3/5 Musette dose reduction earned

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well Musette is going to teach me microdosing I can see on Levemir. :-D Just when I started to think that maybe .5u wasn't quite enough for her while we are treating her ears I wake up to this.

AMBG~31

Since she was so low I went ahead and fed her this morning rather than stalling without food to see if she would raise to a shootable number, didn't want her to fall any further. Will retest her in a couple of hours to see if she is high enough to shoot once her food spike wears off

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
What were her numbers last night? (not is SS). Did she eat OK? Odd for the (relatively) sudden dip. However, that was Beau's pattern. And every time I got a sub 50 number I dropped him by .1u - although I would probably have skipped a shot with the numbers you got this am or shot only .3u, but I had already determined that he was rebounding off both .5u and .4u, so I went right to .3u (from .5u).

How long after the 31 was the shot given? Still wondering if it was on a food spike and she might drop low again late in the cycle (after +6). You are probably in for a lot of testing today.
 
Updated her spreadsheet, but she was in the high 200s last night. SHe ate great in fact probably ate a little more than she normally does, because she was begging baked chicken off her daddy as well as eating all her food. And helping Lady Jane and Maxwell with theirs which is normal for her, she's a piglet.

I finally gave her the .4u at two hours after the 31 and after she was done eating her breaskfast...we are sitting at 95 right now and it is +4 since her shot. There are only two things different right now, one is that she is on her second day of Tresaderm for her ear infection and we treated her for ear mites, I know her ears feel a lot cooler than they were feeling and she has stopped doing the helicopter ears so they must be feeling better.

She is a very happy little girl today, bouncing around the house taking an occasional swat at the foster kittens just because she can, I think she likes someone in the house smaller than she is..lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Well as expected she is bouncing today.

AMPS-318

But she isn't bouncing nearly as high as she woulld have been before the insulin switch, i'm sure her little body has no clue what to do with yesterday and that long run of green numbers. It probably completely freaked out her liver since it hasn't seen a run of numbers that low for awhile now. So just getting out the dosing handcuffs and riding out this bounce. At least I know she seems to clear them fairly quickly now so in a few days I'll know if she is going to be able to hold the reduction.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Lev definitely doesn't like changes - consistency in the key. So, yeah, sit on your hands if you feel you want to "shoot down" those higher numbers. All the wonkiness from yesterday needs to dissipate.

I hope the lower dose works better for her. If she still swings, I think you need to actually lower the dose and try and get a level curve even if it is a bit higher than you want. Then you can very slowly raise the dose to bring the whole curve down.

Part of me is still thinking that .3u might work better for her, but see what the next few days yield.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top