3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72, pmps-58, +3-220

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Yep its official no more chicken bites for Miss Autumn because as much as she loves them, I love these blue mornings more. :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116

Looks more like Autumn's numbers. :-D

Was the last chicken you bought, a different brand?
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116

Yep I usually get her chicken from a local butcher here in town that only buys local livestock or I will get them from a local woman where I also get my eggs...but this last stuff because of the weather I just grabbed a bag of frozen Walmart house brand Good Value so I could do a one stop shop...But that is what I get for convience huh? lol. Guess I will have to go back to supporting the local ecomony and keep buying it locally. That is one of the perks of living in the middle of nowhere, we still have egg ladies.

I know those chickens that I get from here are unenhanced because she butchers to order and has even offered that if I wanted to I could drive out to her place and pick out my own chickens from the ones in her yard. I just know they taste way better than the stuff in the grocery store, and there is nothing better than farm fresh big brown eggs. :-D

And it looks like next year we are even going to have a friend that we can get fresh beef from, as Jon's foreman is getting ready to set up his ranch to run cattle and we have talked to him about buying a calf, having him raise it for us and then we get the meat when it comes time to slaughter.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116

Having 'him' raise and slaughter, I could handle, as long as I never had to see it, until it was packaged. :o Anything I have to feed, is a pet, you can forget slaughtering. :lol: I know people do it and god bless 'em, but I can't. If I allowed myself to dwell on it, I wouldn't be able to eat meat or eggs at all and I like them too much! :lol:

Most def would go back to the local chickens. I haven't had fresh eggs in more years than I can remember! Back in the early 80's we lived in WV and bought our eggs from the 'egg lady'. OMG they were good!

I can get them here from the local farmers market, but I can't afford 7.50-8.00 a doz! :shock: The ones we used to get were the 'rejects' that the buyers wouldn't take. The ones with double and triple yolks, tiny little speck cracks, etc. Yeah, hurt my feelings with double/triple yolks! ;-) And they were CHEAPER than the store! :o

Aw man, I miss living in the country! :sad:
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116

Oh then I so am not telling you I get them for 2 bucks for 18 eggs, or $1.50 if I go out to her place and get them myself...lol And oh yeah the only way I can do it with the cows is if I just drop off a calf and pick up the meat and have no interaction with the animal inbetween..if I feed it it is here to stay for the rest of its natural life.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116

How much padding would we need to ship eggs? :lol:

Yup, me too, pet for life if I feed it! :-D

I couldn't even drop it off, it would have to be delivered to him. :lol: H*ll, I couldn't even pick it out! :shock:

Seriously! :o

No wonder I eat so much PB&J! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

Now that looks much more like my girl...bad chicken...bad bad chicken. But not like she is suffering any, cuz mom made up for no chicken bites today with water packed sardines..and since Autumn is the only one that likes them she isn't having to share with her brothers and sisters.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

Pretty blues!

Yes, I no longer do frozen chicken for Sneakers raw diet because of that very thing- they apparently HAVE to be pumped full of preservatives before being frozen for shipping. So I buy the regular stuff in the fridge part.

And we have a farm2work organization that we order from local farms and get delivered to our work office. Eggs are about $3.50/dozen. More than Krogers but taste better and the $ stays in AR. They even have angus beef- buy a quarter/half/whole cow and pay per weight. They process it and it is delivered frozen.
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

You say beef around here and it is automatically assumed to be black angus...if it isn't that is when it is marked...lol For the longest time growing up I thought the only difference between milk cows and beef cows was that milk cows were black and white, and beef were all black. It wasn't until I moved out of Nebraska that I learned that they both come in all different colors and breeds. We are getting more and more white face here but still the majority is good old Black Angus...or as I call them...steak on the hoof...lol. The other plus around here is most are still pasture raised we have very few feed lots, there are some but not many and of the ones that are around they are mostly winter lots when it is too cold and snowy for the cattle to be in the fields.

You will even still see cattle being moved by horse and rider and yep we still have cattle drives ...lol not as flashy as the old west ones but folks still get together to raise a barn, move cattle or bring in the harvest. A couple years ago one of the local farmers was killed right before harvest, everyone from miles around just showed up on his farm with tractors and combines etc and started hauling in his crops, the women came with pots, pans and groceries to feed the family and those in the fields. Once the widow had her crops in and was set for the winter they all disappeared as quickly as they showed up. But that is just how we roll in the shire.. :-D

Doors are left unlocked, children play outside and when there is a need we band together to get it fixed, which I will trade anyday for the lack of shopping and night life. Although I do somedays wish I didn't have to drive 20 miles to hit a good fabric store, then I remember I use to do that in Denver too, but the difference is now I actually have to have a lovely drive in the country instead of fighting rush hour traffic to do it...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

We do have three farms here connected to the F2W that do only Angus. I am sure there are more but why go looking for them when they get delivered to your door? :lol:

But missing the fabric store... that would hurt- my wanting to buy but seriously help my pocketbook :lol:
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

