3/5 Purrdy AMPS 158 +2 133 +4 131 and bloods PMPS 158 +2 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 166
+3 144
+5 149
PMPS 149
+3 112
+4 97 :D
+5 97 :D
+7 101

Purrdy's vet emailed me his bloods yesterday (taken 09/16/14). They had done a T4 so it's not hyperT, he was 22, range 20-45. The only things significantly out of range were creatinine kinase, 1134, range 50-300 and Lymph 0.68, range 1.5-7.0. I've had a look at the CK and that's to do with muscle damage, since the reason he was at the vet at that point was because of his back legs not functioning properly (diabetes was undiagnosed) I imagine that the muscle wastage in the rear was responsible for that. His BG was 10.2/184 which at the time the vet put down to stress. Tbili (the bibrilum sp?) was out a little but it was under not over he was 1, range 2-10. They also have GammaGT highlighted as being under the range of 1-5 but I'm not sure why, his result says < 5. Basophil was over at .01, range 0-0. Everything else was within range although a few at the lower end - Na, Ca, Phos, ALP, Eosin, and WC count.

Vet has been keeping an eye on his progress and isn't happy with the increases every 6 cycles, she wants to leave 10 cycles between as she doesn't think 6 cycles is enough time for the dose to settle in and that doing it so fast is going to result in a crash - good to see a vet that knows something of how lantus works - mind you it's the same vet that wanted to increase in 1 unit increments. Mum's happy for us to keep doing whatever we think is best. I'm thinking I might leave it seven cycles this time to see if increasing in the morning rather than at night moves the few greens we're seeing from the night to the day - just curious.

So the mystery that is Purrdy continues, as it looks like he is failing to gain any traction at this dose too...

Go Blackie go :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D
 
I mentioned a couple of days ago that I'd asked others for some responses to Purrdy's non-moving blood sugar. Dyana suggested just staying the course and increasing by 0.25u every 6 cycles. Wendy noticed that Purrdy's ss looks similar to Mariko's Lucy's ss. She's also been giving you some other info, of course. Amy also commented that her Trixie's ss has some similarities as well, where there was a phase of little response to dose increases until she hit 5.0u. I think it looks like there is a little bit of insulin resistance going on - although I don't know the source of that. I wouldn't explore high dose conditions at this point.

Any sign of pancreatitis? Cats with chronic pancreatitis can be more difficult to regulate also.

You might ask Marje to take a look at the blood test results. She's very knowledgeable about it. I also have this link bookmarked on Overview of Feline Bloodwork.

Thought I'd pass those little bits on to you.
 
A lot of cats do seem to go lower at night. It will be interesting to see if you can switch that around. I hope Purrdy gives you more green soon.
 
Thanks Julie

I'm not seeing the similarities with Lucy. That kitty, even while on prednisolone achieved low numbers and reductions and only fluctuated between .25 and briefly up to 2 units. I see her numbers kind of stayed the same for a while but without the continuous increases we've been doing probably about what you'd expect, when the insulin was increased she responded. Maybe Wendy will come along later and tell me if I'm missing something.

I do see the period in Trixie's ss from F2.25 to 5 to get her moving again. I was looking at the remarks too and noticed 'mostly paw lickin for meals' several times - I initially thought that meant the only way Amy was getting food into her was by smearing it on her paws teeheehee obviously we don't have that brand of food here! There was still a lot more variation in Trixes numbers though.

No signs of pancreatitis - appy is good, no vomiting, no lethargy, no tenderness in the tummy that I've noticed in general handling, I will give him a bit more of a poke and prod later just to be sure.

He does pee 4-5 times a day but small ones without any signs of discomfort and no glucose spillage but maybe a urine culture could be called for if he still hasn't budged by the time he gets home since I understand there can be no symptoms.
 
I was looking at the remarks too and noticed 'mostly paw lickin for meals' several times - I initially thought that meant the only way Amy was getting food into her was by smearing it on her paws teeheehee .
:joyful::joyful::joyful:!! Weruva Paw Licken' CHicken....she did love the stuff, but it is too low caloried for her now - it has half the calories of most other fuds.

A urine culture might show you something. Trix recently tested positive for a "scant amount" of enteroccocus (sp???) without any outward signs. The reason we rand the culture was because blood showed up in her urinalysis. A 4-week course of amoxicillin took care of it, although according to our vet, this particular bacteria is a "pain in the butt" (to quote her) to get rid of, so I guess we got lucky.

I hope you figure it out...Purrdy does have nice numbers, even though they aren't budging with increases!
 
Maybe Purrdy needs a party. Tomorrow is the full moon here, in the Northern Hemisphere and on this side of the date line. Is it full in Australia tonight?

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
So the mystery continues. :rolleyes: The comparison with Lucy's SS was just that she was mostly two colours, regardless of dose. Due to lack of appy issues, Mariko didn't want to keep increasing her, and was happy with regulation instead of trying for remission.

Good luck on switching timing of increases to get green during the day. That was one of the tricks I tried with Neko when she went for many months going low at night and bouncing during the day. Paws crossed it works for you.
 
That is so interesting on Purrdy's CK--IDEXX (that is the lab we use) says range is 64-440 U/L--Tiger's was somewhere in the 800's a month ago! When I read what that might mean, I was ready to choke the vet at first.:oops::oops: All she went there for was a urinalysis and they must have man-handled her alright because it went back to normal the next check, 4 weeks later.(UTI) Which reminds me, like Amy says, Tiger also had a UTI that went undetected and now that it is gone, I think for the moment we can finally see some progress. But Purrdy is sure a mystery alright! You seem like a mystery solver, maybe you should keep him for a few months longer? :rolleyes: (ducking and running now....:smuggrin:)
 
Is it full in Australia tonight?
we're one step ahead of you, ours was last night. Now that two and two has been added I'm in trouble with Vyktor for not letting him host in Australia last night :rolleyes:

Next time kitties, we have a big rollicking do in da bush :woot:

ETA - I lied, mum told me it was but I just double checked and ours isn't until tomorrow night either - hopefully Vyktor will forgive me now ;)

@Tiger and Ruth LOL on you ducking and running (Purrdy looked at me very strangely!) but really if there wasn't the issue of work I would like to keep him to try and unravel the mystery. He's a very good kitty and Mum doesn't operate well without sleep so she'll probably settle for regulated whereas I would like to keep pushing for remission. I'm not one to turn down a challenge or, as you have correctly surmised, attempting to solve a puzzle - even if it does involve a lot of :banghead:
 
Last edited:
I'm not smart enough to participate in the analysis you have going on, but I wanted to weigh in and say how nice to see those greens last night. I'll be interested to see if your experiment with the dosecrease moves those greens to the day cycle. Maybe you'll get greens in both cycles! :D:D:D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top