3/5 Sid update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA)

Very Active Member
Hi everyone,

Here is an update on Sid. I had people in both lantus and pzi offering help so I wanted to make sure everyone is updated with the same information. I'm not sure of the protocol for posting the same information in more than one forum and didn't want to post duplicate or confuse anyone so I'll give a link below. I hope that is OK.

Hope you all have a good evening.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65495
 
Hi Lydia,

I feel bad that you're having so much "meter confusion", on top of everything else. I'm sure it's adding extra stress. I don't know if any of this will help...but here goes...

From Previous Post:
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
Sorry about not posting the ketone reading. It was 2.9. But he still shoed negative on the urine strip. I tested that twice last night.
On Fiona, she doesn't show on ketone positive on urine test strips until she gets to 3.0 on PXtra.
Sorry, I didn't see the 2.9...I was already concerned about the 1.1. I realize the 2.9 & the 3.0 (quoted above) are pretty close number-wise, but maybe the reason they're showing on the meter, but not in the urine, even hours later has something to do with the quote from the link I posted to your previous thread (quoted above). Maybe you should post a thread on "Health" asking folks if they have any experience with how high blood ketones need to be, to eventually show up on a ketone urine strip. Or, if they can show in the blood, but never show in the urine, if there's enough fluids present to dilute them? Maybe the answer is ECID. I don't know the answers, but maybe someone out there does.


From LL TR Post:
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
Ketones negative twice today (at vet in the afternoon and this evening)
Tested on the nova and the ketone level was 1.5 - yesterday it was 2.9 and the day before it was 1.1
Did you get the 1.5 the same day the vet showed "negatives"? And is the "negative" a 0.0 blood ketone, or was it urine testing? I got a 1.7 blood ketone reading on Marilyn, and the vet showed a negative reading from her urine an hour later...which doesn't necessarily mean anything. I react to whatever her meter shows.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
Here are Sid's numbers from today - you will also notice the variation in the meters! Why can't there be 1 accurate meter? It is so frustrating.
I've noticed quite a few folks all over the boards comparing 2, even 3, meters side-by-side. You'll make yourself nutty. I use the same Relion Confirm for all BG readings, since the strips are the least expensive. I use one Relion Confirm for Marilyn, and another for Clarky. When I compare the 2 Relion Confirms, on one cat, the numbers almost match. I use the Precision Xtra for ketone testing only...even though it also has the ability to test BG. I've witnessed the vet's Alpha Trak give a "bad" reading, standing in my kitchen, while comparing it against 2 cats, and 2 Relion Confirms. I'd go into more detail, but it will start to get confusing, since the comparing of the meters is enough to drive anyone insane. Personally, I figure the cheapest way to go is to have 2 Relion Confirms. That way if you're questioning the performance of one, you can check it against the other (same meter type), and also do control tests with the same solution.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
+6 359 (nova max) 329 relion confirm
+7 398 (nova max) HI relion confirm
That "HI" on the Confirm is a crazy difference. I don't know what to say, except it's probably more cost effective to get a new Relion Confirm (if you're having doubts or concerns), before purchasing new batteries. I've never priced the batteries, but I've always figured at under $10 bucks a pop, the Relion Confirms are pretty much "disposable". I don't know if I'm seeing all of the data clearly, but it looks like, more times than not, the Nova Max is giving you lower readings than the Relion Confirm. That's bringing you further away from an Alpha Trak reading. Does that make sense? It would also mean that the "HI" black the Nova gave you on 3/4/12, might have showed up sooner using the Confirm. I hope I haven't added to the "meter confusion" dilemma.

Hang in there,

Deb
 
Hi Deb,

The meters are driving me crazy because now I'm not sure what to believe. I realize I cannot double test him on meters every time so I just have to make a decision on the meter and stick to it. I do think the Nova displays low but the variation in my confirm is bothersome. At one point it was very close to the Nova but then an hour later it is 200 points different. I also love the ReliOns because the strips are so inexpensive. I have 2 of them the micro and the confirm. The confirm I just bought a month or so ago and that's what I've been using until this weekend when I got the Nova max. Actually the Nova Max strips can be ordered from Am Diabetes Warehouse and 100 of them are only $10 more than the ReliOns. So if I decide to go with the Nova, the price won't be too bad unless I don't order new strips in time and have to buy them at walgreens where the price is ridiculous.) I just ordered a bottle of control solution for the Relions.

As for the ketone meter vs urine strip, I've read that it is ECID as for when it shows up on the pee strip. All of the negative readings are from the pee strip. The other readings are from the meter. One thing I don't know if I mentioned is that when I did the control reading on the ketone strips, the result was out of range. I do think his behavior indicated some ketones though.
 
Hi Lydia, Thanks for the update! As far as meters... yes. just stick with one or the other. I came across this wit Pru. I'm add this link just so you can have something to look at. I just remember I had questions about the meters too. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=10032&p=99351#p99351

I hope Sid is feeling better and I will check the other forum for updates. Hope you have a good day! BTW, keep me posted about talking to your vet :smile:
 
Hi Lydia,

You should pick whichever meter you're comfortable with...but here's my take on it...not that you asked. :-D

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
I do think the Nova displays low but the variation in my confirm is bothersome. At one point it was very close to the Nova but then an hour later it is 200 points different.
Without looking at your SS (sorry, I have to go deal with a cat), how were you able to determine it was the Confirm giving you an "off" number, and not the Nova? Did you check both numbers against the Micro?

So if cost isn't a factor, providing you don't need strips in a hurry from the pharmacy (which is a problem), it still worries me that the Nova is giving you lower numbers. The Confirm is already lower than an Alpha Trak...and the Nova even lower. IMO, I would use the Nova to stay on top of Sid's ketone status, and use the Confirm to stay on top of his BG...which in turn, will help you keep him away from "high BG/not enough insulin ketones". You'll be able to catch the high numbers sooner, and use the R accordingly.

Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
One thing I don't know if I mentioned is that when I did the control reading on the ketone strips, the result was out of range. I do think his behavior indicated some ketones though.
I'd ask the company for a new meter, or new control solution, or both. I'm not sure how a control test would indicate ketones. Do you mean that since the control test was out of range...this could be why the meter is showing such high ketone readings?
 
Hi Deb,

I did contact the company on sunday to send me test strips for the relions. I have been doing spot checks of the relion and sometimes it is 100-200 points different from the Nova, sometimes 50, and sometimes only 20. I tried to note all of these on the SS. It's hard to know which meter to trust and I don't trust either. At least I know the Nova is in range because I tested it with the control solution. When I get the solution for the relion I will do the same thing. Like I said, I don't fully trust either and know that if the nova reads 100, he is probably closer to 150 or higher. I'm not doing any real testing with either relion meter until I get the controll solution. Actually it's kind of ironic but the ketone strips - both that I tested are out of range on the Nova so I don't even know if those readings are accurate.
 
Lydia & Sid & Jake(GA) said:
Actually it's kind of ironic but the ketone strips - both that I tested are out of range on the Nova so I don't even know if those readings are accurate.
It sounds like the company owes you a new meter. I wouldn't take "No" for an answer. :-x
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top