3/5/19 | Ben: AMPS=108, +4=82, +6=82, +10=72, PMPS=89 - lab results.

Tasha & Darwin

Member Since 2017
Condo

Happy Tuesday!

I'm happy to report that Ben's labwork looked AMAZING! His BUN, CREA and SDMA were well within normal limits (checking due to starting Meloxicam), and everything else looked very good. He DOES, however, have blood in his urine (even though we caught his urine - no cysto). No other signs of a UTI, so my doctor is wondering if it might be some trauma - he does fall sometimes on his way in and out of the box :( We're going to check again in 7-10 days, unless any symptoms or obvious blood are seen.

Otherwise, his numbers have improved at PS with the addition of the third dose of Bupe - I'm really thinking he might have been spiking a bit due to his pain meds wearing off :blackeye:

With TR, if a kitty is in largely normal numbers for a week, you reduce the dose. The pre-shot numbers are typically the last to fall in line.

I guess Darwin was SO different (ECID!), that I never was able to get him to this point. So, should I just decrease by 0.25u until/unless he starts trending back up? I was trying to find the sticky on this, but couldn't find anything...
 
Yeah for great bloodwork!

On what basis would you reduce? I don’t see below 50 or a week in normal numbers yet. Maybe that extra dose of bupe will help that come soon. He is close, but that 145 a couple days ago throws off the count.
 
On what basis would you reduce? I don’t see below 50 or a week in normal numbers yet. Maybe that extra dose of bupe will help that come soon. He is close, but that 145 a couple days ago throws off the count.
Oh! Okay, maybe I was just misunderstanding. I didn’t think it was time to reduce...I’ll keep the dose for now.
 
Ben is looking good at this dose. I'm glad everything looks good .. hopefully that blood was a one-time thing. :bighug:

I just looked at Darwin's SS. He still likes hanging out in the lime greens. I looked back at his OTJ trial and didn't remember that he jumped from 0.75u to nothing and was so low the entire trial. :joyful:
 
One number that's outside of normal range doesn't (necessarily) mean you don't reduce. In the last week, Ben has had only one reading at 120.

Phase 4: Reducing the dose
When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose.
The above is from the Tilly's Diabetes Homepage which is where TR originated. Most people forget that this is an option.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Back
Top