Bronx's dad (GA)
Member Since 2016
Good morn all. Bronx is much lower than normal and I never had to deal with an AMPS this low. Give a token shot? How much do you think? Thanks!
No, but I did retest 3 times at +6 last night since that # was oddly low and they were all around 57. He jumped to 87 an hour after that because I fed him. He ate this morn and do expect the number to be a little higher but still stalling on the shot. I do have R to keep him down during the day if I just skip the Lev completely.Did you re-test? (I have no experience with high-dose conditions, so I can't offer any advice on dose).
If you can monitor him I think shooting the full dose or a slight reduction is a good idea...maybe 33u or 32u as the new dose?He ate this morn and do expect the number to be a little higher but still stalling on the shot
Almost interested to see what happens with no shot.If you can monitor him I think shooting the full dose or a slight reduction is a good idea...maybe 33u or 32u as the new dose?
That's what I am worried about, he has been trending lower the last few days. Thanks for tagging Wendy & Julie but they are probably still sleeping.I would tread very carefully here. If the tumor is putting out far less growth hormone, you could easily be giving too much insulin. .
That's also an option. His depot will likely carry him through the day.Almost interested to see what happens with no shot
Thanks Julie! Yes, I never thought we would be here in greens and blues when we were stuck for months in red & pink.Looks like you've decided to skip this morning. Another option is to shoot at +18, so what would normally be your +6, then skip tonight's shot and shoot on time in the morning. That gives you two 18 hour cycles instead of three 12 hour cycles. It's just another option to skipping.
I think I'd probably go ahead and take a reduction as though Bronx had dipped under 50. He would be close enough for me, so I'd drop by 10% to 31-32u for his next shot.
He's sure looking great! Good job managing his numbers!
I also like what Julie recommended about shooting at +6 at a reduced dose & then skipping PMPS shot.Jack likes token doses, 50-75% of normal, but ECID. It was also recommended to me that when doing a reduction at these higher doses it is sometimes a good idea to do a token dose before the reduction to drain the depot a little bit, otherwise that big depot train keeps them in low numbers while it slowly adjusts. Today's skip will help drain the depot and you can pick up tonight with the new dose.
Good to see such nice colors on Bronx's sheet, what a change from that sea of pinks he was stuck in before.

You were right, I was sleeping, although alternating days (ie. tomorrow) I would have been out rowing on the water at your preshot time. Guess Bronx found a way to make sure you were wide awake today.Hi Wendy. Rowing at 0430, nice! We are still pretty cold here on the east coast. What do you think of what Julie recommended shooting at a reduced dose at +6 which just came in at 178 & then skip PMPS shot? Maybe 30u?Morning Paul.You were right, I was sleeping, although alternating days (ie. tomorrow) I would have been out rowing on the water at your preshot time. .
Actually, we get up a little after 4:30 and on the water at 5:30. Still pretty dark then, but no one else is on the water.Rowing at 0430, nice!
Good job navigating the options that everyone gave you above. It's good to see what the different choices are and I like that you're asking for additional information on the options.
Part of what you are doing now is seeing "if I do x, then what is the result?" That helps you understand how things are working in Bronx's body and you can refer back and consider those results as you move ahead.