3/5 Simon PMPS 324 +4 347

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
After only one full day on the ear drops, Simon's bg has gone up 200 points! I haven't given him the drops this morning because I want to call the vet to see if there is anything else I can give Simon to clear up his ear infection related to allergies. Does anyone know of anything else that may work? This is just so upsetting to me to see him bounce so high.

On another note: Last night, I rubbed a couple of drops of the ear medicine on my civvie's fur to transfer the smell of the drops to her. She has been so mean to Simon because of the smell. Right after I did that, she came out from under the bed and slept right next to Simon all night. Of course, this morning she is hissing a little at him, but not as much as before.

I'll let you know what the vet says after I call him once his office opens.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=38089
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Advice please!

No advice but hope your vet has something else that could help unfortunately so many drops do have steroids in them its the only thing that ever works for Do Lou and we did try the zymox without steroids but it did not work for my cat anyway here is a link to read about it let us know what the vet says http://www.amazon.com/Pet-Treatment-wit ... pd_sim_k_8
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Advice please!

I haven't a clue whether this would be an appropriate choice of ear med for Simon but Zymox has a solution that's free of steroids.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Advice please!

So sorry Simon's #s have shot up so high! fingers and paws crossed what does that will be able to give you an alternative!

have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Advice please!

Baby was on Zymoc HC & I was told in Health that was a better choice out of others, it didn't raise her BGs to the extreme you are seeing but ECID.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Advice please!

I just got in touch with my vet's office and they are giving me a prescription for zymox. I purposefully didn't mention zymox when I talked to them to see what they would recommend and the vet said to immediately stop giving Simon the tresaderm and to try zymox. Y'all are so wonderful that even before I talk to the vet, you know what to do! I hope this does the trick and Simon comes back down to his normal numbers fast. The best thing is that the zymox is only $20 which after paying $400 to the vet this week, it won't do much more damage to my wallet.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Picking up new ear drops

Good morning guys .. sorry that you had to deal with the meds that caused simons BG's to go up .. thankfully you got a new script and hopefully simon will be back down in no time .. have a great day!
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Picking up new ear drops

That morning number would have made my heart pitter patter as much as a low ohmygod_smile glad you are trying some new drops and nice that it isn't crazy expensive. Good luck with the new drops. Glad the civvie is mellowing :)
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 Picking up new ear drops

yikes, I was hoping he wouldn't go up that much with the Tresaderm. Glad you're getting something else.

When will the vets stop saying that these things won't affect BGs? For some cats they don't, but for many cats they do. I guess if their clients don't home test, they never know what happens.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 +3 294 Picking up new ear drops

wow...so glad you found a different med...and how cool that your vet chose the right one with no prompting!

hang in there, georgia from georgia!
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 +3 294 +6 239

My vet called and had the results of Simon's blood work done on Thurs. His amylase levels were pretty high, according to the vet -- 2400 and the norm is supposed to be around 1200? He believes Simon has pancreatitis and told me to make sure he is drinking enough (his blood work showed a little dehydration) and to give him as much food as he wants. He also advised giving him a Pepcid AC 10 mg. 1x/day for the next week and then reduce it to 5 mg. He suspects if we can get the pancreatitis managed, it may help his bg numbers also. Everything else on his blood work looks good. His results from his urinalysis won't be back until Monday or Tues. I don't know much about pancreatitis and was hoping I could get some advice from y'all. Does this sound like the proper treatment? I'm going to ask the vet to get me all the results from the blood work -- he called when I was out running errands so I couldn't write down everything.

I picked up his other ear drops and will be giving it to him tonight along with the pepcid.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon Diagnosed with pancreatitis. Advice, please!

wow, no experience with p'titis...so giving your post a bump
 
Re: 3/5 Simon Diagnosed with pancreatitis. Advice, please!

Georgia: I'm glad you got the change in the prescription. While amylase can be one thing to look at, it is not used to solely diagnose pancreatitis. In order to do that,the vet needs to do a fasting fPLI test PLUS an U/S is recommended if at all possible. I would not call results on pancreatitis conclusive just based on amylase. Sienne has a great link to pancreatitis that JoJo wrote. I'll see if I can find it. BRB.

eta: Here's the link from JoJo's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 722,876722

Here's another: http://www.idexx.com/pubwebresources/pd ... rticle.pdf
 
Re: 3/5 Simon Diagnosed with pancreatitis. Advice, please!

