3/6 Marley |PMPS 473|+1 435|

AMPS: 65 (ate LC food)
+.75: 84
+1: 71 (ate LC food)
+1.5: 80
+2: 64 (ate LC food)
+2.5: 88
+3: 63 (ate LC food)
+3.5: 72
+4: 56 (ate LC food, MC gravy)
+4.5 68 (1 tbsp LC food, 1/4 MC gravy)

either seems like the gravy hasn't kicked in yet, or the insulin is doing extra work now. shall I give more gravy?
 
Last edited:
Lantus typically onsets, kicks in, around +2. Then there’s a slide down until nadir which is anywhere between +4-7.
 
AMPS: 65 (ate LC food)
+.75: 84
+1: 71 (ate LC food)
+1.5: 80
+2: 64 (ate LC food)
+2.5: 88
+3: 63 (ate LC food)
+3.5: 72
+4: 56 (ate LC food, MC gravy)
+4.5 68 (1 tbsp LC food, 1/4 MC gravy)
+5.2? (10 min late): 66
 
AMPS: 65 (LC food)
+.75: 84
+1: 71 (LC food)
+1.5: 80
+2: 64 (LC food)
+2.5: 88
+3: 63 (LC food)
+3.5: 72
+4: 56 (LC food, MC gravy)
+4.5 68 (1 tbsp LC food, 1/4 MC gravy)
+5.2? (10 min late): 66 (1 tbsp LC)
+5.5: 62 (1tbsp LC, 1/8 (drizzle) MC gravy)
 
So rinse , lather, repeat until you feel comfortable waiting an hour between tests. Next move with food would be lc only. Then you want two hours without food and holding before you stop testing.
 
AMPS: 65 (LC food)
+.75: 84
+1: 71 (LC food)
+1.5: 80
+2: 64 (LC food)
+2.5: 88
+3: 63 (LC food)
+3.5: 72
+4: 56 (LC food, MC gravy)
+4.5 68 (1 tbsp LC food, 1/4 MC gravy)
+5.2? (10 min late): 66 (1 tbsp LC)
+5.5: 62 (1tbsp LC, 1/8 (drizzle) MC gravy)
+6: 81
+6.5: 85

Does it look like I can take a breather? He's getting snippy with the testing now and I'd like to give him a little break if it's safe.
 
It looks like a stressful day for you Mallory.
Marley's responding very well to Lantus!
Very stressful, but also happy. He's definitely doing better on the Lantus than the ProZinc. So it's a good stressful compared to the stress of HI numbers, him being lethargic, peeing on everything, etc. I'd rather test him every 30 min that him go DKA again.

So since I had to work hard to keep him above 50, would this be a potential reduction or is he not ready yet?
 
I would not reduce. He never fell under 50 and this was a beautiful cycle for him. You weren’t feeding really high carbs, 13-16% is mc. We only reduce when under 50 or when you have to keep feeding syrup and high to bring up. I know it was scary fir you but ge never was in danger of a hypo today. We often fed lc/mc to keep cats in good numbers to prevent a reduction.
 
I would not reduce. He never fell under 50 and this was a beautiful cycle for him. You weren’t feeding really high carbs, 13-16% is mc. We only reduce when under 50 or when you have to keep feeding syrup and high to bring up. I know it was scary fir you but ge never was in danger of a hypo today. We often fed lc/mc to keep cats in good numbers to prevent a reduction.

What do I do going forward, though, if I am not able to test every 30 minutes and keep her out of the danger zone? I like keeping him there, but it would be hard to maintain it every day/night.
 
As you gain confidence you will see when to test. I would have stopped after +5. Do you have an auto feeder? If not I would get up and get him used to eating from it. You can set it at might so you can sleep and during the day when you can’t test. If you can’t be home to rest because your schedule won’t allow it you can reduce OT give a BCS dose (big chicken).
 
I do have an auto feeder, but he hasn't done well with it. We tried for a few weeks and he just didn't acclimate. So now I feed him small meals until I go to bed, then I mix a good amount with a lot of water so it stretches through the night
 
Sally started feeding Lily from it and sitting with her and she started to use it. I bought one for Max but then he lost his hearing so I never tried. If in your situation I would try again. :bighug:
 
Sally started feeding Lily from it and sitting with her and she started to use it. I bought one for Max but then he lost his hearing so I never tried. If in your situation I would try again. :bighug:
He ate from it , but he started trying to bite it and throw it around. I weighed it down so he couldn't move it, but then he started tearing at it and hurting himself. He smells the food and just goes into tunnel vision. I stopped so he wouldn't hurt his mouth.
 
Oh my! Nice to hear he has lots and of energy. He’s so cute.
I'm wondering if with his numbers being lower, I he may not attack it now. Im willing to try again, but he's very food driven. Lots of energy with low numbers and hunger lol
 
I will say I've handled it well. It just saddens me how much he goes through. I think that's the most anxiety-inducing part about it. But he's a trooper and rarely gets mad about it. It's just my own anxieties, but he is just happy-go-lucky regardless. Playing in boxes, playing with his banana, attacking his brother and sister. He doesn't mind.
 
I will say I've handled it well.
yes you did! you are new to green and shooting the full dose and keeping him surfing is quite an achievement! :bighug:

lantus seems to agree with him. he is seeing green practically every other day. the bouncing should also reduce with time. i already see no black in the last few days. :-)
 
yes you did! you are new to green and shooting the full dose and keeping him surfing is quite an achievement! :bighug:

lantus seems to agree with him. he is seeing green practically every other day. the bouncing should also reduce with time. i already see no black in the last few days. :)
I'm definitely happy about the minimal black. I was sad about the 400+ this evening, but it's to be expected. I just didn't anticipate THAT high of a bounce.

Off to bed! Thanks for the help and goodnight.
 
Back
Top