3/5 Nacho AMPS 340 +6 299 PMPS 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Nacho

Member Since 2016
Since Nacho has his dip the other day and I went back down to 1 unit - his numbers have been high 200s to mid 300s. Is this normal?

Should I see it even out over the next few days or lower a little bit? since the 1.25u dropped him pretty drastically.

Also - how many more days should I wait until I do another curve?

Thanks! :)
 
After those low numbers, it's fairly typical that cats will bounce. From the New to the Group Sticky:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

His numbers should be coming down now. If you get a chance, you might want to try the odd test before bed. Often cats will go lower at night. Since you are following SLGS, you wait one week on the dose before doing a curve and evaluating it.
 
After those low numbers, it's fairly typical that cats will bounce. From the New to the Group Sticky:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).

His numbers should be coming down now. If you get a chance, you might want to try the odd test before bed. Often cats will go lower at night. Since you are following SLGS, you wait one week on the dose before doing a curve and evaluating it.

Thank you! Just did a +2 at 304.. so slightly lower. I will do a +3 or 4 if I am still awake :)
 
@Lisa & Nacho if you happen to get up in the night you can anyways get a quick test in to see how Nacho is doing.
Or if he is at a lower number at your before bed test you can always set your alarm for his approximate nadir.

And don't forget about the catsicles, a snack in the night might be good for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top