3/6 Jersey AMPS-533; +6.5-206, +10-321; PMPS-292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shelly & Jersey (GA)

Member Since 2014
Thanks to those of you who have been visiting my condo the past couple of days. I appreciate all of your kindness and advice.

Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114908&p=1210563#p1210563

AMPS - 419, .25 units
+5 - 416
PMPS - 465, .25 units
+2.5 - 359
+5.5 - 315

We definitely didn't get a good start today:

AMPS - 533, .25 units

Jersey is eating well, and I was finally able to get another ketone test this morning. It was negative.

Dosing Question: We've now held the .25 dose for 6 cycles - 7 once we include this morning's shot. Is it time to increase the dose? I know Jersey has been bouncing, so we really haven't been able to monitor what this dose will do. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I haven't had a chance yet to introduce myself to many people or to comment on others' condos. (I'm still a bit overwhelmed right now.) Regardless, I am reading your stories (Twice's is certainly amazing), following your progress, and sending out my prayers to all who need them. My husband thinks I'm insane when I mention, "Linda and Scooter are OTJ...." and "Shawna and Davidson are getting great numbers....." :-D
 
Re: 3/6 Jersey AMPS-533; +6.5-206, +10-321; Dose Change Ques

hehe it gets worse! my poor husband "knows" about every cat on here. :lol: :lol: it's amazing how you get a sense of personalities of both the people and the cats. and of course, all of us are cheering on every single kitty.

i'm leaning towards increasing Jersey to 0.5u. You've had 6 shots at this dose. i did think Jersey bounced from the 100's, but today would've been 72 hours and the lowest i'm seeing at this point is the 206, which is not what we're hoping for a nadir!

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

let's see if anyone else has another opinion. Some cats need just a little bit longer to settle into a dose. it might be reasonable to wait another cycle to see if it gets better. but . . . really, i think i'd increase. :-D
 
Third sentence out of my mouth after my husband arrived home this evening: "Julie said...." He doesn't even ask anymore! He just sits at the table and holds the cat. :lol:

I did increase the dose based on your advice. (It was shot time, and I had to make a call on it.) As always, your guidance is sincerely appreciated, Julie!
 
:-D let's hope we see some action from the little bit more juice! who'd think that tiny amount of anything would make a difference, but we know it does.
 
:lol: Your condo gave me a great giggle today! I remember when we started out and I was doing the same thing to my DH. Yapping away about the people I met on here and how their kitties were doing. He commented once that it was bizarre that I remembered so much about people and cats I have never met. It was even more astonishing to me when he started knowing everyone and asking questions about the kitties or their beans if something was going on (he even had them matched up correctly :lol: ).

Great work on the dosecrease tonight! Work that juice Jersey Girl :-D Let's see some beautiful numbers! And keep that appy up sweet girl.

Have a wonderful night Shelly!!!
 
My DH, Mike, knows all the cats and beans and even posts. He is quite funny when he does Gracies condo on my work days.

Good luck with the dose increase for jersey!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top