Hi Lydia,
I feel bad that you're having so much "meter confusion", on top of everything else. I'm sure it's adding extra stress. I don't know if any of this will help...but here goes...
From Previous Post:
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
Sorry about not posting the ketone reading. It was 2.9. But he still shoed negative on the urine strip. I tested that twice last night.
On Fiona, she doesn't show on ketone positive on urine test strips until she gets to 3.0 on PXtra.
Sorry, I didn't see the 2.9...I was already concerned about the 1.1. I realize the 2.9 & the 3.0 (quoted above) are pretty close number-wise, but maybe the reason they're showing on the meter, but not in the urine, even hours later has something to do with the quote from the link I posted to your previous thread (quoted above). Maybe you should post a thread on "Health" asking folks if they have any experience with how high blood ketones need to be, to eventually show up on a ketone urine strip. Or, if they can show in the blood, but never show in the urine, if there's enough fluids present to dilute them? Maybe the answer is ECID. I don't know the answers, but maybe someone out there does.
From LL TR Post:
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
Ketones negative twice today (at vet in the afternoon and this evening)
Tested on the nova and the ketone level was 1.5 - yesterday it was 2.9 and the day before it was 1.1
Did you get the 1.5 the same day the vet showed "negatives"? And is the "negative" a 0.0 blood ketone, or was it urine testing? I got a 1.7 blood ketone reading on Marilyn, and the vet showed a negative reading from her urine an hour later...which doesn't necessarily mean anything. I react to whatever her meter shows.
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
Here are Sid's numbers from today - you will also notice the variation in the meters! Why can't there be 1 accurate meter? It is so frustrating.
I've noticed quite a few folks all over the boards comparing 2, even 3, meters side-by-side. You'll make yourself nutty. I use the same Relion Confirm for all BG readings, since the strips are the least expensive. I use one Relion Confirm for Marilyn, and another for Clarky. When I compare the 2 Relion Confirms, on one cat, the numbers almost match. I use the Precision Xtra for ketone testing only...even though it also has the ability to test BG. I've witnessed the vet's Alpha Trak give a "bad" reading, standing in my kitchen, while comparing it against 2 cats, and 2 Relion Confirms. I'd go into more detail, but it will start to get confusing, since the comparing of the meters is enough to drive anyone insane. Personally, I figure the cheapest way to go is to have 2 Relion Confirms. That way if you're questioning the performance of one, you can check it against the other (same meter type), and also do control tests with the same solution.
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
+6 359 (nova max) 329 relion confirm
+7 398 (nova max) HI relion confirm
That "HI" on the Confirm is a crazy difference. I don't know what to say, except it's probably more cost effective to get a new Relion Confirm (if you're having doubts or concerns), before purchasing new batteries. I've never priced the batteries, but I've always figured at under $10 bucks a pop, the Relion Confirms are pretty much "disposable". I don't know if I'm seeing all of the data clearly, but it looks like, more times than not, the Nova Max is giving you lower readings than the Relion Confirm. That's bringing you further away from an Alpha Trak reading. Does that make sense? It would also mean that the "HI" black the Nova gave you on 3/4/12, might have showed up sooner using the Confirm. I hope I haven't added to the "meter confusion" dilemma.
Hang in there,
Deb