3/6 Eddie AMPS 251, +5 = 124, PMPS 245, +7 = 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114907

Exciting day yesterday. @-) I opted to keep the dose at 2u for the higher pre-shots rather than reducing those just yet, and Eddie had a great PM cycle. Amazingly, he didn't bounce badly (yet anti-jinx) from those lows. Since bouncing is a protective measure, I do wonder why he didn't bounce sky high in response to those numbers in the 30's during the AM cycle (not that I'm complaining :-D ).

DH tested Eddie at +10.5 this AM, which was his normal shot time, and he was at 162. Decided to play it safe and wait till he was higher to shoot. Mom bean didn't want to crawl out of bed, so he didn't get his shot until +12, with an AMPS of 251. That's the first yellow pre-shot there's been in weeks. I did shoot the 2u on the assumption that he was well on his way up by that point, and that there would not be too much overlap between doses, unlike yesterday's AM cycle.

Despite our exciting AM cycle yesterday, Eddie felt great in the PM! He was bouncing around, playing tag with the other kitties, and demanding attention and pets.

Today's AM cycle looks to be shaping up to be a good cycle as well.

AMPS = 251 (2u)
+4.5 = 137
+5 = 124
+9 = 173
PMPS (+11) = 245 (1.8u)
+4 = 194
+6 = 115
+7 = 93
+8 = 100

After yesterday's low numbers, I do wonder if there's an "emergency" contingent I can fall back on if I am home for lunch, catch a number that's too low, and can't hang around for hours to test and feed repeatedly. Thankfully yesterday it wasn't a big deal for me to take a two-hour long lunch break, but that's not something I can do very often.
 
Re: 3/6 Eddie AMPS 251, +5 = 124


After yesterday's low numbers, I do wonder if there's an "emergency" contingent I can fall back on if I am home for lunch, catch a number that's too low, and can't hang around for hours to test and feed repeatedly. Thankfully yesterday it wasn't a big deal for me to take a two-hour long lunch break, but that's not something I can do very often.


The only thing I know, Jenn, is to leave food out so he can bring himself up. It's not a perfect situation as you'd probably have to mix some high carb gravy with lower carb and even then, he might drop lower. Also you could have a possible higher number to deal with, because of the higher carb.
 
Re: 3/6 Eddie AMPS 251, +5 = 124

Personally, if I had to leave and was concerned about him dropping too low, I would do as Sue said and make sure he has food to snack on, but I would also reduce the dose by just a tiny touch. Maybe you could get that Evo Cat and Kitten dry that is low carb. I don't remember if you have other cats besides Eddie. My memory is about this ---- long. :lol:

I am fortunate, being disabled (if you can find ANYTHING good about that) I don't HAVE to go anywhere. I have cancelled Dr's appts, Atty's appts, you name it. I don't care what I have to cancel if my boy is running too low for me to be comfortable leaving. I am soooo glad, that if I HAD to be unemployed, it was before his dx. I had been working anywhere from 9-14 hour days prior to that. I don't know how ya'll manage it, but then, no one else has a 'Lucian'. :o :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top