3/6 Eleanor AMPS 348 +2 346 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65482

I thought she was looking okay, but now she's so high again. I just don't get it. I guess I'm not supposed to try to make sense out of it?
She's back to just barely eating again. I have to coax her and finger feed. Shortly before +10 she threw up bile, she hadn't eaten since +5. I didn't want to feed her that late, but with her acid stomach problem I had to get some food in her stomach. I fed her what I thought was 0% carb FF, then looked at my food chart and it was 2%. Ooops.
I'm so tired I'm operating in a fog. I'm trying to figure out how to get more syringes since the last box was a bust. No money and really ill to try to go out. Very discouraged today.
 
(((Julie)))
I think one of the harder parts of this process is not yet having the experience to know what it is that you're seeing. Eleanor is bouncing. If you were to step back and look at her SS from a distance, you'll notice that pretty much every time she dips into blue numbers, she bounces into pink numbers within a few hours. Particularly with newly diagnosed cats, this happens a lot. The more time that Eleanor spends in lower numbers, the more her body will begin to recognize that the normal numbers are, well, normal. Many of our cats' bodies have become used to sitting in the higher numbers so, when they drop into blue or green numbers, their liver overreacts and releases a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones which cause the numbers to spike upwards.

Once the bounce clears, I think you should raise Eleanor's dose to 1.25u. Hopefully, that will encourage her to spend more time in those blue numbers.
 
((((julie))))

first, about the 300's - don't worry. she's bouncing from that 158 that she hit last night. if you look at her spreadsheet, you can see that each time she hits a blue number, she pops back up to 300+. the good thing is it looks like her liver might be getting used to those 100's. if you look at 2/28 when she hit blue numbers, she bounced up and it was 4 days before she saw another blue number. hit the 107 on 3/3 and boom - she went back up. but that was only 2 days until she hit the blue number last night.

if you think of it like a pendulum swinging on a grandfather's clock - the lower number is right in the center of the swing. hit that and then POP right back up to the other side. but just like a pendulum, the more she hits the center, the more the swing winds/settles down. most cats will stop bouncing once they get accustomed enough to that range of numbers.

what was wrong with your syringes? i'm sorry you're feeling crummy & discouraged today.
 
heehee we were posting at the same time, saying the same things. :-D

you're welcome. it's hard for everyone new, but especially when you've got your own health things going on, it's difficult. we understand.
 
Can you use the badly marked syringes and adjust for the offset? We all know how you are feeling, being discouraged with not seeing great numbers. We've all been there ourselves. Believe me, you are helping Eleanor immensely by giving her insulin at regular times and doses and feeding her low carb food. Don't sweat the difference between 0 and 2 %. We feed Zener 8% because that's all he will eat. Personally, I think if you are under 5%, that is fabulous. Other opinions may vary. :lol: :lol: Sienne and Julie give great perspective on Eleanor's numbers.
Liz
 
i forgot to answer that part. you don't have to feed 0% - not sure it's even such a good idea to do it all the time. low carb is considered under 10%. most of us feed under 5%. punkin's is about 4-5% on the varieties we give him.

one less thing to worry about! :-D
 
Julie, what kind of syringes do you use? We have some extra monoject syringes that we could send to you. We also bought a box of UltiCare syringes that we aren't going to use. Send me a pm with your address if I can send these to you.
Liz
 
I'm usually feeding Eleanor 3% - 5% carb food. I just wanted to go for the 0% at +10, since it was so late in the cycle and close to her next PS test. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top