3/6 Bailey AMBG 209 - not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

After last nights "fun" Bailey wasnt his usual happy self this morning. I gave Tiggy his flagyl in a pill pocket and usually Bailey comes running for his little fragment of the pocket. He didnt want it - didnt even move from the spot he was in. Tried his fav freeze dried liver treat. Also didnt want it. So I know something is up. I measured him at 216.

Last he ate was some LC at PMPS +7. We are now at PMPS +10, 2 hours before preshot.

You think the syrup and HC upset his stomach?

Wendy
 
Re: 3/6 Bailey - post low not eating???

The diarrhea may be related to why Bailey isn't feeling great and his appetite is "off." At least in humans, Flagyl can cause a loss of appetite but I'd be surprised if one dose of Flagyl would have been the culprit.

HC food, especially if a kitty is gluten sensitive, may also contribute. Of course, depending on how much HC you fed Bailey last night, you're kitty may still be full.
 
Re: 3/6 Bailey - post low not eating???

Its tiggy with the diarrhea not Bailey.

And Bailey likes to eat, never turns down a treat.. ever.. so I dont think he is full..
 
Re: 3/6 Bailey - post low not eating???

ok he ate a couple of freeze dried liver and chicken bits. I think ( hope. paws crossed) he is coming round..
 
Skipped the shot. I find anywhere under 180 and he drops into low green. He is too close for my liking given he isnt eating properly and I dont want to give him more HC or syrup if that is causing the appetite issues.
 
Sorry Wendy. I must have opened the wrong SS. Coffee hadn't fully kicked in.

How much HC did you feed last night? I'm looking at the jump between +2 and +5 and then the numbers start to drop back again before they level off. Some kitties feel a little "off" when their numbers bounce around like that.

There's also the possibility that if Tiggy isn't feeling great, he may have given whatever he's got to Bailey. You may just need to watch and see how Bailey is feeling throughout the day.
 
No worries. He got maybe 1tblsp by the time all was said and done.

And he had a furball as well this morning at some point between +8 and +9.

I know what you mean , last time Tiggy had diarrhea they all caught it.

I skipped his shot this am.

Wendy
 
Wow Wendy - lots of things happening at your place (I was lurking on your condo last night - whew!) Sending good vibes your way - hope everyone gets back on track soon!
 
Wendy

I'm sorry I misunderstood last night. I read back and you didn't say you gave him one tbsp....bleary eyes read a "b" when there wasn't one.

I wasn't sure how much you gave him at +2 when you first got the 38. You indicated you gave him 2 drops of syrup on his gums? I thought you were asking if that's how much you should give him next time and so that's when I responded you could put it in his food. Boy I was not much help!

So I think it's important to do an "after action report". What could we do better next time?

When you got the 38, good job retesting. At that point, a couple tsp of HC gravy would have likely worked after 30 mins. In hindsight, Bailey may have a tummy issue with HC gravy as Sienne said. So next time, you could give LC food with a drop of syrup, retest in 30. You could also use honey but I think it takes a bit longer to see the BG come up.

So you got the 38, gave syrup, retested in 20 and then posted that it wasn't bringing him up. So I suggested you put a couple of drops of syrup in his food or give him two tsp gravy. I should have been more specific that the choice was a couple drops of syrup in his LC food OR two tsp gravy but not gravy and syrup. That usually isn't needed.

Then I had you give him LC food at 67 just to get him to surf and hopefully keep him from dropping back down low when the HC/syrup wore off. I see he went way up and then came back down to blue before a small bounce.

I hope he feels better and will start to eat. I would definitely just try LC with syrup next time but it doesn't take much syrup. My apologies for confusing you.
 
You totally were a ton of help! You helped bring him up, you helped keep me from panicking.

And i learned a lot - I copied your post because the post on lows in your signature doesnt say anything about LC etc .. all it says is the below.. Your post was much more specific .

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of food with high carb (HC) gravy or HC food only.
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
 
Hi Wendy, scary night last night. I was watching(and learning). Glad it all worked out ok. Too bad Bailey isn't interested in food today. I hope he feels better. Great job last night. I hope you can get some sleep.
Have a good day!
 
I certainly hope Bailey is eating better and feeling better after his pajama party last night. Missed it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top