3/5 PASHA OTJ TRIAL DAY 12 AMPS 83 PMPS 67

AYDA & PASHA

Member Since 2025
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-4-pasha-otj-trial-day-11-amps-59.298835/#post-3250570

Good morning amazing sugar kitties and wonderful fur moms and dads,

We are cruising this OTJ thing! Who knew change in diet could have such a tremendous impact on his little body.

Pash Pash (aka Pasha) is feeling much like his old self again and I am over the moon! I am continuing to give him B12 methylcobalamine and Folic Acid tablets daily. His neuropathy has improved greatly.

Wish you ALL the same incredible outcome in the future.

Have a happy Wednesday with lots of optimal BG numbers!

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm so excited for you and Pash Pash!! Do you mind if I ask what you changed?
Hello Jess,

Basically, I changed everything. No more kibbles. New low carb AND low phosphorus food. New feeding schedule. Diligent regular insulin shots. Keep a very close eye on everything. I'm sure you are doing most of these things yourself.

If you'd like to know what I am feeding Pasha now, I am feeding Wellness Turkey Paté and Weruva Press Your Lunch Chicken, mainly. I mix the two foods together, small quantities, mash it up really well with lots of warm water to make it a soft consistency so that basically they lick it off. I am also feeding Weruva Chicken Checkmate and Weruva Topsy Turvy but they are not crazy about these as they are about the two others. (Pasha has a twin brother.) If they become a bit fussy, I mix in just a tiny bit of Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Feast. This food is very high in phosphorus so I use it very sparingly. I usually mix the foods together, but you can try feeding one food at a time to see which one he likes.

Feeding them every 2-5 hours depending how hungry they are. Sometimes Pasha is hungry in couple of hours, sometimes he is not. So pay close attention. Now he is able to hold off food for the entire duration of the night. Before I was waking up couple hours before his AMPS, about 5 or 6 a.m. Today I fed him at 8:00 am, he was very hungry but thank goodness his BG was stable. But feeding him at +9 helped a lot stabilize his BG, which means getting up very early in the morning.

Home testing and tracking and getting to learn his pattern was crucial to understand how my cat reacted to insulin and carbs. So test, test, test! I must say that I am very very lucky that my Pasha is a very gentle cat and he fully cooperated with the multiple pokes, even when his ears were pretty sore.

I also believe Lantus works well with small doses. It is a very potent drug so you don't need to use a lot of it to achieve results. But this was my experience. I'm not sure how it works with other diabetic cats.

Diet has everything to do with diabetes, as you all know. I am not working, I am at home so that helps a lot keeping a close eye on him all day long.

Hope you get to where we are sometime soon. Good luck!
 
Last edited:
Also I must mention Chris @Chris & China (GA) was my rock during this Diabetes journey. I followed all her valuable advice to the letter.
I see you are new to this diabetes thing @Charlie'sMom22 . It's not easy, so much information to absorb in such a short time. Also, I should mention, sometimes too high a dose of insulin can create just the opposite effect which is called the Symoji effect, so try to work with smaller doses and see how he reacts. Hold the doses for the recommended 14 cycles/7 days each time, even if you get high numbers. I also recommend reading all the information available on this wonderful site, if you haven't done it already.
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-4-pasha-otj-trial-day-11-amps-59.298835/#post-3250570
We are cruising this OTJ thing! Who knew change in diet could have such a tremendous impact on his little body.

Pash Pash (aka Pasha) is feeling much like his old self again and I am over the moon! I am continuing to give him B12 methylcobalamine and Folic Acid tablets daily. His neuropathy has improved greatly.

Congrats, Ayda and Pash!! How exciting.

My vet and I have been discussing B12 for Binx, as he has neuropathy issues too (not as stable on his back legs). Sounds like it’s been a huge help for you? Would love to hear more about how it helped Pasha!
 
Congrats, Ayda and Pash!! How exciting.

My vet and I have been discussing B12 for Binx, as he has neuropathy issues too (not as stable on his back legs). Sounds like it’s been a huge help for you? Would love to hear more about how it helped Pasha!
Thank you so much Briana :)
In the States people are giving their neuropathic cats Zobaline which I could not find here in Canada. So I did a bit of research and came up with my own formula to mimic Zobaline.
I bought Jamieson B12 5000 mcg. at Shoppers. I could not find the proper dose of folic acid at the pharmacy so I ordered it on Amazon, MapleLife brand, which contains 200 mcg of B12 and 400 mcg of Folic Acid.
I am giving half a tablet of each per day which makes 2.6 mg B12 and 200 mcg Folic Acid.
I started it at the end of December and I am seeing results just now.
Also, my kitty is not able to swallow tablets, so I'm crushing them into powder and mixing in with his dinner :)

Hope this helps. I attached a photo of the bottles.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_7102.jpeg
    IMG_7102.jpeg
    85.7 KB · Views: 56
Thank you so much Briana :)
In the States people are giving their neuropathic cats Zobaline which I could not find here in Canada. So I did a bit of research and came up with my own formula to mimic Zobaline.
I bought Jamieson B12 5000 mcg. at Shoppers. I could not find the proper dose of folic acid at the pharmacy so I ordered it on Amazon, MapleLife brand, which contains 200 mcg of B12 and 400 mcg of Folic Acid.
I am giving half a tablet of each per day which makes 2.6 mg B12 and 200 mcg Folic Acid.
I started it at the end of December and I am seeing results just now.
Also, my kitty is not able to swallow tablets, so I'm crushing them into powder and mixing in with his dinner :)

Hope this helps. I attached a photo of the bottles.

