3/5 Benny, AMBG 112 - Vet today; update; PMPS 99

Erin & Scott

Member Since 2019
Previous

No shot this morning, Benny's on his way to the vet for a tooth extraction, and we'll pick him up late this afternoon. I thought he'd be much higher since we skipped his shot last night, so I was pleased to see such a low number.

Have a good day, all - I'll be worried about my little guy all day, though I'm sure he'll do fine.
 
Benny's procedure is complete, and he's recovering at the vet's for another hour or two. It went well, and they only needed to remove one tooth, so he should heal well (it was a lower canine). He has gained weight, and is over 8 lbs now (not sure by how much exactly, I got the info 2nd hand from Scott). So all is going as well as we could have hoped. The only thing is that the infection in one ear hasn't resolved completely, so I'll need to give him drops again - I had noticed some increased scratching the last several days, and him trying to shrug that ear away from me when testing. But he did well last time around with the ear drops, so fingers crossed that a second round will take care of it for good.

Overall, these guys both have been very healthy, but now that they're getting older, all of a sudden they're both having problems. Still, I'm thankful that they aren't more serious; my heart goes out to all of the beans here who are dealing with multiple problems with their fur kids.
 
Good to hear the dental went well. Good luck with clearing up that ear infection. Yep, getting older is even hard for our fur kids isn't it? I used to hear about the "Golden Years", now I know where my gold is going: Health care and Rx's LOL
 
Benny is home now, stumbling around like a little drunken sailor. He was looking so sleek and plump, now he just looks like a strung-out little homeless kitty. He's ravenous, of course, and wolfed down the first tablespoonful of food we gave him, just waiting now to make sure he keeps it down, then we'll feed him up good. We've got 28 days' worth of antibiotics, plus a few doses of buprenorphine and Onsior for pain. Still a lot of wax in one ear canal that wouldn't flush out, so we'll have to keep working on that. He's great about his shots and testing, but the ears is another matter - he doesn't like that at all. The vet also wants us to start brushing his teeth, which I don't anticipate will be successful. I haven't even been successful at clipping his claws, I can't imagine trying to mess in his mouth. But we'll give it a try once he heals up; you never know.
 
Overall, these guys both have been very healthy, but now that they're getting older, all of a sudden they're both having problems. Still, I'm thankful that they aren't more serious; my heart goes out to all of the beans here who are dealing with multiple problems with their fur kids.

Max too! He's been a really healthy cat all his life and now it's just like boom boom boom! It all seems to be hitting at once, haha. I suppose I had it coming. He'll be 14 this year though, so I really feel for all of the moms and dads who have younger guys with health issues.
 
As terrible as it sounds, I'm glad Tigger has had ALL his teeth already removed (I'm talking 4 fangs and all). He's way too old now, and with the FD on top of it I would be a wreck if he needed a procedure. He has like 4 tiny nibblers in front and when he "bites" you its so darn cute. Best part - hasn't stopped him from trying to eat anything and everything. These guys are amazing.
 
PMPS is 99 after no insulin for 36 hours!! So we reduced his dose from 0.25u to 0.125u - we'll see how he does on the lower dose. He's been trending in that direction, and while his numbers technically haven't earned a decrease, I think he's ready for it.
 
Some anesthesia induction drugs can lower the BG. It is usually a good idea to test when you get home, as well as at preshot, to see if they are going down. I am glad he’s got a good appetite and can eat in spite of the extraction. Seen the odd cat here going down due to anesthesia and not wanting to eat after the dental, plus full dose. :eek:

For teeth brushing, try starting with a piece of moist gauze and just rubbing the toofies.
 
Back
Top