Ann & Tess said:Hi, welcome to Lantus Land! I'm glad to see you here, there are a lot more eyes to give specific advice about Lantus here.
Do get a +8 test. If she is still going down, further tests will help get really valuable information, too.
Here's a link to your thread in Health.
Sandy and Black Kitty said:Hello again![]()
Happy you found your way here to Lantus Land!
Good job on the PM cycle tests![]()
How often and at what times do you give sub-qs?
Marjorie and Gracie said:Helen:
I would definitely feed her now. You do not want to feed between +10 and +12 and I think she's dropping fast enough that you should give her some LC food and let her eat. It's best to feed more often up to the nadir than
to let her go from PS to PS without eating. She's been coming down pretty fast all day.
Please post a +10 for us. You're doing great!
kim and simon said:Have you talked with any of the more experienced users about the dose of your next shot? Are you sticking with 3u? Just wondering? You might want to ask about 2 hours before your shot. You can change the title in your FIRST post to make it show up on the subject line in the main Lantus forum.
----
Breathe! You are doing great! This yoga cat is just to make you laugh a little!
![]()
Marjorie and Gracie said:Helen:
Unfortunately, many vets have not yet caught on to the fact that dry food is what often causing diabetes. You are NOT harming her by letting her have low carb canned food or a raw diet. It's the best thing for her. I would expect to see some downward trend of her numbers without the dry food. You're doing the best thing you can for her by getting her off those carbs in the dry food.
Yes....please post a +10 so we can see where she is. I'm sure you are exhausted...you are doing great.
Vyktors Mum said:Did I read that correctly 21 other fur babies :shock: you must be one very busy lady!
Wait to see what Marje or another wise one says at +10 but dose may be too high, you were started way higher than we would normally start and now Rosy has changed to wet food which is likely to have reduced her insulin needs. She may also have earned a dose reduction on PM 03/01 cycle. Whatever dose you started on we would not have expected to see much action in the first few days because of the way lantus works - the shed must build up first. Looks like the shed had built up by 03/01.
I'm not sure why you say you think changing to wet diet may have hurt her? Definitely the best thing for her.
In regard to back legs issue - have you discussed nueropathy with the vet, if that is the problem she should be having Vit B12 supplement
tortie58 said:Rosy's figure at +10 is 186, canned food was given 0.5hr ago.
Now most of them 10 yrs old, youngest 5 are 6 yrs old. Health issue is starting to come. Wish I can cope with it.
Rosy's leg issue, I've ordered the Methlyn B-12 which has yet to arrive. I bought a B-12 from pharmacy & feeding her at the mean time.
My switching her altogether from dry to pure canned food can be too drastic?
Helen
kim and simon said:I bet Marje or another person who can help will be back around to check on you soon. I think that switching to all wet food is the perfect thing for your kitty. You made the correct choice. Now let's see what to do about the dose! Just check in before you shoot anything, ok?
Vyktors Mum said:tortie58 said:Rosy's figure at +10 is 186, canned food was given 0.5hr ago.
Now most of them 10 yrs old, youngest 5 are 6 yrs old. Health issue is starting to come. Wish I can cope with it.
Rosy's leg issue, I've ordered the Methlyn B-12 which has yet to arrive. I bought a B-12 from pharmacy & feeding her at the mean time.
My switching her altogether from dry to pure canned food can be too drastic?
Helen
Did you check with the vet that the human B12 from the pharmacy is okay to give to cats??????
Because you are monitoring her BG at home it is okay to change the food like that because you can see if she gets dangerously low and do something.
Is your ss correct in that she had a 86 at +11 of PMS on 03/01 and then a 254 an hour later at AMPS on 03/02??? It appears you gave food at the +11 but that seems huge for a LC canned food spike.
Don't forget to update your original subject line with her +10 so people can see straight away that the has been an update.
It is a shame you only have the pen to make dose changes by 1 unit for now.
Just to check - will you be able to monitor today after her shot? Do you have plenty of test strips and some higher carb wet food and/or syrup in case numbers get too low?
