3.5.15 Zoey amps 378 // +2.25 178 // +4 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rose

Member Since 2015
good morning!

thank you guys for checking in on zoey's spreadsheet yesterday and giving the reassurances. it's nice to know that we're not the only ones on the "dance" floor. :)

i like the idea of the petsafe 5 feeder but i'm concerned that zoe will be able to break into it and eat it all at once. she's a somewhat (most definitely understated) crazy cat when it comes to food and being in a pet carrier. she can break into anything to get food and she can break out of anything (given enough time) to gain her freedom. i have often checked her paws to see if she has acquired a 5th toe to act as a thumb due to her amazing abilities.

i admittedly know not enough to qualify as someone who should even think they have an educated opinion on any of this ... but in looking at her spreadsheet, i do feel like she's making good progress. it appears that the numbers are starting to move in the right direction and staying out of those 400s and 500s for longer periods during the cycles. i just wasn't getting that with the vetsulin so i'm really happy we insisted on the new script and made the move. she's starting out today in the 300s so hopefully we'll make it into the blue. no worries if we don't ... i've been forewarned that she could be bouncing into friday so now if i see those high numbers i won't freak out. ...that little voice being planted in my head is already helping to lower my own anxieties. so.. thank you yet again. :D

here's a link to yesterday's post. i don't quite know how to make it look all polished and refined where the link information doesn't show, but the end result should be the same.

hope you all have a wonderful day today!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-4-15-zoey-amps-542.134063/
 
LOL on you looking for her thumbs!

Another option for leaving food not to be eaten immediately when you need to be out is to freeze some. I haven't done it myself so I can't tell you how much/ how big a block you need to leave for how many hours but my understanding is that it would defrost on the edges first and kind of act like timed release food. You may need to experiment a little to see what works in your climate or someone else may be able to advise.

To make the link to your last post all polished and refined you type what you want it to say, e.g. yesterday, then you highlight that word or phrase before you click on the paper clip looking thing, paste your link in the box and voila!
 
Vyktors Mum: I think it was BJM who originally told me about freezing the food and I immediately started doing that. It's worked out well, although she's a persistent little thing with the sole goal of leaving no food behind. I've recently seen her rubbing her face against trees so I'm convinced she's filing her tooth to act as a chisel.

Thank you for the polishing tip. I am learning so much more than just the valuable information I came here for. :cat:
 
I see low blues in there, that shows potential! This is the worst part about Lantus - you'll find that it's often a slow dance as you wait for the depot to fill. And we hold the initial dose for 5-7 days (10-14 cycles), so it's just watching to see what happens.

Hey Zoey - no need to bounce so high!

Neko was pretty crazy about food when we started. She was in high numbers a lot and her acromegaly gives her the appetite of a teenage boy. :rolleyes: Fortunately the Petsafe has proven strong enough and is now her best friend.
 
Those blue numbers had us all excited... sure wish they would've stayed around a little longer. There are no quitters around here so we will just have to dance till the numbers drop. :)

You know, Zoey is really food obsessed. I'm not quite certain exactly what the symptoms are for acromegaly, but I'm wondering if that could be a possibility. She has a really big belly (think barrel shape), is now having to be on Miralax to keep her pooing and you can set a watch by her when it comes to her getting her blood glucose checked because she wants that tuna treat afterwards. She's always had big paws but I don't notice any difference or largeness in her head. ??

Anyway ... today has been a good day for her. She's had her PM shot and is laying on her side, stretched out in my bed (great to see after her being in a meatloaf position for weeks). My husband now hugs his side of the bed, I sleep in the middle and Zoey stretches out on "her side." She gets fed around the clock, loved and oohed over for performing the basics like eating, pooing and peeing, has her belly rubbed every time she flips over to give blood, and gets tuna that the other cats aren't allowed. I can only hope I get the same treatment when my time comes. :joyful:

Thanks again everyone for checking in on us!
 
Boing! At least that bodes well for a good nights sleep tonight, and those blues were lovely :cool:

I'm not sure that you'd be seeing the results that you are already seeing if Zoey was an acrocat.
 
Wowser - that was the bounce clearing this morning. So she cleared it in just 2 days. You can tell a bounce has cleared when they get back into at least somewhat close to the range they were in that caused the bounce. So we can see pretty clearly that this dose, at this point (day 3) is capable of getting her almost to 100. That's pretty great!

I have 3 cats climbing on me to get between me and the laptop screen because it's dinner time here and I haven't fed them yet. LOL. crazy cats. by the way, i saw your note in your yesterday's thread about punkin - that was very sweet. I miss that little guy like you wouldn't believe, but we had a wonderful time together for a long time. I do hope that my documentation of his story helps others.

At this point, I don't think you need to worry about acromegaly. It is more common than previously thought, but you're seeing great numbers on just 2 units, so there's nothing that suggests a problem yet. We don't suggest people have cats tested for a high dose condition until they pass about 6u per shot.

For just being on her 3rd day of Lantus, Zoey looks great! You're doing everything right.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top