LOL yep it has curbed my wanting to buy but helped with the pocketbook...well that and a DH that says I can't have more until I finish the 15 projects that are started..lol I am now only allowed as much fabric as I can stuff into the sewing room...this includes fabric, yarn, notions, and all other craft materials...so now I'm working on him getting back into doing his train layouts because I get more trips to the craft stores that way. ;-)

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

Yes- I'm cleaning out my sewing room and have currently found 10 projects on-going :? (and won't finish b/c I am no longer in that size), 12 more that I should finish :shock: , and about 20 more that are 'waiting in the wings" to be started :oops: .
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

Oh I know that feeling I have about 10 that aren't going to get finished because I'm no longer that size...lost 46 pounds over the last year, but now I have to sew my own if I want something that fits and doesn't look like I just raided my daughter's closet. I'll turn 50 in May and now wear between a size 1 and a size 5 depending on cut, which is unheard of around here unless you are 16....lol.

The ones I really need to finish is the stuff I want to have ready to sell this year....kitty cubes, fainting couch pet beds and a ton of catnip toys that I have learned that I have to have done and ready to stuff when the catnip comes in because I have like two point five seconds to get them stuffed before the Fur Gang starts breaking down the sewing room door...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

Make sure you let me know when your catnip harvest is in and dried, I want to get a couple toys from you. As old as my cats are, it takes nip to get any reaction out of them. :lol:

I can relate. :o
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

Will do hon. I'm thinking of getting some made up and just buying the catnip to fill them just so 1) I can finally throw away the disgusting ones the fur gang have right now (they have been well loved). and 2) so I can get some good pictures of them and get the website set up now before the outdoor world starts calling again.

I have some really cute patterns...I have single and double dip ice cream cones, cupcakes, slices of pie, fortune cookies, twinkies (complete with the filling spots on the bottom), oreo cookies, a can of sardines with 3 removable sardines, a goldfish on a string, a mouse with a bell on the tail, and one that is a ball on a springy string that you can either hang from a door knob or hang in a crate if you have to confine someone to treat an injury.

Then there are the beds and kitty condos...I have an old fashioned fainting couch, a little tiki hut, the soft fabric cuddle cubes, as well as the traditional just round sided beds and pillows, and while I haven't made any yet I also just got patterns for little kitty and doggie coats.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72

How cool is that?! Can't wait to see, be sure to let us know when it's online. :-D

I've had cat beds in the past and they would never use them. Why should they? They took over MY bed! :lol: I gave them away. (the beds!) :lol:

But since Lucian has been sick and staying out by the dining table, I made him a 'bed' out of a paper box lid, with an old chenille sweater in it and he likes it. Unfortunately, so do the other 2. :o Greedy girls can't stand the fact that Lucian had something that they don't! :o I had to make another one. :lol: And if both the girls get in them, I kick Patches out. She the youngest and in the best health. :lol: Besides, she's more apt to sleep with me now.

Which is really strange. When Lucian quit sleeping with me, Patches started. She never has, even though I tried to get her to. It's like she thought she had to take his place. She has become very cuddly, in my lap and in my bed, ever since Lucian got sick. And she preens him, washes his face, ears, etc. And the other day, she was sitting by the LB, when he used it. He doesn't 'cover', he just leaves. :lol: and she reached in with her front paws only and covered up after him and then walked away. Crazy! It's almost like she is trying to take care of him. :-D Never ceases to amaze me. :o
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116

MommaOfMuse said:
Oh then I so am not telling you I get them for 2 bucks for 18 eggs, or $1.50 if I go out to her place and get them myself...lol And oh yeah the only way I can do it with the cows is if I just drop off a calf and pick up the meat and have no interaction with the animal inbetween..if I feed it it is here to stay for the rest of its natural life.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

Stay there? No, it would come back to your house and join the "gang."
Her numbers look great btw...
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72, pmps-58

LOL Jesse I do draw the line to livestock in the house...lol Although you know a miniature horse isn't much bigger than the dog..hmmmm wonder if Santa will bring me a pony next year if I'm very very good...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72, pmps-58

You shot her full dose on that 58, didn't you? Dammmmmmmmmmm girl, you ballsy! :shock: :lol:
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72, pmps-58

Yes Yes I did just shoot her full dose on a 58.....do not try this trick at home until you have months and months of data...And nope not ballsy just know my Autumn.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72, pmps-58

"Children - do not try this at home! I AM a professional!!" :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72, pmps-58

lol well with Autumn yeah.....but with any other sugarcat I'm still just a rookie....lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/6 Autumn amps-116, +6-72, pmps-58

Lord knows, it would help all of us if it was 'one size fits all'. :shock:
 
See not ballsy at all...I knows mai kat...lol

Remember she is a Levemir girl her onset isn't for another hour, but her nadir isn't until right before her next shot.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
LOL I did, but thats because she is my girl....betting on low blues or green in the morning too.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Sneakers will do that, too. Insulin kicks in around +3 or +4 and nadir is around +10. But still- a 58... I KNOW my cat and that won't really work :lol:

I thought about cat nip toys to make and sell at the alterations shop where I work- that isn't one of the items we already have out. Catnip would be a good addition to my garden... for the neighborhood cats :lol: . Sneakers would love some fresh 'nip I bet :lol:
 
