3/6 Hendrick AMPS 123 +1 199 +2 191 +3 118 +4 90 +5 90 +6 102 PMPS 501

Hendrick Cuddleclaw

Very Active Member
Last edited:
In such cases do we not even feed the post-poke treat btw? or is that not enough calories to worry about affecting the BG. I didn't give him his freeze-dried chicken treat because I was thinking, well, that will bring his BG up and we want a non-food influenced test in 20 mins
 
normally would have eaten and gotten shot by now
I can’t stick around but it looks like he’s on his way up from last nights lows. And your stall/retest showed flat.

With TR you shoot anything over 50. Do you have plenty of supplies, HC/MC/syrup and are you able to monitor/test? If so, I would shoot … I’m no expert but it’s what I would do. Shoot low, to stay low, they say ;)

If you shoot, you could grab a +1 and see how he’s doing, go from there
 
I can’t stick around but it looks like he’s on his way up from last nights lows. And your stall/retest showed flat.

With TR you shoot anything over 50. Do you have plenty of supplies, HC/MC/syrup and are you able to monitor/test? If so, I would shoot … I’m no expert but it’s what I would do. Shoot low, to stay low, they say ;)

If you shoot, you could grab a +1 and see how he’s doing, go from there


thanks for the support :)

@Sandy and Black Kitty awesome! Much appreciated. I went ahead and shot, it was about 12 minutes later than normal and he got some MC in him about 10 minutes before that, and continues to eat now
 
With TR, you can shoot any number over 50, if you can monitor. He has been staying flattish since +6 last night.

The thing to keep in mind when stalling is that sometimes the numbers can drop without food.

I understand the part about shooting any number over 50 but I also was trying to follow the instructions of stalling, retesting to see if BG is rising, and posting here for advice as it was first time getting a BG under 150 at pre-shot

so I wasn't sure if within all that, I was also supposed to go ahead and shoot --- in particular if withholding food and retesting in 20 min. Seemed odd to go ahead and shoot at my normal shot time if it overlapped with the no food/stall/re-test window
 
I understand the part about shooting any number over 50 but I also was trying to follow the instructions of stalling, retesting to see if BG is rising, and posting here for advice as it was first time getting a BG under 150 at pre-shot

so I wasn't sure if within all that, I was also supposed to go ahead and shoot --- in particular if withholding food and retesting in 20 min. Seemed odd to go ahead and shoot at my normal shot time if it overlapped with the no food/stall/re-test window
Sorry if I implied that what you did was wrong. That was not my intention. The suggestion in the sticky is for members who are very new to insulin and do not have the data on how their cats behave on insulin or the experience to handle lower numbers. I just wanted to pointed out that the flip side of stalling is that the numbers could fall - especially if the cat has not has food in the last few hours - making the decision to shoot even tougher!

So if you can monitor, you can just go ahead and shoot. :-)
 
Sorry if I implied that what you did was wrong. That was not my intention. The suggestion in the sticky is for members who are very new to insulin and do not have the data on how their cats behave on insulin or the experience to handle lower numbers. I just wanted to pointed out that the flip side of stalling is that the numbers could fall - especially if the cat has not has food in the last few hours - making the decision to shoot even tougher!

So if you can monitor, you can just go ahead and shoot. :)

oh not at all, I was just trying to explain why I did what I did. And yeah Melissa mentioned that before about stalling and re-testing and potentially the impact of fasting on the BG as you continue to withhold food longer during the stall.

I'm still unclear actually on how to handle that sort of situation when it arises. I mean today was sort of like that -- i stalled, retested in 20 and got essentially the same value (118 after stalling vs 123 before)
 
I'm still unclear actually on how to handle that sort of situation when it arises. I mean today was sort of like that -- i stalled, retested in 20 and got essentially the same value (118 after stalling vs 123 before)
I didn't get what you mean. Unclear about what?
Yes, he was flat from +6 last night.
 
Nice cycle so far, surf safely Hendricks ! Can I ask you what your name is so we don't need to call you Hendrick's dad :cat:

funny you should mention that, just yesterday I tried to change my username to "Hendrick & Kyle" or maybe "HendrickKyle" or "HendricKyle" because it's clear I am going to be the one posting 99.9% of the time and if my wife wants to log in and post once in a blue moon, she can still do that, I don't mind

but it said I couldn't change it for another 35 days or something. If you can override that or pull some strings....Hendrick & Kyle is probably the way to go
 
Last edited:
so last test was 2.5 hours ago and he was 102. I just got home, had handed off to my wife about 11am sorry for no updates to this post since then

he ate two teaspoons of 5% after that test, and no test since, she didn't see a need. I might toss in a spot check here in the next hour or two or maybe leave his poor ears alone until PMPS
 
Back
Top