Majorie, thanks for your reply and I definitely want to read the article if you can find it. My vet did say that the feline specific lypase blood work is a better indicator than the blood work that was done on Simon.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 +3 294 +6 239

Georgia and Simon said:
He also advised giving him a Pepcid AC 10 mg. 1x/day for the next week and then reduce it to 5 mg.

I think the usual dose for Pepcid AC is 1/4 of a 10 mg tablet given twice daily. I haven't heard of 10 mg being given all at once. If it is pancreatitis, that condition is painful. Some sort of pain may be required. The one most recommended around here is Buprenex.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon Diagnosed with pancreatitis. Advice, please!

I was going to give him the Pepcid in about an hour so should I only give him 1/4 of the 10 mg tablet tonight and then 1/4 in the morning?
 
Re: 3/5 Simon Diagnosed with pancreatitis. Advice, please!

Yes, an hour before feeding. And make sure to chase with some water or food so it doesn't stay in the esophagus or throat. When Maverick needed pepcid we were advised to get some empty gel caps (size 3 or 4) from online or the pharmacy and put the pepcid pieces in these. No taste this way.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon Diagnosed with pancreatitis. Advice, please!

Hi Georgia. I can't offer any advice on any of this, as we've never had to deal with any of it. I do know though from having read condos that the advice received here is correct. Gosh - poor Simon! Good luck with it all - you are in our thoughts.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon PMPS 324!! What a day

Simon's numbers are higher than this morning! How long does it take for a steroid to get out of the cat's system? The last round of ear drops I put in his ears was last night. Should I wait to see what it is in the morning and then increase the insulin dose if Simon is still high? All this stuff is making me sick -- pancreatitis questions, pepcid questions, insulin and steroid questions. I am going crazy!! Meanwhile, Simon remains unfazed by everything except when I tried to give him the pepcid. I put it in food and somehow, he found that little tiny piece and spit it out. I'm going to try again with some other type of food and will check into Karrie's idea about the gel caps tomorrow.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon Diagnosed with pancreatitis. Advice, please!

An amylase level is inconclusive, as Marjorie noted. I think this is the pancreatitis roundtable discussion that she wanted to send you. And here's another on treatment. Typically, an ultrasound isn't needed.

Regarding amylase levels,
ManhattanCats said:
As for diagnostic testing, it has been suggested that two enzymes found in serum, amylase and lipase, were good indicators of pancreatic inflammation if they were elevated, but recent comparisons have shown that almost 50% of dogs with elevated serum amylase or lipase levels did not have pancreatitis. In cats, the situation is even worse. Serum amylase and lipase levels have no clinical usefulness at all for the diagnosis of feline pancreatitis.
Is Simon showing any of the following symptoms: lethargy, poor appetite, dehydration, rapid breathing, low body temp, jaundice, nausea, vomiting, abdominal pain, diarrhea? Were any other of his labs abnormal? If there are no observable symptoms of pancreatitis and the only lab value that's elevated is lipase, I'd be skeptical of the diagnosis. Also, to be sure, I'd want to get a spec fPLI run. Blood needs to be sent to IDEXX and it takes 48 hours.

The max dose of Pepsid I've seen is 5 mg (half of a 10 mg tablet) twice a day. The typical dose is 2.5 mg (1/4 of a tablet) twice a day. If Simon is not happy being pilled, if you can find the allergy formula Pill Pockets, they are FD-friendly (no corn syrup!). Gabby loves them. She thinks they're treats!
 