LOL Well I know Autumn and I also knew the last flavor in the house was Mixed Grill at around 10% carbs which always spikes her, and that not only was she going to eat right after that shot, she would be eating again 3 hours later before bed, and the shot itself that pm shot was going to be it for the pen, so probably not as strong as it could be (trying to finish off some odds and ends pens before opening a new one). When I got all the pens from mom there were about 5-6 that she had saved for me that only had maybe 20-60 units in them so I've been finishing those up, but since they more than likely came from when she was in hospice care they might not have been handled as carefully as mom use to. Mom was real good about keeping the leftovers in the fridge for me but I'm pretty sure her nurses didn't even think about that and more than likely just left them at room temp, but they are still clear and no floaties so I'm using them up for now unless her numbers get really wonky.

One word of warning on growing your own catnip....when you harvest, harvest all you are going to need or want, because once you cut those stems....every stray cat for about 5 miles will find those plants...they are worse than rabbits...lol I'm really hoping mine comes up again this year after that drought we had last year, catnip is a tough plant but it was still looking pretty sad by last fall. If not I'm going to have to replant the whole bed...all 10ft x 10ft of it.

I will have to see if I can find some pictures around here of the toys and beds I have patterns for....found some really cute material the other day to make some just little cloth pillow type toys out of, it is already cut for quilt squares but there is probably 9 different prints and all of them are cat related...very cute calico stuff.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Sooo... cut what I want to dry all at the same time, eh?

I have a front and a back garden so maybe start two batches a few weeks apart and cut the first one and wait to cut the second one. Being far apart maybe the second batch will make it? :lol:
 
Yeppers or you can do what we do, I have the catnip fenced off with chicken wire, then after I cut what I'm going to dry I toss a chicken wire top over it and zip tie it in place. Until it is ready to cut again, because the more you cut the more you will get, then in the early to mid fall get one more cutting, and let the rest go to seed so it will seed back thicker the following year.

Starting a new bed the easiest way is from seedling plants, but if you go the seed route you will want to soak the seeds overnight in water to soften the coverings. Catnip has some very hard seed coats so you have to soak them first to make sure they all grow. Otherwise it is really easy to grow since it is basically a weed...lol

The first year I planted it I made the mistake of planting it with the rest of the mints...couldn't figure out which was catnip, which was lemon mint and which was spearmint without chewing on the leaves...neighbors probably thought I was nuts out munching on my plants...lol Oh well they think I'm nuts anyhow so nothing new there. Now it has a bed all to itself and is the kitties favorite place to go hang out with me in the summer. And since it is completely fenced and I have a top for it, I feel safe letting them wander around in there while I'm working on the rest of the gardens.

This year is a big backyard project, the folks across the alley from us put in a new foundation last year and tore out their old brick one, and told us we could have all the bricks we wanted if we just come over and take them. So this year I'm going to be cleaning brick and building a raised flower bed along the fenceline between us and the rental house next to us...since the landlord over there is really bad about getting references on who he rents too and that is the only house on the block we have problems with consistantly when it comes to our drooler. So since we are also finally getting the backyard completely fenced so King can have the run of it, I want to build something along that fence line where he can't get to the fence and they can't stick their hands or anything else through to him. So planning a raised bed and then planting it with climbing roses...with really big nasty thorns on them...lol

Most of our neighborhood the houses are owned by the folks that live in them and most of us are older couples, but there are 3 houses that are rentals and I swear they get rented to the lowest life forms the landlords can find, and the turn over is unreal. Didn't know there was that much scum in town...lol But we have had problems from those 3 rentals with everything from someone trying to breakin, peeping toms, kids throwing rocks at the dogs in the neighborhood and just plain walking through the yards without any thought to flowers, gardens etc. I've even gone out to bring in my onions and someone had reached over the fence and pulled them all :evil:

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
UGG!

My summer project since I won't have a summer class this year is to put a mowing strip around the house and shed and around the old strawberry patch so my neighbor doesn't run over my drip irrigation line... again (he's almost 90 and still drives his riding lawnmower around- love him in the back part but he can be murder on my watering system :lol: )

AND I, too, am getting bricks- from work as they are re-bricking the front 'courtyard'. I want to brick the walkway down the side of my house (less than 3 feet b/n house and fence) which is home for weeds and, if there is enough bricks to brick up the front yard (15x20 feet- its tiny) so all I have are flower/garden beds and an get rid of all the weeds. I don't have grass in the front or the side- just weeds :lol: . If I can't get enough bricks I will make a form and create my own patio pavers for the front yard. I've got the miniature mundo (monkey) grass to plant down the walkway as it likes the shade and will do clover ground cover in the front. NO MOWING!!!!

And I live next door to 3 rental properties, 4 more behind my house, a few on the other side... our whole neighborhood is becoming one big rental district with very few people living in the houses that actually own it. Heck- when I get a job and I have to move away that is what I'm going to be doing- renting my house out for income while I rent an apt elsewhere. I only have 3 years to go b/f it is paid off anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top