? 3/6 Merlin PMPS 578 / +1 587 Ketones 0.9

Steve & Merlin

Member Since 2019
Merlin is having a Big bounce after a stretch of green. I guess his liver really didn't like it. I gave his dose of 1.25 and will wait for him to start coming down in a couple of hours. I thought he was coming down from a bounce late last night, but I was wrong. Guess I still have a lot to learn about bounces. I hope he settles down by morning. He feels crummy. He was really feeling good when his numbers were low.
 
Crummy in he is not his usual bouncy self. He is subdued like he is feeling a bit off. He is lying on the couch grooming his tail.
I will read the link now.
Thanks
 
Yes
I think it was new when we started. Nobody seemed to know anything about it except for the vet we had who also worked at the UofA Vet school. She seemed to have done some work with it. First we started with a faster acting insulin to see how he responded and it was not good. So she put him on Lantus with close monitoring. He took to it right away. Unfortunately, he was not one of those who went into remission. But the stuff is great. We are just befuddled as to why he is such a BG mess since the new year.

Thanks for the Ketone link. I see that 1.0 is nothing to get excited about, but is cause for keeping an eye on things. Blood reading are way different than strips. Apparently, strips may not even register a blood reading of 1.0. Merlin is very private about his business and approaching the litter box when he is doing it, is going to draw human blood. So using the strips did not appeal to us so we bought a Keto Mojo testing unit. Didn't ever need one as he never really shot high enough numbers that we needed to worry about ketones. I ordered the unit as soon as he started showing high 400s. Then he started 500+......
 
What has been his usual dose of insulin all these years? It looks like he is bouncing now, but has he been doing that all along? Could he have an infection, need a dental, or have some inflammation somewhere?
 
It was between 1.5u (first 4 years) and then rose to 2.0u until this January. Then he was showing no real nadirs like before and high (low 300s) PS numbers. He was so stable we kind of forgot about his illness as the shots and testing were just part of a routine. Once he was showing chronic Hyperglycemia, we took him to our vet (not the original one that was a feline diabetes expert) for a complete battery of tests. All tests came back "exceedingly normal" for a cat his age. No signs of any inflammation. His mouth is fine. We could not find any trigger for what's happening. So we are just dealing with it. I'm literally losing sleep over it with all the testing. We moved from the SW to MT and the vets here are not experts with feline diabetes. Our current vet thought maybe Merlin's pancreas is now producing insulin erratically. Enough to throw stable dosing out the window. I shoot a dose and his pancreas adds to it and he is overdose. Then it stops producing what it used to and Merlin gets under dosed. Sounds a bit wacky to me.
 
Steve- those numbers are too high for a cat that has been diabetic for 10 years - something is going on
I really encourage you to post a daily condo on this forum - there are highly experienced people who have seen it all and can help you figure it out
In case you haven't seen this yet, here are some tips and instructions for posting the daily condos
We've got to bring those numbers down - did the vet do a urine culture or anything?
 
They did do a culture and it came back negative. The only thing I can think of is he has hidden kidney disease where the kidneys throw micro proteins. That would also explain his weight loss as he isn't metabolizing his food properly and he is throwing proteins away. That is a special test that has to be sent out to a lab. I was thinking of having it done.
I will be taking his +2 soon. He seems to be feeling a lot better and is eating and drinking He's lying next to me now quietly purring and seems very comfortable.
He sure had one heck of a bounce. I was planning on giving this dose more time.
I will follow up on your condo suggestion.
+2 in 15 minutes.
 
To me, the only good thing when Murphy has high numbers is that I don't' need to test that often - you could certainly get a good nights sleep as you don't need to worry about a hypo in the middle of the night with these numbers
Posting a daily condo will help sort this out -
 
Back
Top