3.6.15 Zoey 396 ...Bad First Test BG of 38

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
Happy Friday!

So my blood's pumping and flowing through my veins this morning. I've already counted my blessings and given thanks after a scare before I even placed my feet on the ground. Zoey was a little irritable last night so I didn't test her any extra during the night thinking she'd probably like a rest. Of course, the first BG test this morning was 38 so I immediately panicked (even though Zoe was not showing any signs of hypo) and threw some higher carb food down. I did count out 10 pieces of kibble so I would know some type of measure to base the rise in BG on. Once she ate that (less than a minute -- pate, I guess, doesn't need chewing) I took another test: 407; and a third for good measure: 396. I've given her the normal 2 unit dose and all seems to be well.

There's nothing I can do about the higher carb food at this point, except learn from the glucometer just how much that higher carb food is going to affect her. (lessons in everything) For future reference, if she really DID have a 38, would I have seen signs of hypo, or could she still be purring and acting normal at that level? I guess I don't know if I should have taken another test right away BEFORE feeding the higher carb food or if, in a case like this, reaction is the best course of action.

Thank you for easing my mind about the possible acro and the results of her day's numbers. I slept a lot better last night with a few less worries.

Hope you all have a good day today!!

Yesterday's thread


(Look at that ^ ... thanks for the lesson, Vyktors Mum!! )
 
Whenever you get an unusual test, re-test. These home use glucometers are not very accurate; they are intended to only provide general clues. They read within +/- 20% of what a lab would get.
See my signature link Glucometer Notes for more details and cat-specific reference ranges.
 
I like the way you did two more tests after that 38. ;)
Because I always worry that what if the higher test was the bad test, and you went with that one.
 
Hi there :cool:

You did the right thing in triple checking. Whenever you see a number that seems way out of context, retest.
A backup meter is also recommended - handy for a re-check and essential should your primary meter malfunction.
You can test yourself as well to help verify a number.
 
There's nothing I can do about the higher carb food at this point, except learn from the glucometer just how much that higher carb food is going to affect her. (lessons in everything)

Absolutely. Lots to learn from those "why did I do that" moments! And learning stuff about our dancing kitties, helps us help them. (I remember my first meter malfunction. It just read "LO." At 2:30 in the morning. Yeah, I retested. But I sure didn't get back to sleep very easily!)

As for the outward signs of particularly low numbers....ECID. Part of the learning process.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Whenever you get an unusual test, re-test. These home use glucometers are not very accurate; they are intended to only provide general clues. They read within +/- 20% of what a lab would get.
See my signature link Glucometer Notes for more details and cat-specific reference ranges.

BJM ... Thank you for the link on the Glucometer Notes. Let me ask: What should I do if when I test right before a shot, the reading is less than 200? I know I'm not supposed to shoot Lantus at less than 200, but will that throw progress off if there's no one on the site to give advice? I see Zoey's numbers going down and down each day so I fully expect that will happen at some point in the near future and I'd like to try to be prepared. LOL (You gotta claim it to receive it! )
 
Dyana, Sandy and Marilyn ... Thanks for commiserating. I am going to go online now and find that site that has the generic relion meters and buy that bundle with the 200 strips and the extra meter. Will not put that off another day.

Sandy and Black Kitty ... What a journey you have been on! Wow... I watched he OTJ party and it made me happy. Wonderful way to start my day this morning ... (well, after the reboot from the original start. )

Zoey's having a good day today despite the extra carbs she started the morning with, so we'll consider the part 1 of our day a success. Part two is now in progress and she's starting out lower than she's been yet at this time ... so yay!!

Thanks for participating with us today. :)
 
Actually, once you move over here to Lantus/Levemir land, we generally drop the "no shot" limit to 150...but we need to come up with something else to call it because it really doesn't mean "no shot" at all!! Gradually, that limit comes down too....most of us that have enough data to understand how our cats respond to food and insulin will shoot anything above 50!

It means if you get a Pre-shot lower than 150 you should Stall, don't feed and retest in about 20 minutes. During that time, post and make sure your subject line says something like "STALLING...NEED HELP!" so if there are experienced eyes watching, they'll know you're looking for help.

If the number goes up, it's usually safe to go ahead and shoot because it means the last shot is wearing off (which is why you don't want to feed...we want to know it's coming up on it's own without food). You have to remember that with Lantus, you're not shooting the number you see now...You're shooting the number they'll be at a few hours from now since the "onset" of Lantus is usually 2-3 hours after the shot.

The first few times you shoot lower than you're used to, it's also good to get a +1 and +2 just to keep track of how they're doing too.

If nobody is around to help you, you can also use the information in the "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" sticky. You should probably have this printed out somewhere in case the message board is down sometime when you need it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top