3/5 Ivy Amps 284, +2 274, +5 282, +9 280, PMpS 290, +2 214

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
3/4/24
Amps 284
Good morning,
Mostly blue (Libre) last night with a few green dips.
Not great with eating snacks from feeder, mostly had to hand feed (am cycle was better).
Also had to hand feed balance of her meal this morning. Not overly hungry.
I weighed her on Sunday, she was approximately 15.24 lbs (with her tank top on). That’s a bit more than when at vet in January, so I’m happy with that. I don’t want her losing weight.

We are on cycle 8 of this dose 4 units.

Hoping she eats her snacks today from the feeder on her own.

Painters coming today to work on the basement repairs from water pipe leak 2 weeks ago. ;)

Have a safe surfing Tuesday all :cat:
 
Good morning Staci,
Very nice cycle Ivy had last night :)
Bummer about not eating snack - maybe wasn't very hungry in the night cycle?
Hope she continues to surf well down to the blues and greens today!
Also, hope the basement will be fixed soon - such stress!
Have a lovely day, Staci :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci,
Very nice cycle Ivy had last night :)
Bummer about not eating snack - maybe wasn't very hungry in the night cycle?
Hope she continues to surf well down to the blues and greens today!
Also, hope the basement will be fixed soon - such stress!
Have a lovely day, Staci :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, it was a good cycle. Hoping today is a nice surf. She’s bounced up this morning but I guess that’s to be expected. :rolleyes:
Hope the painters get in and out today… don’t love these guys being here. ;)
Hope you also have a great day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That +9, +9.75, and +10 last night look wonky. I know it was in the middle of the night but sometimes when you get a crazy reading like that +9.75 that doesn’t fit, it’s best to check with the Contour, if possible.

Did you smell insulin when you gave the partial fur shot? Even though she came down, if you are positive it was a PFS, the cycle count starts over the next cycle.
 
That +9, +9.75, and +10 last night look wonky. I know it was in the middle of the night but sometimes when you get a crazy reading like that +9.75 that doesn’t fit, it’s best to check with the Contour, if possible.

Did you smell insulin when you gave the partial fur shot? Even though she came down, if you are positive it was a PFS, the cycle count starts over the next cycle.
Hi Marje, Yes it did look like a drastic drop. Sometimes that does happen. Then she bounced right back up higher afterward. It was 4 am when the monitor woke me up to that number, that's how I was alerted. I was obviously completely out of it. I waited to see if it would drop to LO, then I would have jumped up for a test on Contour. But she went back up, so I rode it out :(

As for the PFS, I do recall smelling insulin, but don't think she was wet, so maybe a small amount leaked? So should we count the next am shot as 1st official cycle on this dose? (3/2/24) It was odd because she really dropped that night, but she must have been breaking that high pink bounce.

What are you thinking? :)
 
Sometimes that does happen
In reality, the body doesn’t do that and that’s why anytime anyone sees a drop like that in 45 minutes and then back up that quick, there’s a false reading in there, I know you only check the LOs on the Libre with the Contour but even if you had been using the Contour solely, that pattern needs a RT because there is a false reading. No criticism…..I know you are exhausted and that would have been tough to get up to manually test when you knew she was safe. But….if you see it in the day cycle or early evening, please RT with the Contour.

She was breaking a bounce with a fairly good depot so I’d start the cycle count over again the next morning. We will look and see where she is at six cycles but likely she will be in the range that we need to give her ten.
 
In reality, the body doesn’t do that and that’s why anytime anyone sees a drop like that in 45 minutes and then back up that quick, there’s a false reading in there, I know you only check the LOs on the Libre with the Contour but even if you had been using the Contour solely, that pattern needs a RT because there is a false reading. No criticism…..I know you are exhausted and that would have been tough to get up to manually test when you knew she was safe. But….if you see it in the day cycle or early evening, please RT with the Contour.

She was breaking a bounce with a fairly good depot so I’d start the cycle count over again the next morning. We will look and see where she is at six cycles but likely she will be in the range that we need to give her ten.
Ok I got it about testing a weird number.
I’m confused about the count. Do you mean begin counting on this dose beginning on 3/2 (morning after the possible PFS?)
If so, Tonight is the 8th dose on 4 units.
Are you saying hold this dose through 10 cycles (that would be tomorrow pm dose)?
Below is screen shot of that drop this morning at 4 am, just FYI. There were a few previous steep drops earlier. ;)
upload_2024-3-5_18-8-15.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-5_18-8-15.jpeg
    upload_2024-3-5_18-8-15.jpeg
    23.1 KB · Views: 218
Ok I got it about testing a weird number.
I’m confused about the count. Do you mean begin counting on this dose beginning on 3/2 (morning after the possible PFS?)
If so, Tonight is the 8th dose on 4 units.
Are you saying hold this dose through 10 cycles (that would be tomorrow pm dose)?
Below is screen shot of that drop this morning at 4 am, just FYI. There were a few previous steep drops earlier. ;)
View attachment 69394
Since the cycle count starts over after a FS, PFS, or skip, then the morning of 3/2 was cycle 1 on this dose and tonight is cycle 8. Please excuse my “we will see where she is at six cycles”. I miscounted. Yes, we should give her tomorrow and then decide whether to increase the dose or give more time.

I don’t know or understand everything about the Libre but I’ve just never seen a cat drop 180 mg/dL in 45 mins and then rise 140 in 15.
 
Yes, we should give her tomorrow and then decide whether to increase the dose or give more time.
Ok sounds good. Will see what happens tonight and tomorrow :smuggrin:
I don’t know or understand everything about the Libre but I’ve just never seen a cat drop 180 mg/dL in 45 mins and then rise 140 in 15.
That’s interesting that it’s so unusual to have a steep drop like that. I certainly don’t know everything either, but I have seen it happen many times in the past year on the Libre. So it didn’t shock me when I saw it happen. But it’s not all the time. The alarm woke me up to alert me :eek:

Thanks for your guidance :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Looks like a lazy day for Ivy. Not necessary a bad thing. She's just giving you a break before she plans something wild. We both know it :p:cool:
Hopefully the painters completed their job and didn't stress her out too much.
Have a nice and peaceful night

upload_2024-3-5_21-8-51.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-5_21-8-51.png
    upload_2024-3-5_21-8-51.png
    124.8 KB · Views: 118
That’s interesting that it’s so unusual to have a steep drop like that.
One would wonder what’s happening with the Libre when it does this occasionally, since it is often at a point in a cycle or when it would ordinarily not be what we would expect to see as far as BG patterns/numbers. I know I’ve commented to you about this in the past. It is very odd. Glad to see Miss Ivy is having some fun keeping you on your toes :p
 
Hi Staci. I have seen similar with the Libre on Tiger. I see it more with the libre 3 than with the freestyle. It freaks me when I see a drop like that but am learning that it must be a glitch. Sometimes I will see a low number on the Libre but it won’t show anything close when I check the LibreLinkUp. It may have something to do with the sensor loosing good contact with the fluid when they move or lay on it….seems I read that somewhere. I love the libre but sometimes it gives too much info that’s not always totally accurate…..

Have a great night!
 
Back
Top