3/5 Maverick PMPS 136

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karrie and Maverick

Member Since 2010
Hi guys - no condo yesterday.

Just wondering if I should continue with the current dose. We are getting all green PMPS but blues for AMPS. I think I may be giving some furshots in the mix. Just hate these long needles. I did a meaningless curve the otherday... he just kept going down with no nadir.

Is there enough info to make a decision on dosing or should I do another curve today? His ears are really looking not so hot. The only place I get blood is the tips. Probably not the best place to be poking.

Thanks :)
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

no dose ideas, I just wanted to say good morning! hoping you can get the dose tweaked to give you the results you want!

using a google talk app on my phone, instead of "dose tweak", it typed "ghost week" :lol:

have a great day, Karrie!
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from us .. very nice +11 .. I know what you mean about the kitties ears not looking so hot .. I hope you start getting those green amps numbers! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

Just want to say Good Morning, and good luck whether or not you change the dose. I've not been doing so good myself on the dosing. I think I may have done a furshot here, too, Maverick is still looking good though even with the low blue, but I know he's usually been green. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

it looks to me like you have room to add a drop, if you want.

Sorry about the fur shots. I'm lucky to have short haired cats. I shoot in the scruff because I can pull up a good bit of skin and get a big target. I actually prefer the long needles because they are a tiny bit thicker and I can feel them go into the skin. Can you shave a small patch of fur? I also remember somebody with a long haired cat saying that they lift the tent and then blow on it to separate the fur so they can see skin.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

No advice from me either, Karrie. Just checking to see how Maverick is today. Lovely I see :-D
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

Thanks guys. Maverick really makes it easy for me. When that migraine hit I was thankful I didn't have to get up in the night to test him. I will test more often when I add the drop today. I don't know whether to try and get a curve today or give his ears a break. Slathered them with polysporin. I tried six times to get any blood from the side of the ear and not a thing would come out. Even tried the two pokes close together.

I do blow on his fur and can feel it going in, but can't tell if the needle pokes through the back or the sides. This is how furshots happen with us with the long needles. With the short needles I never had to worry about this. Loving how accurate the monojects are compared to the BD. And very rarely do I ever get bubbles that stick to the plunger. The twising, while drawing really helps.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

Good morning! Maverick looks good today :-D Furshots are one more reason I'm happy to have a white cat with tough skin. I can always see the skin, and I can always feel the needle going in. Bubbles, however, are a problem I have not conquered yet. Good luck with adding the extra drop, and some healing vines for your migraines, too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 - change dose or status quo?

Bubbles are a pain. They were with the BD.

Re the migraine, now that I've gotten it out of the way - I have about a month of pain free time. I'm very very lucky.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 +12 74?? Now what?

He's pulled a Maverick (numbers that make no sense to me).

He ate a few minutes before AMPS. Normally I wouldn't get a +11 to know what his BG does when he eats.

I assume I give him the extra drop regardless of this mornings AM reading?
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 +12 74?? Now what?

That's a big drop. How about stalling for 30 min. to see if things have leveled off. You might not want to shoot a dropping number.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 +12 74?? Now what?

I'm home all day so no worries there. I'll wait the half hour - great idea. No schedule to be concerned about here either. Maybe it was just an odd meter reading too.

Also a note - I did something different today. Since I was testing him at +11 - I gave him his flovent puffer at +11 instead of +12.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 +12 74?? Now what?

Migraines on demand? 1 every 30 days?? Wow!

It looks like you got your wish for a green AMPS without having to do anything! I think I would stay with Mav's present dose, at least for this cycle.

Happy Saturday!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +11 104 +12 74?? Now what?

Stalling is a good idea, as this is a dropping number-right?
Hey I am the Queen of fur shots! Just go to the place where you can feel shot go in(I practiced shooting an orange for a while as a newbie to get the hang of it)--Every time I try to shoot in a different place, I sometimes do a fur shot ohmygod_smile --Annoying as it is!
I use neosporin with pain relief, the gel type, as it acts like vaseline(which helps the blood pool to the spot) and lubricates the ear--Yes, sometimes I have to prick her ear more than once--But I apologize & try again!
It is upsetting...Post your +12--and Try to have a good Caturday!!
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick AMPS 107

Guess the +12 was just a wonky reading. I watch it sip up the blood and make sure it goes all the way to the top of the strip. Ah well.

I shot with the extra drop this morning. His appetite is really amazing this morning. He's eaten a full 3oz from 6AM. (Shot time is normally 9AM).
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick AMPS 107 +4 88 +6 116

AMPS 107 +4 88 +6 116

It seems when he stops eating his BG goes up. Or he's just a cat. I'll get a +8 and +10 unless you guys want me to get other numbers.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick AMPS 107 +4 88 +6 116

Good luck with the dosecrease, Karrie. SOrry I haven't dropped in lately...work, cats, etc you know how it goes. Glad the migraine is gone and you are better!
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick AMPS 107 +4 88 +6 116

Wow, lots of action in Maverick's condo, looking good! I was wondering do you buy the monojects syringes online? I'm beginning to think my problem are the Walgreens syringes. Glad to hear your migraine is gone and hope you are feeling better.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +10 131? Huh?

These numbers make no sense. Its like the olympic wave.

I fed him right after +10. I suspect this will make this number go down. WHo knows though. Meter variance, new drop added to the mix. Maybe I got a furshot this morning and he's just doing this all on his own.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +10 131? Huh?

Just opened the insulin two mornings ago. Battery replaced on the meter mid February. I can put in a new one and see if it helps.
 
Re: 3/5 Maverick +10 131? Huh?

It's all probably good. It's likely just a hiccup.

Make up sleep! You're kidding, right? My shot time is at 6:00 so it's really not all that bad most nights. Now, If I could just go to sleep at 11:00 most nights I actually might not be exhausted all the time. (When Randi was up with Max for several nights, I sarcastically commented that sleep is overrated. Randi, and several others here, remind me of that off hand remark more often than I'd like.)
 
don't know where today went, and omg - i hadn't visited maverick yet. I hope you are feeling better - sounds like you are. Good luck with the dosecrease - I hope it helps maverick. Sounds like you've had some strip issues today. Drives me nuts when that happens. I use monojet too, and really like them.

Have a great night - whatever is left of it. :-D
 
Look at Maverick go today!! So sorry about the migraine, Karrie. I hope you're starting to feel better.

Hopefully you can figure the dose thing out and get Mav down into nothing but greens soon!

Have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top