3/6 Billy PMPS 383 +2 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Manouk & Billy

Member Since 2011
Good morning everyone! :-D

Yesterday's condo :
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38194

Today
AMPS 367
+4 351
+6 356
PMPS 383
+2 288

Well, Billy seems to be doing fine. He's now eating Friskies wet food. He looked like he was tired of EVO and wouldn't finish his plate yesterday. I'm still trying to figure out what will his food be, but I'm thinking about fancy feast... We'll see. I still have a bit of shopping to do today for his food and also for the vitamins he'll need in order to recover from his diabetic neuropathy.

I hope everybody have a wonderful Sunday! Mine should be, I'm heading to the store to buy a long-awaited video game. :lol:
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

Good morning, Manouk!

I'm happy to see Billy is recovering from the neuropathy and feeling good. Finding the right food can be tough. My cats seem to like the Friskies pretty well, so maybe that will be a hit for you too. Try different things and see what Billy likes. You may need to feed him a rotation of different foods to keep him interested.

Have a wonderful Sunday, and kick some butt with your new video game! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

If you are looking for a source for methyl B-12, Lifelink has Xobaline that is formulated for cats (i.e., no sweeteners or flavorings or carbs). It's available through Amazon, at least here in the U.S. If you do a Google search for "Xobaline for cats," you'll come up with resources.

I want to encourage you to get at least one spot check per cycle every day. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the pre-shot BG level. If you get some checks today, It may be prudent to increase Billy's dose tonight. If Billy is still in the pinks at what would be the lower points of the cycle, it will make a difference in terms of how much you raise his dose.
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

Okay! I'll test him at + 4 and +6 to see what his numbers are. That's usually when they're the lowest.

On a not-so related note, I bought him a toy while shopping at Walmart's and now he's purring like crazy. ^^ That makes my day.
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

Binks is a Friskies boy, as well...

at least he likes it better than the spendy foods :-D
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

Hi Manouk: sorry I haven't been by to welcome you and Billy to LL!! I'm so sorry to read about your Mia; it looks like Billy and she were very close. Welcome to our big family!!
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

Thank you. Mia and Billy were the perfect duo, so life at home feels weird, now. She is missed really much. But I am still trying to focus on my boy, he needs help more than ever with the departure of his little sister.

About the Friskies cans, I don't know if he really likes it. I bought some Special Cat food today, we're going to try this tonight. Eventually I'll know what his preferences are! :lol:

Well, today's numbers :
AMPS 367
+4 351
+6 356

I should raise his insulin dose, right? How many units do you guys think he needs? He's currently getting one unit twice a day.
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

hi there

did you happen to pick up 1/2 unit syringes? it will make measuring a lot easier.
especially when doing increases or decreases in .25 increments
(example: I use BD brand 3/10cc's, with 1/2 unit markings)
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

I do think you have room for an increase.

From our Tight Regulation Protocols sticky:

Increasing the dose...

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
So this indicates an increase to 1.5 units BID.

Good luck with the food situation. It's a constant struggle here to keep up with what they want to eat today (which isn't the same as what they wanted to eat yesterday, sigh).
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

Thanks, everyone! I gave him a 1.5 dose for tonight.

I tried to give him his new Special Kitty wet food but he wouldn't eat it at all. -_- He's having a Purina DM wet food can for dinner. Tomorrow I'll return to the store, yet again, to find something he might like.

Oh and yes, my syringes are 1/2 units. It helps. :P
 
Re: 3/6 Billy AMPS 367

I know I'm being a pest, but I want to urge you to get in the habit of updating your subject line with your current BG test numbers. It may not seem important now, but if you need a hand, it will be important.
 
Re: 3/6 Billy PMPS 383

You mean editing it? I'm sorry, I totally misunderstood you before. >< I'll do that now. Thanks!

Well, his +2 is at 288. Yay for yellow! He wouldn't eat dinner though, he only finished his breakfast plate, so adding that to the +.5 unit I gave him tonight, it does explain the change of color. I think he may just not be used to eating that much food... We'll see. Tomorrow is another day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top