3/6 Gobbles PMPS 328 +5.5 81 +7 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=90259&p=967119#p967119

Good Morning fellow Sugar Moms & Sugar Dads ~O) Gobby woke me up with a kiss and a smile. I checked his LB: one normal (small) pee clump!!!! I'm sure it is due to low BG values!!! He ate a good breffis and then had a nib of his catnip. Yesterday he has some gorgeous numbers: Sunny start then all greens & blues. And one of those greens was 50, so he earned another dose decrease. He's had 3 decreases in the past 10 days. Anyone have comments of these decreases? They are, as follows:

2/25/13: 2.25 U lowered to 2.0 U
3/2/13: 2.0 U lowered to 1.75 U
3/5/13: 1.75 U lowered to 1.5 U

*Noted as below: At +2.5 I realized I accidentally gave him 24% at +0--empty can in garbage (he only gobble down less than 1/4 of the Friskies can)--maybe this accounts for that yellow number! How long might it take for this carnage to wear off/leave his system/not affect his BG?
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134

Morning Kat ~O)

What a lovely day for Gobbles yesterday :mrgreen:
You're taking the reductions "by the book" it seems. I have seen it advised not to let them pile
up too quickly - in fact avoid a back-to back by feeding to keep above 50, but that's for others to advise, not me ;-)

It'll be interesting to see what he's got planned for you today - :smile:
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134

Bruce & Simon said:
Morning Kat ~O)

What a lovely day for Gobbles yesterday :mrgreen:
You're taking the reductions "by the book" it seems. I have seen it advised not to let them pile
up too quickly - in fact avoid a back-to back by feeding to keep above 50, but that's for others to advise, not me ;-)

It'll be interesting to see what he's got planned for you today - :smile:
Thanks Bruce~how's Simon enjoying his retirement? Yes, I'm taking them according to Protocol. I am hoping that he's following Simon on the yellow brick road of OTJ-ed-ness!!!
I've been trying to keep the little bugger fed as often as he'll eat, but am scared to let him eat a lot in case he starts getting low greens and I have to bring his numbers up (once he's full, he's full and adamantly will refuse anything--little brat!).
Yes, today will be interesting.
Thanks for stopping in. Have a glorious day!!!
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134

One thing in Simon's hypo kit that's never failed me - "Luvs" treats by Purina. Wheat gluten, etc. all the things you want to avoid :lol:
They're soft, with more moisture so they act faster and don't linger as long as dry, but he's never refused them, even after gravy is no longer appealing.
I haven't tested Simon again, he's (I assume) still trying to eject a furball, daily pukus :roll: :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134

Bruce & Simon said:
One thing in Simon's hypo kit that's never failed me - "Luvs" treats by Purina. Wheat gluten, etc. all the things you want to avoid :lol:
T
Thank you for the hint. I have on hand both soft and crunchy treats: Whisker Lickins' Tender Moments (soft) with wheat flour & corn gluten meal and Temptations Crunchy Blissful Catnip Flavor (hard) with ground corn, rice & wheat flour.
Sorry about the pukkus and hair ball! Gobbles rarely has a hair ball; he does preen, but his brother Nigel, is our "resident groomer" which means he keeps all the cats preened! And I brush Gobbles everyday then use the lint roller on him.... :lol:
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134

In case anyone missed this (I posted it on FB)--here's Gobby the other day in the kitchen. He has gained 2 pounds since dx (3.5 months) and is almost back to his pre-dx weight. The picture with his civvie was taken shortly after dx in November. Praise God & Thank You FDMB!!!
 

Attachments

  • gobkitchenRESIZED.jpg
    gobkitchenRESIZED.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 295
  • gobnigelNOV2012RESIZE.jpg
    gobnigelNOV2012RESIZE.jpg
    45.6 KB · Views: 293
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134

morning Kat. What a beautiful start to the day for Gobbles! I hope today is filled with greens to match yesterday!
Work it Gobbles!! Everyone is rooting for you!
No advice from me on the reductions. Just reminding you to use the question mark if you want to make sure that others know you have a question.
I love that picture of Gobbles. thanks for sharing it. Have a wonderful day. mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134 ? piling up reductions

Ugh!!! At +2.5 I realized I accidentally gave him 24% at +0 breakfast (empty can in garbage, however, he only gobbled no more than 1/4 the can- Friskies)-this may account for the yellow number. About how long will that wear off/leave his system/not affect his BG?
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134 +2.5 225 ? piling up reductions

Hi, Kat ~ Unfortunately, I don't have answers to your questions.
Gobbles is looking good! Love the pics!
He is also very sneaky today, and knows where to find the 'good stuff!'
I hope the effects are short-lived and he comes back down for you soon.
(Gobbles is probably thinking 'Best.Treat.Ever.')

Enjoy your day!
~Josie
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134 +2.5 225 ? piling up reductions

Hi guys .. what a great report for gobbles! Don't worry about the high carb foods .. they'll wear out of his system soon enough .. when? I don't have an exact answer but it will be ok .. then it's back on down to some greens for you gobbles! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134 +2.5 225 ? piling up reductions

Gobbles is looking great! He does appear to be on quite the mission. Maybe he can let the rest of us in on his secret...Must have been quite alarming to discover that HC food can - ugh! I'm sure Gobbles will clear it in no time and be back to purrty greens!
 
Re: 3/6 Gobbles AMPS 134 +2.5 225 ? piling up reductions

as long as the reductions are still working, I wouldn't worry about it. So far the reductions are not coming too fast, and Gobbles is holding onto his numbers fine. You just want to keep an eye out for failed reductions - if he starts to flatten out in high numbers after a reduction, then you'll want to increase the dose again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top