Marjorie and Gracie said:Helen
We'd like you to reduce her dose by 1u. That is a bigger reduction than we normally do but we believe she might be on too much insulin and that this will be safer for her? So can you please shoot 2u and hold that dose until we think she needs to go up or down . Thank you!
Sienne and Gabby said:Helen:
Given that the change in diet seems to be dropping Rosy's numbers, I think it will be safer if you lower her dose to 2.0u. (I'm part of that group that's discussing Rosy's dose.)
Libby and Lucy said:welcome to Lantus Land!
I hope reducing will give you a chance to collect some good data without having to be in panic mode. The numbers you are seeing are good, but because of the food change and the fact that Rosy has seen some fairly low numbers on this dose, reducing seems like the safest thing for now. She will probably end up needing a dose somewhere between 2u and 3u, so I'm glad you have some syringes on order.
Regarding testing tonight, definitely get a test at +12 before you shoot. That number will tell you whether she is dropping or rising at shot time, and that will help us suggest when you should test again in this cycle. Even though you are reducing the dose, Lantus has cumulative action. That means that this next cycle will still have some influence of today's 3u shot, so it's possible that she could still drop.
Sandy and Black Kitty said:Hello again Helen![]()
What was Rosys number at shot time (AMPS)?
I know you must be tired from being up all night - hang in there a little longer.
I'm glad you came to Lantus Land today. This is the place to be for guidance and support.
You have received wise recommendations.
Things will get better![]()
Libby and Lucy said:, definitely get a test at +12 before you shoot. That number will tell you whether she is dropping or rising at shot time, and that will help us suggest when you should test again in this cycle. Even though you are reducing the dose, Lantus has cumulative action. That means that this next cycle will still have some influence of today's 3u shot, so it's possible that she could still drop.
Marjorie and Gracie said:Helen
It's a good idea to feed her small amounts over several hours before her nadir so she doesn't get too hungry and so it can help with the insulin.
Hopefully you will get your syringes and ketostix soon. The fluids are up to you. They won't hurt her except they can cause the BG to come down. Some cats, it does; some it does not. I gave Gracie fluids until
her insulin started to kick in and bring her numbers down and then I stopped. I think it's up to you on what you'd like to do. Once you get the ketostix, I think you would be ok to stop the fluids and test for
ketones daily. If you pick up even a trace, you could start again.
When you get a chance, could you please update your subject line to show you shot? You would just edit it to read "3/4 Rosy AMPS XXX"
with the XXX being whatever number you shot. We have a member in Australia and so she is also a day ahead. Good job last night and this morning. Hope you can get some rest.
Sandy and Black Kitty said:Hi Helen,
You must have missed Libbys message in her earlier post:
Libby and Lucy said:, definitely get a test at +12 before you shoot. That number will tell you whether she is dropping or rising at shot time, and that will help us suggest when you should test again in this cycle. Even though you are reducing the dose, Lantus has cumulative action. That means that this next cycle will still have some influence of today's 3u shot, so it's possible that she could still drop.
A kiitys BG can change a lot from +10 to PS time. It's really important to get your test just before you shoot.
Even though you shot less insulin this cycle, Rosys BG may still be affected by the previous shot.
Any chance you can get a test sooner than +4?
Marjorie and Gracie said:Many of us feed minimeals .....so if you divide up the amount of food she normally gets into 4 or 5 smaller meals and then feed it at PS, +1, +2, +3 or some variation of those times, then it typically helps your kitty.
It depends on what her AMPS was....if it was already on the rise, this could be the beginning of a bounce or it could be a food spike depending on how much you fed her. Hard to tell without knowing her PS number.
Vyktors Mum said:You haven't screwed up you're doing a great job. There is so much to take in at the beginning it all gets rather confusing
Until you find out Rosy's responses to lantus more frequent testing is good BUT you don't have to do it every hour or anything and you don't want her to go off the whole testing idea. +1 and +2 tests are particularly good if you have shot a low number so you can perhaps get an idea of how the cycle is going to go but it doesn't work that way in every cat, for e.g. Vyktor's +2 after AMS on 02/19 gave me no notice of what was coming. Because it was a little higher than his PS I didn't worry about testing again until +6 which was nearly an oops. For Vyktor it is his +4 that tells me where he's going.
