3/5RosyAMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301,+5 308Rosy's home!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535

Hi Helen,

Nice condo :-D

when you start shooting from a syringe and you can make kitty size (rather than human size) adjustments to Rosys dose, things will get better for you and Rosy.
I hope you were able to catch up on your sleep.
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535

very nice condo, helen! here's your last post with a zillion trillion details should anyone need them. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65287

++you're using a Lantus pen with the pen needles to shoot, but you are going to get syringes. they should come today/tomorrow
++you've changed to all canned food, Whiskas, but you're not sure of the carb content of what Rosy's eating. it might not be low carb.
++you've got MANY (21) other kitters to help you in the house! so Rosy needs to eat on a schedule.
++current dose is 2units
++rosy has some neuropathy in her back legs and you've just started giving her B-12
++you have a spreadsheet attached in your signature line under "rosy's profile"
++The B12 I've got is not the MethlynB12, just the B12 for human use. I fed her anyway while waiting for the Methlyn to arrive
++I gave her occasional Sub-q fluid of 100ml when she didn't fight against it. This is indicated in the last column of my SS
Im giving the sub-q because I'm afraid she'll have ketone which she doesn't at this moment.
++other than the Wiskas, I fed her steamed chicken as her meal before the PM shot. I gave her an additional meal at PM +5
So she's having 4 meal a day. I've tried to mix in low carb canned with her usual Wiskas fish since she refused duck or anything not fish. All of them ared fed fish flavor their whole life. The transition must go slow as the stress is there as I took away the free feeding on dry food for everybody
++further to make the testing difficult is I don't have an extra room where I can keep Rosy less distracted from the rest. Rosy is a very calm & good natured kitty. Just her mummy's too clumsy.
++ she has not had ketones in the past
++ you're storing the pens in the fridge
++ you're adding water to her food
++ she had most of her teeth extracted in the past by the vet because of gingivitis
++ she was diagnosed at Christmastime this year because of weight loss

If you can continue getting tests about every 3 hours today and record them on the spreadsheet, that would be great. also update your subject line here so we can watch and know if you need help.
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535

Welcome, Helen and Rosy! We are glad you found us, I hope to see you posting often! Thank you, Julie, for doing the nice summary and linking the previous condo. Just so you know, we always put a link to our previous condo in the first post of our new condo so people can easily go back and see what happened before. Don't worry, we will help you until you get used to everything...we know there's a lot to learn!

I hope those syringes come soon so you can do smaller dose adjustments and work on getting Rosy into prettier numbers!
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535

Update on Rosy. After the AMS I found Rosy acting strange, staring into space. I freaked out afraid she'd collapse with those numbers. Rushed her to see another vet. I did my homework beforehand since obviously my current vet is not experienced to handle DM. This vet is supposed to be good with cats with DM.
She's stable at the moment, staying at the clinic for more blood test , urine culture etc. I've explained her steep fluctuation & showed the SS I've got. The vet wanted to rule out any other complication with Rosy first. I'll pick her up tomorrow morning & update her situation here.

Thanks for the welcome!


Helen

When I got home those rascals obviously found a half empty bag of dry food and are all happily munching their favorite with Rosys absence! No way! I took it away, back to the canned meal.
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535

i think getting the syringes so you can get a better dose is going to really help the numbers. adjusting in 1u increments in a cat is like hitting them with a sledgehammer when you might only need a tap.

hope the vet will run some tests to see how rosy is. an infection can raise the BG numbers.

I would encourage you to print off this document and let the vet know that this is the protocol we use here. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286 is the abstract from the Journal of Feline Medicine & Surgery and this document is the detailed Protocol that goes with that abstract. http://felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008 dosing_testing protocol.pdf sometimes it helps vets know you're following an accepted, published protocol.

let us know how Rosy is when you get her home! thinking about both of you.
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Update with Rosy's condition.

Hope Rosy is okay. Hugs for you (((Helen)))
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Update with Rosy's condition.

Rosys home! Thankyou for all your love for her!
Brought her back from the vet clinic. Blood test came back normal. Kidney is working fine, a bit of enzine with liver which might be caused by DM. The vet is still waiting for the urine culture report & frutosume(?) report.
They took a blood test at +8 139. Rosys bg is still fluctuating within the day. Will need further followup visit. The vet recommended to reduce her dosage to 1.5 tomorrow. Today is the 2nd day of her reduction from 3u BID to 2u BID.
The vet asked me to keep her on 1.5 for a wk & have home testing later. Which means no testing for the wk. :o
Ill update on her progress.
Thankyou!
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Rosy's home!

Helen:

I'm glad Rosy is home. There is no reason to not test. If you have a cat that is sick, it's even more important to test. I'm sorry to disagree with your vet but I would strongly encourage you to continue to test. If this was a child, do you really think your doctor would tell you to not check your child's BG because your child wasn't feeling well? No doctor would tell you that. It's the only way to keep a diabetic safe.
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Rosy's home!

I'm glad Rosy is home! Why does your vet not want you to home test her? I have to be honest, that makes no sense...in order to keep Rosy safe, you need to know where her BG is, especially if she's really fluctuating. Please continue home testing her, regardless of what the vet says....
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Rosy's home!

TrixieCat said:
I'm glad Rosy is home! Why does your vet not want you to home test her? I have to be honest, that makes no sense...in order to keep Rosy safe, you need to know where her BG is, especially if she's really fluctuating. Please continue home testing her, regardless of what the vet says....

