3/6 Miles AMPS 412m +2 383, PMPS 437, +2 328, +4 239

Chris and Miles

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-5-miles-amps-367.244150/

Slightly high number to start the day. Hopefully this is the day I figure out syringes and boost Miles' dose to 1.25u.

Typical morning - sometime around 6:15 or 6:20 Miles gets on the bed, purr purr and giving him lots of attention eventually changes to whining. Take his BG on the sofa at 6:45, start making my oatmeal in the kitchen around 7:00 (pursued by cat, pleading), fed cat around 7:15. Around 7:30-7:35 picked up cat, brought him to sofa for shot. I sit in the middle of the small sofa with Miles on the right and then his sister Ella hops up on the left and starts purring her little head off. Miles is the dominant cat generally so she didn't get as much attention this AM. She is still sitting here just purring while Miles has I think gone off to the bathroom and is whining again - because both cats are 100% used to me turning on the bathtub tab for them to drink out of.
 
Yeah, I really lucked out with these two. They were from a rescue agency but rescued as kittens and pretty early. I got them in August (2009) and was amazed - the demand for kittens had somehow been exhausted so no one else had come to that particular foster home to see the kittens. (They were a little older than minimum adoption age... 8 weeks? 10 I forget.) Alternatively, I've been so gentle and kind with them that they have turned out this way :D

Right after I got them, I was worried about whether I could sleep with them on my bed or if they'd be playing and keep me awake. Long story short, after a week I gave up on trying to keep them out. They used to both sleep on my bed but lately Miles sleeps in the living room and Ella sleeps on the bed - whether all night or not, I can't be sure, of course.

Anyway I was just looking at the video in the sticky post about drawing insulin from a pen. What's the reason for drawing out a little extra and then pushing down to the exact amount you want to inject? Is that part of getting rid of any possible air in the syringe?

Not that I am complaining really: now that I look at the syringe I would not want to try to be any more precise than 0.25 units and I can see how there could be a little variance by making a mistake in eyeballing the level on the syringe. (concerned face)

I realized I have another question: is it necessary/important to leave the syringe in for any length of time, like with the pen?
 
Last edited:
Good luck with the increase! I like to get a +2 or +3 on every cycle but especially on cycles where I increase just in case kitty wants to work the extra juice right way :)
What's the reason for drawing out a little extra and then pushing down to the exact amount you want to inject? Is that part of getting rid of any possible air in the syringe?
That's exactly why I overdraw. I get ~0.5 unit extra, knock air bubbles to the middle then refine my dose to whatever it needs to be, pushing out the air as I adjust. A lot of us use a magnifying glass, eye loupe, or jeweler glasses to see more carefully.
is it necessary/important to leave the syringe in for any length of time, like with the pen?
I don't leave anything out - I remove my pen from the fridge, get my dose in my syringe, return pen to fridge, give dose to my cat (after testing his BG of course :)). I do think I've heard some people leaving the syringe out for a few minutes to take the chill off if their cats are sensitive to lantus (Jax has never had a reaction to lantus so he gets it cold).

Perhaps others will be by - those are just my personal experiences!

Hope you and miles and Ella had a good day :bighug:
 
Oh yeah, I'm definitely going to take a reading at +2 or so. 30-45 minutes from now.

Thanks for everything you shared :)
 
Sorry, I didn't mean leave the syringe out anywhere, I meant do you
- inject, immediately remove syringe?
- inject, wait some number of seconds, and then remove syringe?
 
Comparing the numbers tonight and the numbers from 2/21, should I be worried? Wondering if I should stay up to get a +4 :-/
 
Sorry, I didn't mean leave the syringe out anywhere, I meant do you
- inject, immediately remove syringe?
- inject, wait some number of seconds, and then remove syringe?
We pretty much do the former.

Good luck with the new dose.

When the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot, it's the sign of a more active cycle. Can you test again in an hour?
 
Back
Top