full unit mark on the syringe? Where does the top of the barrel go? If you had the syringe laying flat with the needle pointing to the left and the plunger to the right, going from zero to .5 to 1U to the right, where does the top of the plunger fall for 1U? Would it be exactly level with the top of the 1U line marking (to the left), in the middle of the hash marking, or just below it (to the right)? I only saw micro-dosing and in between the line dosing on the sticky info. This stuff can really drive you wild! I told hubby that it doesn't matter what we think is 1, as long as we make it look the same every time when we are going for 1 U. It may also be that Ozzy's .75U dose this whole time has been a little fatter than a true .75U. Oh well! I know others will say to use calipers but honestly, that just seems like so much work trying to figure out how many drops equals what dose. Maybe if we have to get to microdoses, we'll consider it. But I think we will be ok for now, as long as we are dosing consistently.

Ozzy doesn't look like he worked too hard on his hot spot today which is a relief. Maybe it's starting to feel better for him so he's leaving it alone. I put some more medicine on it with Neosporin and put his cone back on after dinner. He's such a good little boy and lets me squirt liquid crap all over his ouchies and slather them with gook and then put his little head in a cone and he never fusses at all. He pretty much lets me do anything. :cat::cat:I will try not to take advantage of this. Going to keep him in his cone for just a bit of time to let the medicine sink in. I really want this hot spot gone. It's doing a LOT better.

Hope everyone had a good Monday.
 
Hi Jo !! Glad Ozzy's hot spot is better, bless his heart :bighug:. Things are steady here cat wise but our weather is currently crazy ...waiting out tornado warnings :nailbiting::woot: but we are use to it growing up here o_O
 
Hey there! Uncle had a pink AMPS too after spending ALL DAY in yellow yesterday. I hope Ozzy comes down nice and easy for you soon. :rolleyes::cool::D

I went through the exact same thing regarding trying to figure out what a "real" dose was when I got below 1u. It gets a bit confusing because not all of the syringes are the same by brand and I remember feeling a little lost when looking at the micro-dose sticky and photos.
Then on top of that, as you know the lines can be all over the place and that really can have consequences when you're shooting small doses.
I will tell you that I started using calipers over a month ago but got discouraged because everything felt so cumbersome and awkward.
Before I went out of town recently I almost had a nervous breakdown the night before. I was already stressed, but when I tried to get just 8 needles together to leave with the cat sitter I kind of freaked out. My goal was to gather syringes that had similar line placement to keep as much consistency as possible.
When I got back home I thought I'd give the calipers a try again. I figured out some things and I love my set up now. I feel like drawing up the dose actually goes faster now than before I used the calipers. It's a really great feeling to completely ignore the lines and get the same amount of insulin in the needle every time. If you ever want to go for it, I can tell you my secrets!!!
 
And HI Ozzy & Jo, thanks for checking in on us! Taffy seems well, but his numbers are unpredictable. It's me that has been in a funk! I am trying very hard to pull myself out and get back on a productive schedule, which includes better schedule for Taffy and consistent posting here. We'll see...
 
I'm glad Ozzy is so good about letting you treat his hot spot. The most important thing with drawing a dose is being consistent. It may not match what other people do. If you do decide to try calipers, you only need to figure out the doses at the beginning, not each time you draw it. I made a list of what the setting should be for each dose when I started so I didn't have to keep figuring it out.
 
me too. figuring out the dose part is most perplexing to me.

Sorry for responding to yesterdays post. So busy today. But Ozzy is alive so things are well. Will update when I can. We test regularly but ss is a day out of date. Recording on note pad for now.
It's cool, we all do what we can when we can! Lately I have been posting every other day if I get too busy.
I'm so serious about the calipers. I have so much more confidence now with dosing. It still only take me about 15 minutes to T/F/S.
Looks like Ozzy may still be bouncing from his greens a couple of days ago. Hope he comes down soon but takes his time doing it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top