3/6 Alfred AMPS 251. +3-174 +4-155 - changed dose today

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Good morning. Yesterday was our first full day of BG and it went pretty well. We were a little late getting to the suggested +14 and then our other cat had a major seizure in the night, so it was a bit of a rough one. (Other cat is not FD, by the way....)

AMPS 176
+2 130
+5 60
+6 61
+8 54
+10 77
PMBG 74
+15 146

Yesterday

From yesterday's discussion with several of you, I had decided to change his dose to 1.25u down from the 3U the vet had suggested. That's my plan in about 5 minutes. Anyone have any other thoughts about this? I hope this is a good day for all.
 
Re: 3/6 Alfred AMPS 251 - changing dose today

Hi guys .. don't think I've been to your condo before so welcome from us! Those are some sweet looking numbers yesterday, nice job! Sorry to hear about your other kitty having a seizure, that must have been scary! No dosing advice from me but hopefully those with better eyes will be here soon . have a great day!
 
Re: 3/6 Alfred AMPS 251 - changing dose today

Hey KJ, so sorry to hear about your other kitty. I hope he/she is okay! Does she have a condition?

Best of luck with the decrease. While I can't offer any dose advice, Alfred's numbers look good with the 3 units. Nice AMPS cycle you had yesterday. Did you have to feed him at all during the middle of his cycle to keep his numbers up?
 
Re: 3/6 Alfred AMPS 251 - changing dose today

Thanks for the welcomes. Yes, my other cat, Clyde has epilepsy and the seizures are intense and scary. Somehow I think it's almost made worse b/c they usually happen in the middle of the night so you're jolted out of sleep with this kitty you love in such a distressing process. But, as with Alfred, I'm hopeful that we'll find his right dose to keep them as under control as we can. I've got lots of fingers crossed for cats these days. ;-)

And yes, I did give Alfred a few mini-meals during the day yesterday. This is all so new and overwhelming, but you guys are amazing. My husband even said this morning, while discussing the change in dose, "I'd rather listen to what your people in the computer say than the vet. They at least seem to put a lot of thought into it!". That said, I do have a call in to the vet to chat, as I was inspired by Sienne yesterday to work WITH her instead of just be so frustrated with her lack of knowledge about FD.
 
Re: 3/6 Alfred AMPS 251 - changing dose today

Thank you for the article. I am making a copy to bring to the vet this afternoon.
 
My husband took Alfred to vet for blood draw for fructosamine test and they spot checked him. He was at 155 on a feline calibrated glucometer. Am I correct in subtracting approx. 30 to match the scale I'm using with the Accu-Check or should I just leave that one off his SS?

Also...he has gained 9oz. since his diagnosis on 2/21. He had lost just over 2 pounds in less than 2 months just prior to diagnosis. This is good, yes????
 
That's great that he has gained weight. I'd be sure and watch him and control his calories as our little sugar cats can tend to get a little pudgy.

Oh gosh...we should have told you not to pay for a fruc test. You are getting real time data and you don't need a fruc test. I'd decline next time around...vets love to run them. Just show her the SS and tell her you have the actual numbers.

You could put that test in the correct block on his SS and just annotate it "155 VET AT" and we'll know what it is.

I think he's looking pretty good for a skipped shot....good example of his depot :-D

I'll check back in later tonight.
 
Hi KJ
Glad to see you posting here. The people here are excellent, they will keep you on the right track :-D
 
Question about the SS - if I put anything other than a number in the cells, it doesn't automatically color the box appropriately. How do I do that? BTW, the SS is awesome....so thankful you all share this. My husband and I both have access to it and have even learned to add numbers on it from our phones. I'll be traveling for a week starting tomorrow and Dave will be on his own. He plans to conference with me (and by extension, all of you) as the tests go. Hurrah for technology, right!?!?!

So, continuing with the 1.25U tonight.
 
Up at the top in the editing bar is a pitcher and also an "A". Click on the box you want to color, click on the pitcher, select the color, and then click on the "A" for the print color.

That should work :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top