3/6 Fistuk AMPS 113, +4 103, +6 103, +9 92 PMPS 70

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-4-103-6-97-9-92-pmps-101-3-88-6-119.287400/

Good morning :)

PH level came 5 with the stick. The vet said it's not UTI, could be kidney related or some sand the irritates the bladder. We'll send urine to the lab today and she recommended increasing the water intake. I'll start the cranberry extract powder she gave today and see how that works.

Fistuk surprised with a green 88 last PM but then went up to a blue again. Overall too many blues and nadirs are very high. I'm aware that he's quite regulated and I could leave it at that but I know he can do better and it hasn't yet been a year since diagnosis so I'm not giving up on getting him to feel comfortable and safe in steady dark greens.

It's 8 cycles with 2U and I'm inclined to increase the dose now that I know no UTI causes BG to go up. I can do that on Friday when I'm home and can monitor.
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee thoughts?

Wishing you all a boring day :bighug:
 
It's 8 cycles with 2U and I'm inclined to increase the dose now that I know no UTI causes BG to go up. I can do that on Friday when I'm home and can monitor.
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee thoughts?
Yes, he looks good for an increase. If he is showing symptoms like a UTI but it's not a UTI, it might be Idiopathic Cystitis. I had shared a few links in one of your previous condos. Episodes are triggered by stress and can cause BG to rise. Angela has experience with Cleo. Glucosamine is supposed to help by strengthening the bladder wall. It also helps with arthritis!
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...4-4-103-6-97-9-92-pmps-101-3-88-6-119.287400/

Good morning :)

PH level came 5 with the stick. The vet said it's not UTI, could be kidney related or some sand the irritates the bladder. We'll send urine to the lab today and she recommended increasing the water intake. I'll start the cranberry extract powder she gave today and see how that works.

Fistuk surprised with a green 88 last PM but then went up to a blue again. Overall too many blues and nadirs are very high. I'm aware that he's quite regulated and I could leave it at that but I know he can do better and it hasn't yet been a year since diagnosis so I'm not giving up on getting him to feel comfortable and safe in steady dark greens.

It's 8 cycles with 2U and I'm inclined to increase the dose now that I know no UTI causes BG to go up. I can do that on Friday when I'm home and can monitor.
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @tiffmaxee thoughts?

Wishing you all a boring day :bighug:
Good morning, Shelly, glad no UTI for Fistuk. I hope the cranberry helps.

I hope the increased dose gives you the dark greens you are seeking. Fistuk seems to be able to get to the range you’d like to see.
Wishing you a boring day of dark green (we can have hope, right?)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly!
Hope the bloodwork can tell you what's going on and help you address it.
Good luck with the increase and hope Fistuk comes down a tiny bit into the greens!
Have a lovely day, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hope the cranberry helps and you get some non-alarming answers from the bloodwork. I agree that glucosamine helps bladder and arthritis, so that might be worth looking at for him. Hope he shows you the dark green numbers you want without any drama, and surfs safely today! HUGS! :bighug:
 
Yes, he looks good for an increase. If he is showing symptoms like a UTI but it's not a UTI, it might be Idiopathic Cystitis. I had shared a few links in one of your previous condos. Episodes are triggered by stress and can cause BG to rise. Angela has experience with Cleo. Glucosamine is supposed to help by strengthening the bladder wall. It also helps with arthritis!
Thanks, Bhooma. I will read the link you sent yesterday and look into Idiopathic Cystitis.
I asked the vet about it and she said the diagnosis of this is by eliminating other things and then having an ultrasound. So we're doing good to have a urine lab tests first.

Fistuk already gets 600mg glucosamine daily. I'll update my signature with his daily supplements so the info is there :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning, Shelly, glad no UTI for Fistuk. I hope the cranberry helps.

I hope the increased dose gives you the dark greens you are seeking. Fistuk seems to be able to get to the range you’d like to see.
Wishing you a boring day of dark green (we can have hope, right?)
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Staci :)
I hope the cranberry helps and that it doesn't elevate his sugar. The info doesn't mention sugar, but you know how many of these products contain sugar... so paws crossed.

Hope you're having a good boring day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly!
Hope the bloodwork can tell you what's going on and help you address it.
Good luck with the increase and hope Fistuk comes down a tiny bit into the greens!
Have a lovely day, Shelly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit :)
At the moment we're doing urine test, not blood test. We'll do blood work at the end of the month, need to wait for the next salary for that :p
Hope you're having a good boring day with nothing from your roof knocked off by strong wind :kiss::bighug:
 
Hope the cranberry helps and you get some non-alarming answers from the bloodwork. I agree that glucosamine helps bladder and arthritis, so that might be worth looking at for him. Hope he shows you the dark green numbers you want without any drama, and surfs safely today! HUGS! :bighug:
Thanks, Christine. non-alarming is a good blessing. I sent the vet a picture of the pee stick and was so impatient to wait for the morning to get her review of the result. I'm so used to have the capacity to know the results by myself now that it was a bit unsettling. But the good news were received with gratefulness :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Happy to hear no UTI but I'm sorry you have to deal with this. Hopefully the results come back soon and you'll know what's going on.

Sending lots of PAWsitive vibes your way! :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

upload_2024-3-6_11-56-37.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-6_11-56-37.png
    upload_2024-3-6_11-56-37.png
    68.5 KB · Views: 201
asked the vet about it and she said the diagnosis of this is by eliminating other things and then having an ultrasound
That's interesting. My Vet felt comfortable giving the FIC (feline idiopathic cystitis) without the ultrasound. He tested her urine (several times) and in Cleo's case no bacteria etc so no UTI but there was apparent pink/reddish mucus-like sediment and visible to the eye. In addition to the glucosamine, which can help with arthritis, he also suggested increase hydration and try to feed foods with a lower ash/magnesium content. She hasn't had an episode since April 2023.
 
Just checking in, I haven't been on in a few days, hope all is well with you and Mr. Fistuk :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for checking in Christine :kiss: I haven't been on for a couple of days myself. I'm beginning to feel quite overwhelmed between my day job and my business and Fistuk and and and...
Mr. Fistuk is doing quite ok on the whole. I hope you and Jack and all the gang are well. Sending my love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top