3/5: cedric AMBG 147, PMPS 311, +3 289

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
With that number, we decided not to shoot this morning. I have a little helper byt the name nof dallas trying to help me type this am....
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147

Oh Hai Dallas good to see you helping Mom type.

Yeah with as much as you are gone, I'm not sure I would have shot either, but at least he is coming back down again.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147

it would be just my luck that I will go home tonight and he'll be back up in the 300s...
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147

That is always a possiblity with the skipped shot...what I would suggest next time you get a low preshot that you aren't comfortable giving a full 1u on, what about giving a half dose or a .5u? That way at least he has some insulin on board and yet shouldn't drop him too low while you are away. Or even reducing his dose to .75u and holding to see it that gives you a shootable number both am/pm.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147

Agree with Mel. 1/2 dose will make him safe and won't result in a huge bounce 12 hours later.

Understand that you are away for a long time, and that you worried about how low Cedric would go. But, a smaller amount should give you some consistency.

All the best to Cedric and Dallas.

Claudia
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147

I give a half dose whenever Sneakers is too low to comfortably shoot a full dose- for her around 120 I drop it some. Under 100 I drop it 50%.
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147, PMPS 311

you folks are so right. I will remember that for next time. I think the vet yelled at me in an email for giving cedric a couple drops of syurp on saturday when he was dropping and i needed to go to work.... :sad:
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147, PMPS 311

That's not that bad hon. I had to give Lucian 1/2 his dose the other day and he jumped up to over 600 by pmps. He's high, but it could be much worse.

As Mel tells me........take your blessing where you can. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/5: cedric AMBG 147, PMPS 311

It took me the first couple of low PS's to actually get up the nerve to shoot less instead of nothing.
I think the lowest i shot a full dose was 132- and it was 23u at Sneakers second highest dose (highest was around 33u).

The first time or two you don't want to do anything hoping that Mr. P is kicking in but then you realize they just get higher at the other end so you decide you do have to do something different. I've had a sliding scale for dosing for my pet sitters when I'm not available so build one up for you.
 
yep, marathon not a sprint. I was just so scared something would happen to him when I was not home...i came home to a dead cat once, don't want it to happen again.
 
Ah hon you are just getting a taste of really dancing with a sugarcat...Cedric spoiled you rotten too just like Maxwell did me by going OTJ in just a short period of time..we were both lucky there, but see I adopted another sugar cat so Maxwell didn't need to come out of remission to make me feel like a newbie all over again...lol

Shooting low to stay low is really scary the first few times you do it, whether you are shooting a full dose into a green preshot or hoping you reduced enough to keep them down but not too far down.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I'm so sorry to hear about your other baby and understand why that would scare you. I had the same thing happen a couple years ago, so I am very skittish too. That's why I shot a half dose for Lucian, I was home, but had been up almost all night and knew I would be asleep for several hrs and his numbers were really wonky at the time.

Now, I would shoot a lesser dose, but maybe 75% instead of 50%, just because he went so high afterwards. But you never know until afterwards and you have to do what you think is safest for your kitty.

Big Hugz! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top