? 3-5 Gizmo AMPS=242; PMPS=92; +1=72; +1.5=56; +2=66; +2.5=68; +3=64; +3.5=91; +4.5=119; +5.25=140

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday

After yesterday’s extreme low and the BCS last night, Gizmo isn’t that high this morning (considering). :)
He is now consistently eating, but only the tiki cat velvet mousse. He turns his nose up at anything else I offer to him. :( I held off on starting levemir this morning because I would prefer he was eating some higher low carb food also.

Plus I have a few questions about the switch. Basically, how often should (when) should I test during the first few cycles of lev? And when is normal onset and nadir for lev? I’m thinking onset is around +4 and nadir between +8-10, but I wanted to double check everything before I start him. So with lev, I would plan on getting a +4 most days instead of the +2. I think I’m going to try to finish out the lantus and then start him on lev. I hate to waste even a drop. ;)
 
Will he eat other food with some velvet mousse folded in to it? Gizmo, cut out this picky stuff, please. :stop:

With Lev, I'm sure it's an ECID thing. Asia's onset seems to be +2.5 to +3 and her nadir is not much different than it was on Lantus most of the time. I find the action hours just got moved forward by 2 hours, but Asia had very early onset with Lantus. There's a good thread in think tank where different people answer some of the questions you are asking:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/attention-lantus-to-levemir-users.122941/
 
Will he eat other food with some velvet mousse folded in to it? Gizmo, cut out this picky stuff, please. :stop:

With Lev, I'm sure it's an ECID thing. Asia's onset seems to be +2.5 to +3 and her nadir is not much different than it was on Lantus most of the time. I find the action hours just got moved forward by 2 hours, but Asia had very early onset with Lantus. There's a good thread in think tank where different people answer some of the questions you are asking:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/attention-lantus-to-levemir-users.122941/
I’m afraid to “taint” the velvet mousse with anything else. :nailbiting: However, he did just refused the velvet mousse at +2 and wanted his normal food instead. :cat:

Thanks for the thread. I’ll check it out later.
 
I’m not sure what is going on. PMPS is 92. I wish I could be happy about these great numbers but with him being so picky with eating I am scared to death. I gave another BCS of 4 units tonight. I’m worried something more than just the cabergoline working is going on to cause his numbers to drop rapidly and him not to eating. Cancer keeps entering my mind. I kinda think of the worst possible case and dwell on it. I’m praying it’s just he becoming regulated but I’m so worried that something else is going on. No results on the blood work yet. He is eating but it is a struggle with each meal. Not my normal will eat anything kitty. I’m still using lantus. Too afraid to switch it up right now when I already have no clue what to expect. But I am going to have to switch soon.
 
One day at a time...easier said then done :bighug::bighug: I'd also use up the Lantus and post for help when a cycle or two before switching. Lack of appy is always a huge stressor. Sending lots of appy vines and also hope the BW tells you something is easily fixed.
 
+1 = 72
Ate 1tsp HC (ate most of the meat chunks also)

One day at a time...easier said then done :bighug::bighug: I'd also use up the Lantus and post for help when a cycle or two before switching. Lack of appy is always a huge stressor. Sending lots of appy vines and also hope the BW tells you something is easily fixed.
I should have already been out of lantus or very close to it, but with him earning a reduction and the BCS, I still have some left. I should have enough for tomorrow morning and maybe also tomorrow night (depending on the dose I give tomorrow). So many unknowns right now. Wednesday isn’t the best day to start being that th puppy and civvie both have vet appts in the morning, but I have a feeling that is going to be the switch day.
 
When cabegoline really kicked in for Marvin, Nat had to break more than a few rules about reductions. They came fast and furious. Larger than usual reductions, back to back, ... I'd suggest a full 1.0 unit reduction this time, down to 5.0 units. Also feel free to skip if you can't monitor or need a break. Maybe that's an option for Wednesday. :bighug: Lev that night and at yet again a smaller dose.

Gizmo, up please!:eek:
 
+2 = 66
Gave another tsp HC (wouldn’t eat the meat - just some gravy)
1 drop of honey
When cabegoline really kicked in for Marvin, Nat had to break more than a few rules about reductions. They came fast and furious. Larger than usual reductions, back to back, ... I'd suggest a full 1.0 unit reduction this time, down to 5.0 units. Also feel free to skip if you can't monitor or need a break. Maybe that's an option for Wednesday. :bighug: Lev that night and at yet again a smaller dose.

Gizmo, up please!:eek:
Thanks for the advice and suggestions. I like the idea of skipping the shot Wednesday morning and starting levemir that night. We shall see where the amps number falls, but definitely a reduction to 5 units. If he stays low tonight, I might just stick with 4 units to see what happens. This is crazy!
Good thing you chose a BCS but :coffee: may be in order...
I’m thinking the same thing ... and lots of it! :facepalm:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top