Re: 3/5 Simon AMPS 284 +3 294 +6 239

Georgia and Simon said:
My vet called and had the results of Simon's blood work done on Thurs. His amylase levels were pretty high, according to the vet -- 2400 and the norm is supposed to be around 1200? He believes Simon has pancreatitis and told me to make sure he is drinking enough (his blood work showed a little dehydration) and to give him as much food as he wants. He also advised giving him a Pepcid AC 10 mg. 1x/day for the next week and then reduce it to 5 mg. He suspects if we can get the pancreatitis managed, it may help his bg numbers also. Everything else on his blood work looks good. His results from his urinalysis won't be back until Monday or Tues. I don't know much about pancreatitis and was hoping I could get some advice from y'all. Does this sound like the proper treatment? I'm going to ask the vet to get me all the results from the blood work -- he called when I was out running errands so I couldn't write down everything.

I picked up his other ear drops and will be giving it to him tonight along with the pepcid.
1 pill a day for pepcid is TOO much to give any cat....please do not give that much

i know Simon doesn't have CRF but here is the link for the recommended doses of pepcid

http://www.felinecrf.org/stomach_acid.htm#treatments

Rocket gets 1/4pill bid.....so if you want start Simon on 1/4 pill each night....then move up to 1/4 pill bid....but whatever you do...do not give 1 pill daily....it is excreted by the kidneys and though he doesn't have CRF you don't want to do damage to the kidneys

also adding diluted tuna water to his meals may increase the water in his daily intake...if he is dehydrated...
 
Re: 3/5 Simon PMPS 324!! What a day

Sienne, thanks for the info on pancreatitis. The only symptoms Simon is having is that he sometimes vomits. He has vomited 2x in the last week although the first time was when I was out of town. Simon is usually very upset when I leave for a weekend so I was thinking it was because he was upset. The other symptom is that the vet said his blood work showed he was a little dehydrated. Should I go ahead and do the other bloodwork?

Claudia, thanks for the dosing info on pepcid. I took your advice and only gave Simon 1/4 of a pill. I was thinking a whole pill was alot since it is usually for humans. And we tend to be much bigger than cats.

Any advice on the insulin dosage?
 
Re: 3/5 Simon PMPS 324!! What a day

I would go ahead with the 1/4 tablet of Pepsid. I don't think it can hurt. I would not, however, trust a diagnosis of pancreatitis based only on a serum amylase level. If this were Gabby, I'd want a spec fPLI to be sure.

I'm assuming you've discontinued the Tresaderm. Unless there is pancreatitis and it's causing numbers to be elevated, I'm assuming these high numbers are steroid induced. I wouldn't raise the dose yet. I'd like to see if numbers come down as the steroids wear off. Otherwise, if you raise Simon's dose, you'll be shooting more than he needs and be feeding a lot of HC.
 
Re: 3/5 Simon PMPS 324!! What a day

i agree with Sienne...the fPLI will give you more info...

the highest dose on pepcid is 1/4 pill bid....hopefully Simon will only need 1/4 pill sid....
 
Re: 3/5 Simon PMPS 324!! What a day

Georgia: I was so focused on the diagnosis of pancreatitis based on the amylase level that I overlooked the pepcid issue so I'm very glad that Sienne and Claudia chipped in. I give Gus only 1/4 of a 10mg sid in the duck and pea pill pockets which are the FD friendly ones Sienne referred to.

Sienne: thank you for fixing that so she got the link.
 
I am just so upset with Simon's numbers. They keep getting higher and higher. Can this really happen from just 3 doses of tresaderm ear drops? I am going to go out and get a new battery tomorrow for the glucometer although it is strange that the numbers would only be high right after I gave him the ear drops. I wish I never had given him the drops because he was doing so well before. I am just beating myself up over this.
 
Hi Georgia - I am sorry that you are seeing these numbers for Simon. I hope it's just the ear drops and the numbers will come back down when they wear off. And I concur on the amount of pepcid. Try not to worry - it will get better.
 
(((Georgia))) I know it's hard to see those numbers when Simon has been doing SO well! Yes, the numbers really can go that high from a few doses of steroid ear drops...and it may take a bit of time for the steroids to clear out and for the numbers to come down. Hang in there, it will get better. Please don't beat yourself up, you didn't know it would happen, and you are trying to clear up an infection....that's important to address, and infection can cause higher numbers too.

I hope you see some lower numbers very soon! Please come down, Simon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top