Yes TrixieCat. The vet asked me not to do any home testing this wk because she said those figures are going to flucuate because we dont know at this stage whether the 3u is an overdoze causing the roller coaster or not.
Home testing will begin after Rosy's on 1.5u BID for a wk, then we'll check up those figures to make adjustment. That is provided all the test come back normal.

helen
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Rosy's home!

That's exactly why you want to home test, though...because she's fluctuating. You need to know if she drops dangerously low, or if her PS is too low to shoot. Please keep testing this week...
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Rosy's home!

Just want to stop in and say Hello and will also add that its sooooooooo important to home test frequently its the only way to see how the insulin is working for your cat plus its the only way to catch them if they are going too low on you I would never shoot blind
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Rosy's home!

Most vets are not used to people who home test their diabetic cat.
They are used to having the people bring the cat in to the vet every two weeks and testing the cat, and deciding the dose by that one every other week test. And they do not know if the BG number is because of the stress from being at the vet or if the cat is in the middle of a bounce. But, by home testing, you will know this.
I would not give my cat insulin without testing first to be sure it is safe to do so.

Maybe, you will have to be quiet and not say anything to your vet about the test results you get at home, unless they need to be addressed or discussed with him.
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535. Rosy's home!

TrixieCat said:
That's exactly why you want to home test, though...because she's fluctuating. You need to know if she drops dangerously low, or if her PS is too low to shoot. Please keep testing this week...

Dyana said:
Most vets are not used to people who home test their diabetic cat.
They are used to having the people bring the cat in to the vet every two weeks and testing the cat, and deciding the dose by that one every other week test. And they do not know if the BG number is because of the stress from being at the vet or if the cat is in the middle of a bounce. But, by home testing, you will know this.
I would not give my cat insulin without testing first to be sure it is safe to do so.

Maybe, you will have to be quiet and not say anything to your vet about the test results you get at home, unless they need to be addressed or discussed with him.

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Just want to stop in and say Hello and will also add that its sooooooooo important to home test frequently its the only way to see how the insulin is working for your cat plus its the only way to catch them if they are going too low on you I would never shoot blind


You guys are great! Agree with all. Cannot blind shoot Rosy. I'll test her before shoot & at least +6! Poor girl, she thought she thought she'll be having a holiday this wk!

I finally got those syringes. Not the half marking ones but still better than the fixed dosage from the pen if we need to make any adjustment...

I'll need to get up in the middle of the night to give an extra meal.

helen
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301 Rosy's home!

Hi guys and welcome from us .. Don't believe we have posted in Rosy's condo before .. I'm glad she is home and I'm really glad to hear you are going to home test .. it is so important in dealing with feline diabetes ...
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301 Rosy's home!

Glad your girl is home, and you are doing a FANTASTIC job with her! Sometimes vets seem to want us to shoot these large doses with no testing. It's so scary and I think you are absolutely doing the right thing by continuing to test her so she will stay safe. Good luck!
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301 Rosy's home!

I don't hink I've welcomed you before, so welcome Helen and Rosy! I see you've had quite a wild ride. I'm glad you decided to continue with the home testing. I'll never understand why some vets take that stance. It's so unsafe. You are doing a great job.
 
Re: Condo! 05/3 Rosy AMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301 Rosy's home!

Thankyou for all the warm welcome!
Rosy's a good girl but she had fight not to get her ears pricked at the clinic. I don't blame her after all that scary experience staying inside that glass pigeon hole at the clinic :lol: She d rather put up with her mummy's clumsiness at home.

The local time is now PM +5 308. I gave her a bit of the Wellness canned (oh boy! It's expansive!) mixed with her usual Wiskas fish flavored.
 
Re: 05/3RosyAMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301,+5 308Rosy's home!

helen, i'm so glad you've got her home, and extra glad you're going to continue testing her. it is the only way to use insulin safely. good for you for doing what you know will protect her.
 
Re: 05/3RosyAMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301,+5 308Rosy's home!

julie & punkin said:
helen, i'm so glad you've got her home, and extra glad you're going to continue testing her. it is the only way to use insulin safely. good for you for doing what you know will protect her.

Hi Julia, yes Rosy's home. although there was nothing conclusive at the vet's and she ate a most expansive meal there, I hope it was yummy! So happy that she's home. Her sweetheart Tiger missed her terribly during those hrs, even throw up at home :cry:
I got the syringes , not the one with the half marking but should be better than shooting direct from pen. I found your beautiful video showing the way to draw from pen which I followed.
The vet recommended to down Rosy's dosage further to 1.5u BID starting today which will be a reduction from the 2u BID we started on 2 days ago.


Helen
 
Re: 05/3RosyAMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301,+5 308Rosy's home!

Hi there Helen,

Glad to hear Rosy is back home
I am also very happy to hear you will not be shooting blind. :-D I just don't understand that sort of advice from a vet.. . .

I'm not sure decreasing the dose to 1.5u is a good idea - let's see what others think.
 
Re: 05/3RosyAMPS 535,+8 139, PMPS 301,+5 308Rosy's home!

Hi Helen, I'm glad that Rosy is home! I'm really glad that you are going to continue testing, too! I'm not sure why the vet suggested decreasing the dose, did he explain that? To me, it makes more sense to keep the dose at 2.0u for now and try to get a few spot checks in each cycle if possible so you can see how the insulin dose is working, then adjust it based on the data you collect. There just isn't enough data yet to tell how the 2.0u dose is working. However, it is up to you! If you do reduce to 1.5u and Rosy's numbers go up, we can help you "fast track" the dose back up if necessary. Just my thoughts. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top