3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 , PMPS 172(no shot), was @ +1 254 dosed

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
Sabrina's 3/4 Condo
Morning Everyone! ~O) ~O) I'm just a little bit nervous this morning because today I'm increasing Sabrina's dose .25U. I guess she'll decide whether she wants to surf today or go on the roller coaster ride :dizcat At this point when doing spot checks which hours are more important than others? I think as soon as I post this I'll do +1, try a mid-cycle & then +10. If anyone has other suggestions .....please let me know & I'll post results over the day :smile: Happy Tuesday Everyone!!!! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon

AMPS 324 (7:00am) 1.5U, dose increase by .25*
+1.5 272 (8:30am)
+3.5 180 (10:35am)come on Sabrina...gentle slide :RAHCAT :mrgreen:
+5 129 (12:00pm) :smile:
+6 105 (1:00pm)
+7.5 100 (2:30pm) :mrgreen:
+8.5 111 (3:30pm) SURF THOSE BLUES!!!! :RAHCAT
PMPS 172 (7:00pm)....nervous,retested @ +1 254 1.5U tonight :oops:
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose Increase Today*

Good luck with the dosecrease! I like the +3, +6, +9 if I am just doing spot checks but we have been at this awhile. I'm sure a dosing advisor will come along. Have a great day Cindy!!
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose Increase Today*

Hi guys .. good luck with the new dose, hoping that sabrina finds some blue numbers for you! Have a great day!
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose Increase Today*

With regarding spot checks, I think +2 to +4 or later is good. The +2 will give you an idea of how she's doing with the dose, and it takes about 2 hours for the insulin to begin working. The +3 will give you an idea of how low she dipped from the last test, and the +4 will tell you if she's rising from the +3. However, at the +3 test, if she's dipped too low, naturally you'd want to bring her back up using a MC or HC food (sometimes you can use the LC that your normally feed her with, but that depends on how she reacts, and until you learn what she does, it's best to stick with a MC or HC to bring her up for now to be safe). With each new dose, you'd want to test frequently and/or often to be sure to catch anything unusual like a sudden drop in #s. You can test her every 3 hours for a curve, if you'd like. Just remember to test her often in the beginning of a new dose as I've mentioned previously. I've tested Blackie every hour for a 12 hour curve. Probably a bit excessive, but it was good knowledge just the same. :lol: Good luck with the increase! :-D
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose Increase Today*

Typically, your +1 reflects a food spike. You might find it more useful to get a +2 or +3. If those numbers are markedly lower than your pre-shot number, there's a good chance you'll be seeing an active cycle.

I just want to give you a head's up. It looks to me like Sabrina may still be in a bounce of of the 97 on 3/3. (It can take around 72 hours for a bounce to clear.) It's not problematic to increase but if the bounce should be breaking, there can be considerable momentum downward. If you couple the breaking bounce with a dose increase, there can be a lot of momentum behind a drop in numbers. You just need to be aware of the possibility so you don't get caught by surprise.
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose Increase Today*, +1.5 272

Thank you everyone....tested her @ +1.5 & has dropped 50 points...will test her @ +3 to see where she's at nailbite_smile I do have on hand 2 cans of gravy from her hypo kit so if she does become very active....I'll be right by her side.
Sienne, thanks I'll be very aware of that forward momentum, I didn't realize it coul take up to 72hrs to clear the bounce.....it seems it's taking me quite a bit of time to interpret her ss. confused_cat
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose Increase Today*, +1.5 272

milfordcollector said:
Sabrina's 3/4 Condo
Morning Everyone! ~O) ~O) I'm just a little bit nervous this morning because today I'm increasing Sabrina's dose .25U. I guess she'll decide whether she wants to surf today or go on the roller coaster ride :dizcat At this point when doing spot checks which hours are more important than others? I think as soon as I post this I'll do +1, try a mid-cycle & then +10. If anyone has other suggestions .....please let me know & I'll post results over the day :smile: Happy Tuesday Everyone!!!! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon

AMPS 324 (7:00am) 1.5U, dose increase by .25*
+1.5 272 (8:30am)
Oh, don't be nervous :-D she's in good hands and will be fine, really! A +1 (and if she were my kitty, I'd get a +2) is a very good idea! Doing a mid-cycle & +10 are also good choices. If you see any low numbers at that time, definitely more testing--be sure to keep her numbers posted in your subject line, and when in doubt: just ask. Have a great day & congratulations on taking the nerve to increase her; you are doing the best thing you can for her what with her high numbers :RAHCAT
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180

OK...update @ 3.5 down to 180 :razz: Hopefully she'll have a gentle surf & not nosedive on this dose! Keeping fingers & paws crossed for nice numbers! dancing_cat Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180

Keep an eye on her cat_pet_icon I know you will! Gobby dove to 50 just a few minutes ago, so I fed him 1 t. of 14% Friskies :-D
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180

