3/5 Maggie AMPS ~400, staying flat, working off a bounce

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly Howard

Member Since 2016
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-4-maggie-amps-510-big-bounce.174244/

Not sure what her exact AMPS is. First test with AT was 365. I got a Relion yesterday and wanted to see what that read. It was 378! So I tested again with the AT. 439. Never had two tests be that far off. I also tested ketones, 0.8, yay. At this point she had so many holes in her ear and she was crying for food, I couldn't make her suffer a third AT test :) I'll call it 400.

Very interested to see what she does today! My afternoon plans cancelled so I'll be home all day.
 
Believe it or not, that's not bad for a deviation between a human meter and a pet meter! Especially at the higher numbers, they can diverge quite a bit. It's best to pick one meter and stick with it if you want to compare numbers, otherwise you will make yourself crazy!

Hope Maggie breaks the bounce and gets into better numbers (gently!) today!
 
Actually I was surprised at how close they were (365 and 378), that's what made me retest on the AT. It was the two AT readings, 365 and 439, that was really abnormal. I plan to switch to the relion when I run out of strips.
 
+2 459. I'm guessing the AT 439 was accurate and the lower AT test was a fluke -- it was a really tiny blood drop on the first test.

I hope this is just the bounce still clearing. Now I wish I'd gotten a test overnight. After our Friday night PJ party, I just passed out last night!
 
Last edited:
The AT generally reads higher and more so at high BG numbers. Just think in AT terms until you use up the strips and make a complete switch to the ReliOn.

Teasel gave me a lovely lime green at +6 today. :confused:
 
I was just reading your thread! He does like to keep things interesting. Hope that bit of HC is all he needs.
 
I had a whole post written up about maybe she's still high because she has food out now and maybe it's higher carbs than I thought... and then I deleted it because I realized I am overthinking the bounce again! I'm just jumpy right now with the DKA and the new insulin, I feel like I am starting over. But she's home, she's happy, she's eating, and ketones are negative... so I just need to calm down :D
 
I had a whole post written up about maybe she's still high because she has food out now and maybe it's higher carbs than I thought... and then I deleted it because I realized I am overthinking the bounce again! I'm just jumpy right now with the DKA and the new insulin, I feel like I am starting over. But she's home, she's happy, she's eating, and ketones are negative... so I just need to calm down :D
Post DKA and new insulin are good reasons for jumpiness! You'll feel calmer and more confident over time. This coming Tuesday marks one month that Teasel has been on Lantus and it's only just beginning to feel "normal" for me. :)
 
I had no idea they were so different. I thought Lantus just maybe lasted slightly longer. I'm just amazed at how these low numbers are safe to shoot when you know the dose is right. There was one time when Maggie fell into the 50s from her normal Prozinc dose on an AMPS of 200! It's been really interesting to learn about.
 
+8 406. Damn.

She's been eating allllll day. I'm letting her since she is skin and bones right now. Tomorrow I'll be back at work and she'll have to deal with pre-shot meals + one I'll leave in her new microchip feeder. Wow, that thing is cool. Her jerk civvie brother who always steals her food is totally annoyed by it. Ha!
 
And caught her for a urine test, still negative. Yay! And I get to save a blood ketone strip, double yay. I don't have many left and the new ones won't be here until mid week.
 
+10, 475 :rolleyes:

Still the bounce... right?? And maybe the extra food today? I think I want to try TR, test as much as I can which won't be much during the week but I can try to do more on her PM cycles.
 
Yeah for negative ketones! And yes she's bouncing. There's also a good chance she got lower last night than she is used to and started a new bounce. :rolleyes: With Lantus, the +2 test is a really good one to get. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot (like it was last night), that indicates an active cycle that may need more monitoring. Next time you see a drop like that, you might want to get a +4 test. The other part of the +2 test, if the number is about the same as the preshot it'll look like a "normal" Lantus cycle with a nice curve down. If the +2 is higher, likely a slow cycle and you can get to bed.
 
Thank you Wendy! That's good to know. I'll keep it in mind about the +2. I can get a +2, +3, maybe +4 any day in the PM cycle. If it's lower than PMPS, I'll set some alarms. I knew I should have done it last night... and I thought about it right before I drifted off... :)
 
When you wake up to a number in the 30's (been there done that too), alarms become much more meaninful. :eek:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top