3/5, Pookey, AMPS 105, +4 84, +5 82, +9 85, PMPS 94, +3 85, +4 85

Tim & Pookey

Very Active Member
Staff member
Hi all,

Yesterday’s post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...7-pmps-99-4-91-5-82-6-91.298836/#post-3250719

Well, today is day 7 on this dose so I have a decision to make.

He’s been handling reductions so well. But when I compare to other spreadsheets, he doesn’t really look like the cats that are OTJ or almost OTJ.

Also, our nadir seems to be shifting. He had been so repeatable in the +3 area, now we’re seeing lows out near +5. Safe numbers, but I need to be on my toes again I guess…

I don’t know the science, but maybe his pancreas is taking over more of the insulin production and we might lose some of the predictability?

Have a great day! - Tim
 
Still nice numbers from where I sit :) You do amazing by Pookey!

How is he responding to the Cosequin? I'm going to be starting Petey on it soon.
Nice! It was super easy to incorporate, hopefully it helps Petey!

I’m not really sure yet about effectiveness. I read it can take 4-6 weeks to start working, so I think we got a little time still, I’m still hopeful though.
 
Hi all,

Well, today is day 7 on this dose so I have a decision to make.

He’s been handling reductions so well. But when I compare to other spreadsheets, he doesn’t really look like the cats that are OTJ or almost OTJ.

Also, our nadir seems to be shifting. He had been so repeatable in the +3 area, now we’re seeing lows out near +5. Safe numbers, but I need to be on my toes again I guess…

I don’t know the science, but maybe his pancreas is taking over more of the insulin production and we might lose some of the predictability?

Have a great day! - Tim

Pookey is doing so well!! Yay!

Such a difficult decision to make about the reduction. If you tried the reduction and it fails, you can always go back up? But also, giving it a few extra cycles might not be the worst, if you can monitor all these changes he’s throwing at you with his nadir.

Ah! Wish I could be more help.
 
Pookey is doing so well!! Yay!

Such a difficult decision to make about the reduction. If you tried the reduction and it fails, you can always go back up? But also, giving it a few extra cycles might not be the worst, if you can monitor all these changes he’s throwing at you with his nadir.

Ah! Wish I could be more help.
I appreciate you talking it through though! It helps having another set of eyes for these decisions. Thanks Briana :)
 
Pookey is looking great! So many green preshots now! The AMPS is anyway the last to fall in line - and they're within meter variance of green anyway.

The next dose would be 0.10U.

You could try moving that +5 meal to +9 to see if that brings down the AMPS. It's when cats hit a tiny dose (0.1U and below) that we suggest a snack at +8/+9 for green preshots.
 
I was watching your spreadsheet and wondering when this was coming!

With his pre shots coming down so consistently and his numbers following the TR gameplan so well I’d lean towards the .10 does for a few days and then trying the OTJ if he holds steady or keeps improving.

Also don’t think you’d be wrong to try OTJ and watch closely, like Briana said, you can always go back up. Whatever you decide congrats on coming so far!
 
Pookey is looking great! So many green preshots now! The AMPS is anyway the last to fall in line - and they're within meter variance of green anyway.

The next dose would be 0.10U.

You could try moving that +5 meal to +9 to see if that brings down the AMPS. It's when cats hit a tiny dose (0.1U and below) that we suggest a snack at +8/+9 for green preshots.
Ah, the good ol’ +8/+9 snack. Feels like just yesterday when we were trying that on 2 units. Thank you for your help Bhooma!
 
I was watching your spreadsheet and wondering when this was coming!

With his pre shots coming down so consistently and his numbers following the TR gameplan so well I’d lean towards the .10 does for a few days and then trying the OTJ if he holds steady or keeps improving.

Also don’t think you’d be wrong to try OTJ and watch closely, like Briana said, you can always go back up. Whatever you decide congrats on coming so far!
We need to work towards those Ailish greens in the morning… thanks Eamon.
 
I obviously can't claim any experience or knowledge, but Pookey does look like he's doing so well and if he doesn't look like the kitties that are almost OTJ, maybe he's almost almost OTJ which is still incredible.
 
I obviously can't claim any experience or knowledge, but Pookey does look like he's doing so well and if he doesn't look like the kitties that are almost OTJ, maybe he's almost almost OTJ which is still incredible.
Haha I love that, thanks Brianna. It is incredible to think about. You’re doing so well for Xander too, I hope you both get rewarded with more time in safe greens soon.
 
Back
Top