This is so helpful, thank you!! :) Even more so having the Canadian method, will make it easier for me to reproduce the same. Really appreciate all the detail and the photo.

What's been the biggest change you've seen so far? Also, did you run this past your vet? I almost don't want to talk to mine because they've not been the most helpful and also suggested an injectable B12 and I didn't love the idea of yet another needle/prick for Binx.
 
This is so helpful, thank you!! :) Even more so having the Canadian method, will make it easier for me to reproduce the same. Really appreciate all the detail and the photo.

What's been the biggest change you've seen so far? Also, did you run this past your vet? I almost don't want to talk to mine because they've not been the most helpful and also suggested an injectable B12 and I didn't love the idea of yet another needle/prick for Binx.
Yes, I did run it by my vet and she approved 100%. She wasn't very keen on the B12 injection. She wanted to try the pills first.
Pasha's front paws were a little bending at the ankles, that's back to normal now. His hind legs were flapping sideways like wings, he still has a slight wing like walk but much less pronounced. He can run now. He is able to climb to higher sleeping nooks which makes me so happy. He's still not as agile as his brother, cannot jump to very high places but I am hopeful in a few months time he will improve even more. Just need to be disciplined with the pills.
I'm glad to hear this is helpful for you. You're most welcome.
 
@AYDA & PASHA Thank you so much for your super thorough response! I'm so glad a diet change has been so helpful for you two! :bighug:

I too am really lucky that I get to be home with Charlie all day so I can get a good sense of his patterns. And he's a gentle giant so he lets me poke his ears as much as I need to. It seems like I feed him on a similar schedule to the one that you switched to. I'm looking at other wet foods to have on hand in case he starts getting sick of the one I just switched him to, or if I need to switch again. Did you have to go through the transition process for each flavor that you introduced? Also, what's a high phosphorous number and what does that mean for the cat? Sorry for all the questions--Charlie had been eating raw food his whole life before this so I'm sort of new to the world of wet cat food.

The learning curve for feline diabetes is steep indeed, but this site and the amazing people on here have been a bigger help than words can even describe. Makes me emotional just thinking about it:cat:
 
I almost don't want to talk to mine because they've not been the most helpful and also suggested an injectable B12 and I didn't love the idea of yet another needle/prick for Binx.

There are 2 forms of B-12, the Methylcobalamin B-12 which is most effective in healing nerves and a cyanocobalamin form which can help with appetite and overall energy levels. Most of the B-12 that vets use is the Cyanocobalamin form so wouldn't work as well on neuropathy.

As Ayda suggested, you can get Methyl B-12 at your local health food store or anyplace that sells vitamin supplements. It's important to read the ingredients to make sure there's no sugar or xylitol listed in the "inert ingredients".

The most important thing you can do to help neuropathy is to get the blood glucose under control. No amount of Methyl B-12 is going to do much if the diabetes is still destroying the nerves. It's also important to remember that nerves take the longest amount of time to heal so you can't expect instant improvement.
 
Yes, I did run it by my vet and she approved 100%. She wasn't very keen on the B12 injection. She wanted to try the pills first.
Pasha's front paws were a little bending at the ankles, that's back to normal now. His hind legs were flapping sideways like wings, he still has a slight wing like walk but much less pronounced. He can run now. He is able to climb to higher sleeping nooks which makes me so happy. He's still not as agile as his brother, cannot jump to very high places but I am hopeful in a few months time he will improve even more. Just need to be disciplined with the pills.
I'm glad to hear this is helpful for you. You're most welcome.

Uh, those improvements sound lovely! So happy for Pasha! Running and climbing to higher places is so important for them, makes me happy to hear you're seeing these again for him :joyful:
 
There are 2 forms of B-12, the Methylcobalamin B-12 which is most effective in healing nerves and a cyanocobalamin form which can help with appetite and overall energy levels. Most of the B-12 that vets use is the Cyanocobalamin form so wouldn't work as well on neuropathy.

As Ayda suggested, you can get Methyl B-12 at your local health food store or anyplace that sells vitamin supplements. It's important to read the ingredients to make sure there's no sugar or xylitol listed in the "inert ingredients".

The most important thing you can do to help neuropathy is to get the blood glucose under control. No amount of Methyl B-12 is going to do much if the diabetes is still destroying the nerves. It's also important to remember that nerves take the longest amount of time to heal so you can't expect instant improvement.

This is also so helpful! Thanks, Chris! Over the last few weeks, I've started to see Binx's BG become more stable at lower numbers and it has really positively impacted his neuropathy, but still good to be equipped with the knowledge like this and know how best I can help him :cat:
 
Back
Top