Re: 3/5 Alfred AMPS-176, +2-130, +5-60, +8-54 (first post he
Let me try to explain because the depot is one of those difficult concepts to grasp. Here is a great post by Libby on the
Lantus and Levemir Depot.
Short course is these insulins, by different means, build a depot so the first several shots you give go towards establishing the depot and then the cat starts using the insulin in the shot you give. However, when the dose gets to be too much and they don't need all that you are giving in the injection, the depot overfills like a bucket that has too much water and then the BG drops. It takes a while to drain that depot and a depot from a larger dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles...although most cats it's probably more like 3-4.
So alot of times, if you have a larger depot, even if you reduce the dose, you don't see the depot draining much the cycle you reduce....it's seen more in subsequent cycles.
If we don't shoot, we refer to it as AMBG or, in this instance PMBG. You count hours since his last shot so +12 is 12 hours from his last shot. I'd check him again at +14 and if he's gone up alot, Id get some sleep. If he hasn't, set an alarm and check him at +17. The caveat is if you test him at +14 and he's going down....then test hourly until he's going back up. But I doubt that will happen...very unlikely. He can't hypo if you didn't give him a shot.
So feed him a good meal, skip the shot, check at +14 and go from there. You can adjust your shot time in the morning if you want to pick a new one and then shoot 1.25u. Do not be surprised or worried if he goes up high tonight, ok? He will come back down in the next few cycles when his dose is correct.
Any questions? BTW, there will be a time that you will shoot low and need to get alot of tests at night. It's our commitment to stay up with you....low numbers alone can be scary so we put on the coffee and have a pj party
I will check back with you in a few minutes....ask any questions you have.