? 3/6/20 Chaz, amps 343, likely bounce?

Kelly & Chaz

Member Since 2019
UPDATE: +7 is 58. Gave dab of corn syrup and tsp hc gravy food

UPDATE: +6 is 67! Gave tsp of hc gravy food

Just want to run this by you all - I think we had a low and a bounce in the night on 3/4, high all day yesterday and this amps. Went ahead and increased his dose to 3U per guidance here, now we are at 91 +5. Just fed him regular FF pate - will check again at +6. At what point should higher carb food come into play? I know he shouldn’t go below 50, but do I try and bring him up a bit in between so he’s not bouncing again? What is considered mc canned food? Also, with a green nadir already on day one of increase, this means hold new dose for 10 cycles right?

last post for reference:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-due-for-increase-on-tr.226599/#post-2538583
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry you didn't get some help sooner
58 is actually a great number & LC should be sufficient - sometimes I'll give a little MC if I have to leave & he's hitting the 50s early on. It can be scary seeing those 60s and 50s for the first time :)
 
I did end up giving him a very small dab of corn syrup which he licked off his paw, and a couple tsp of ff gravy. Just tested again @ +8, he’s at 71 so it doesn’t appear to have spiked him yet, but a tad higher which makes me feel better. I’m not gonna lie - that quick drop had me pretty scared. I was supposed to go out this afternoon but stayed home to keep an eye on him. Such a rollercoaster ride this FD management is . Thanks to you both for answering me. I suppose I will get more confident in handling the greens On my own at some point. Now I’m already wondering about PM shot? I’ll likely be looking for advice again in 4 or so hours.
 
What is considered mc canned food?
LC food = 0-10%
MC food = 11%-15%
HC = above 15%
I keep all 3 types in the house. They each have a part to play when I deal with Moey's lower #s. I haven't used Karo since I found this board...thankfully. I used it while the boys were on Novolin-Nph insulin. Karo is great when you need them to come up fast but, it wears off soooo quick(~15 min). But, it has its place too.
I too, apologize that no one got with you quicker. If you feel like you need help and you're being overlooked.....bump your post up. That can bring some eyes to it. And by all means, if you're having an emergency, low #s or etc. use the 911 tag that's located in the drop down menu.
I hope Chaz behaves the rest of the afternoon for you. Someone will be around to help you come PMPS time:)
 
Looks like you and Chaz had an exciting day! But hard on your nerves at first! Trust me though, you'll get to the point where you'll miss those pretty green numbers if you don't see them often enough!

Great job keeping him safe today!
 
Awww! Look at that beautiful surfing time! Sorry I wasn't around today to support you. Looks like you've gotten some good advice about feeding next time you see those lovely greens...it's what we all wait to see!

You may want to keep a close eye this evening - if the depot is full he may want to take another ride on that surfboard - he'll need a little supervision since he's kinda new at surfing.. Just want to make sure he stays on top of it...

Have a good evening Kelly!
 
LC food = 0-10%
MC food = 11%-15%
HC = above 15%
I keep all 3 types in the house. They each have a part to play when I deal with Moey's lower #s. I haven't used Karo since I found this board...thankfully. I used it while the boys were on Novolin-Nph insulin. Karo is great when you need them to come up fast but, it wears off soooo quick(~15 min). But, it has its place too.
I too, apologize that no one got with you quicker. If you feel like you need help and you're being overlooked.....bump your post up. That can bring some eyes to it. And by all means, if you're having an emergency, low #s or etc. use the 911 tag that's located in the drop down menu.
I hope Chaz behaves the rest of the afternoon for you. Someone will be around to help you come PMPS time:)
Thank you very much, this info is so helpful!!!!
 
Awww! Look at that beautiful surfing time! Sorry I wasn't around today to support you. Looks like you've gotten some good advice about feeding next time you see those lovely greens...it's what we all wait to see!

You may want to keep a close eye this evening - if the depot is full he may want to take another ride on that surfboard - he'll need a little supervision since he's kinda new at surfing.. Just want to make sure he stays on top of it...

Have a good evening Kelly!
It was an interesting day for sure . You can bet I’ll be checking him through the night after today’s numbers. He was at 151 pmps, so I put my big girl pants on and gave him his 3U shot, +2.5 is 258, so who knows........ another bounce maybe?
 
Yep, these new kids just love to bounce after seeing a new all-time low number...he hasn't seen a number that low in a long, long time...so don't be surprised if you get a reading that right back up there on the moon...and then again...if he's past that bouncie place...he could slide back down and surf around half the night...

That's what's always so tricky with these cats...you just never really know what they're going to do...we test often so we can get a better idea of the trends of each of our own cats...but they are full of surprises and will keep you guessing.
 
Back
Top