Re: 3/6 Chuck AMPS 404 @ +11.5; 0.1U;531 +3; 577 +7
Susan, I think Chuck needs more insulin and am trying to think strategically about how and when to do that.
Dyana suggested a dose in between 0.1u and 0.25u, do you think you can manage that?
Since we know Chuck can drop fast when he wants to, ideally you would increase in a cycle when you'll be able to monitor. That means probably not during the day during the week, I assume. Evenings or weekends are ok, right?
Also, you don't want to increase his dose at the same time that a bounce is already clearing. That means if he is high, like today, but you come home in the evening and the PMPS number is much lower than the AMPS or the mid-cycle numbers, I would NOT increase in that cycle but wait until probably the next cycle. If he already has downward momentum from a bounce clearing, then adding a dose increase in the same cycle might make him drop even faster. He doesn't need help dropping faster, he can do that fine on his own. :roll:
Third: I think Chuck is bouncing not because of low numbers, but because his fast drops shock his system and cause his body to release more counterregulatory hormones. So when a bounce clears and he drops fast, then that fast drop triggers another bounce. I think you should try experimenting with the timing of his meals to see if you can slow down those early drops. An example would be to divide his normal meal into a few mini-meals. Feed part of his meal at PS, part at +1, part at +2, then experiment and move those meals around until you figure out what works best for Chuck. It will take some time to find the right balance - don't expect to see immediate results, but I do think this will help in the long run.
The reason I think it is important is because Chuck obviously needs more insulin to get out of the 500s, but more insulin will probably make him drop even faster (and therefore bounce even more). We need to find a way to give him the amount of insulin he needs without letting him drop too fast or too low.
Does this make sense? What do you think?