Yes, I would if she was my pretty kitty :) When Gobby first got blue numbers, I was a basket case...LOL
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180, +5

Update.....+5 a nice129 :smile: Sabrina was looking for food, so I gave her 1 tsp of classic beef....should I give her more? :?: ;-)
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180, +5

milfordcollector said:
Update.....+5 a nice129 :smile: Sabrina was looking for food, so I gave her 1 tsp of classic beef....should I give her more? :?: ;-)
A very nice 129! Well, I would wait to give her more if she ate the entire 1 t. The reason is because when you test her again (I suggest a +6), and she's low, and you have to "feed up the low", her belly may be full and she may not want to eat. This happened with Gobbles once, and I had to get food into him and resorted to force-feeding--not very nice, very stressful, but he was very low and it was could not be avoided.
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180, +5

Giving her only one teaspoon of food was very smart of you, by the way!!!
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180, +5

I have to run to the bank & library, but I will be back in about an hour and check back on you & Sabrina as soon as I walk through the door.
When you test her at +6, feed her another 1 t. of the classic you did at +5. If she has dropped in the low greens,
(now this is just what I would do if she were mine), say 55--I would give her 1 t. of medium carb (do you have something
11-19%) and below 50, a t. of high carb. I am sure you have the "Dont' Panic - How to Handle Low Numbers" printed out and
nearby; if not, find the link on the TRP main page and open it in a separate page :)
Most likely, an expert will be around soon anyways :)
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, +1.5 272, +3.5 180, +5

Hey Everyone ......now +6 105, 1 more teaspoon of food...gobbling it up :mrgreen: I love it, so far no nosedive but Sabrina might decide she has other thoughts on that subject!!!! :lol: I have to run out now for about an hour & I'll come back to test. Should I feel comfortable leaving her for an hour? right now I feel like I'm acting like a "hover parent" ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, Gentle Slide, +6 105

I pm-ed u my cellphone no. In case u needed help before i get home...
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, Gentle Slide, +6 105

I'm back Cindy (probably beat you back!); please post her BG after you take it :-D The 105 is lovely!
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, Gentle Slide, +7.5 100

Hey Kat! Yep you beat me home.....+7.5 100..........guess she wants to surf the blues haha_smiley I just gave her another 2 teaspoons of food.....I guess just mini snacks! Now after all the poking should I give her a break for the next couple of hours? She's none too happy with me at this point cat(2)_steam . Thanks for the pm.....I'll reply with mine if we need to compare notes or just BS, if that's OK?
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, Gentle Slide, +7.5 100

milfordcollector said:
Hey Kat! Yep you beat me home.....+7.5 100..........guess she wants to surf the blues haha_smiley I just gave her another 2 teaspoons of food.....I guess just mini snacks! Now after all the poking should I give her a break for the next couple of hours? She's none too happy with me at this point cat(2)_steam . Thanks for the pm.....I'll reply with mine if we need to compare notes or just BS, if that's OK?
Yup, sounds like she wants to surf!!! Mini snacks are great; that's basically how Gobbles eats--never a whole meal--total grazer! I don't see all the BG #'s on her SS, but she's been sloping all day, correct? I know you probably don't want to hear this (esp. Sabrina), but if it was me, I would get a +8.5. Just curious, on another note, how well does she tolerate you testing her??? And sure I'd love to compare notes/BS sometime :lol:
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 "?" *Dose*, Gentle Slide, +7.5 100

Ok I'm now going to update her ss.....Sabrina tolerates testing fairly well now, but if i take too long, she decides to growl @ me...saying she's the boss :razz: I'll take your suggestion & bother her @ 8.5......pm'd you & look forward to exchanging info.....also inf on raffle :mrgreen: Cindy

update: +8.5 111....KEEP THE BLUES COMING :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 , PMPS 172(no shot), was @ +1 254 d

Evening! tested PMPS 172, got nervous & asked advice(PM msg) retested at 8:00pm (would be +1) 254, dosed Sabrina 1.5U..............Hopefully no bounce! :roll: Have a great evening everyone! Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 , PMPS 172(no shot), was @ +1 254 d

Very nice blues today! Did you shoot 1 hour late tonight? If so, then you can adjust the shot time by 15 mins at each shot or 30 mins per day until you are back on schedule.
Liz
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 , PMPS 172(no shot), was @ +1 254 d

Yep Anne....my fault...got nervous about the nice blues.....shot 1 hour late :cry: Now to make up the time plus adjust for DST on Sunday!!! ohmygod_smile Cindy & Sabrina cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/5 Sabrina AMPS 324 , PMPS 172(no shot), was @ +1 254 d

Sabrina, Sabrina! My you're the bouncy girl, this beautiful Wednesday morning, now aren't you?
She'll come down, I'm sure Cindy :mrgreen:
Have a great day!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top