3/6 Chuck PMPS "HI";0.1U; 597 +2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chuck and Susan

Member Since 2010
I expect bouncing to occur... I watched him in the litter box this morning and he didn't appear to be straining or in pain...
 
Re: 3/6 Chuck AMPS 404 @ +11.5; 0.1U

Morning Susan,
I watched him in the litter box this morning and he didn't appear to be straining or in pain...
this is great news. I hope Chuck clears his bounce soon and comes down nice and easy. take good care - mary and ollie
 
Re: 3/6 Chuck AMPS 404 @ +11.5; 0.1U;531 +3

Hi guys .. glad to hear all LB activity is going well .. now we just hope that the bounce doesn't go as high as you think .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/6 Chuck AMPS 404 @ +11.5; 0.1U;531 +3; 577 +7

Susan, I think Chuck needs more insulin and am trying to think strategically about how and when to do that.

Dyana suggested a dose in between 0.1u and 0.25u, do you think you can manage that?

Since we know Chuck can drop fast when he wants to, ideally you would increase in a cycle when you'll be able to monitor. That means probably not during the day during the week, I assume. Evenings or weekends are ok, right?

Also, you don't want to increase his dose at the same time that a bounce is already clearing. That means if he is high, like today, but you come home in the evening and the PMPS number is much lower than the AMPS or the mid-cycle numbers, I would NOT increase in that cycle but wait until probably the next cycle. If he already has downward momentum from a bounce clearing, then adding a dose increase in the same cycle might make him drop even faster. He doesn't need help dropping faster, he can do that fine on his own. :roll:

Third: I think Chuck is bouncing not because of low numbers, but because his fast drops shock his system and cause his body to release more counterregulatory hormones. So when a bounce clears and he drops fast, then that fast drop triggers another bounce. I think you should try experimenting with the timing of his meals to see if you can slow down those early drops. An example would be to divide his normal meal into a few mini-meals. Feed part of his meal at PS, part at +1, part at +2, then experiment and move those meals around until you figure out what works best for Chuck. It will take some time to find the right balance - don't expect to see immediate results, but I do think this will help in the long run.

The reason I think it is important is because Chuck obviously needs more insulin to get out of the 500s, but more insulin will probably make him drop even faster (and therefore bounce even more). We need to find a way to give him the amount of insulin he needs without letting him drop too fast or too low.

Does this make sense? What do you think?
 
Re: 3/6 Chuck AMPS 404 @ +11.5; 0.1U;531 +3; 577 +7

His meter read "HI" again tonight, pre-shot.

I think he needs an increase, too. I think I can bump it from 0.1 to 0.15, but not until the weekend.

I free feed him (and the 3 civies), so he always has food available. I freeze FF into cubes and leave them with the "fresh" food when I leave for work. If I come home at noon, like I have been, I'll put down more frozen if it's gone. Evening meal is fresh all around, even if there is left-overs from during the day.

So, at what point does his bounce clear and we increase the dose? My concern is that this bounce will clear this week yet, and he'll start bouncing again before the weekend...
 
Re: 3/6 Chuck PMPS "HI";0.1U

Maybe this bounce will clear tomorrow and he will bounce from that on Friday, and maybe on Saturday you can do the small increase. Do you have the weekend off?
 
Re: 3/6 Chuck PMPS "HI";0.1U

Yes, right now I just work Monday through Friday. That can and probably will change in a month or so, where I'll need to work Saturday and will have 1 day off during the week.

So, he needs to be stable (<500-600) for a 12 hour period before I bump the dose?
 
Re: 3/6 Chuck PMPS "HI";0.1U

Let's just say that you don't want to give a dose increase at the same time as he's coming down from a bounce.
So, if he's 450 on Friday night and 150 on Saturday morning, I would wait until Saturday night.
If you give the dose increase at the same time that he is diving downward, it could "add fuel to the fire" and make him come down even faster, and we already know he can come down fast.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top