The most important tests to get every time are the PS tests and also a test around where you think her nadir is. It is also a good idea to do a curve (tests evey two hours between shots) once a week so you can see what's happening throughout the whole cycle. As you get to know how Rosy reacts to her lantus you will learn when it is most important to test her.
julie & punkin said:hi helen - i'm glad you found Lantus Land! There is a ton to learn - and we all started out not knowing it, so don't feel badly about what you don't know. in everything here there is another chance to do it again! (that's a joke - but so true because we repeat everything every day!)
the person from Hong Kong that i was talking about on your post on the main health board is Christine and Ahmin. I'll find her profile and send her a message. hopefully she'll get it. i know it helps to have someone who knows what's available in your area.
and i'll agree with everyone else about the canned food. in nature, rosy would eat a mouse or a bird. all meat. no grains except what was in the tummies of the mouse or bird. i've seen both of my cats' health improve since we switched to all canned.
Sandy and Black Kitty said:![]()
![]()
![]()
![]()
good evening Helen
you had quite a day yesterday - I hope things will be less crazy with the lower dose.
julie & punkin said:i didn't know that about march 4th - what a lovely day!
you're doing just great, helen. it takes a while to learn all of this - we understand because we've all been in your shoes. don't worry about trying to get it all at once. we say "it's a marathon, not a sprint!"
i sent a message to Christine and hope she will get it. some people get notifications of pm's in their emails, some don't. i hope hers is set to get them. if not, while none of the rest of us is in Hong Kong, we're still sitting in your computer and can almost reach out and touch you! we're with you in spirit!
sleep well. see you in the morning!
julie & punkin said:for me it's time for lunch!
let's stay on this thread until you take a morning preshot number, then would you start a new "condo" (what we call the threads each cat has) for the day? it helps us find important info to be able to help you if they don't get too terribly long.
i want to summarize what i think is going on now - would you correct me if i'm wrong?
++you're using a Lantus pen with the pen needles to shoot, but you are going to get syringes.
++you've changed to all canned food, Whiskas, but you're not sure of the carb content of what Rosy's eating. it might not be low carb.
++you've got MANY (21) other kitters to help you in the house! ;-) so Rosy needs to eat on a schedule.
++current dose is 2units
++rosy has some neuropathy in her back legs and you've just started giving her B-12
++you have a spreadsheet attached in your signature line under "rosy's profile"
would you let me know if that's all correct or if i should correct something?
so - just to help you move forward, here's a summary if what i think people are telling you so far:
always get a test before each shot. if it's below 200, or you have some concerns, post immediately, edit your subject line to ask for help and add a "reply" to your post to bump it to the top so people can see you need help. don't feed while you're waiting for someone to reply - unless she's under 50, then give her some food while you wait for an answer.
stick with the canned food for the moment but look for some low-carb varieties in HK.
hold the dose at 2units for now - we'll help you decide when it needs to change. lantus likes to have the same dose, 12 hours apart to have kitties do their best.
continue to test about every 3 hours during the day (preshot, +3, +6, +9 and preshot) and at least before bed at night for the first several days.
if you want to get a +2 it's helpful to tell us where Rosy is aimed - if it's about the same # as preshot, she'll probably have a cycle like this morning's. not too drastic or scary. if it's significantly lower than the preshot number, you might need extra tests because that usually means they are dropping and need extra watching. if it's higher than the preshot, then often that means the cat will have a higher numbers cycle. when you test it's helpful to edit your subject line and add the most recent numbers. that lets us keep an eye on her very easily!
when you have a few minutes, would you please read the yellow starred stickies (posts) at the top of the Lantus Support Group forum? there are about 6 of them, i think. you don't need to memorize it all, just look now for anything that is especially relevant to you right now. for example, in the "New to the Group" sticky, there is a description of the syringes you will need (U-100, .5u markings, 3/10cc) to help you buy the right ones.
the one thing to note that will be different for you: on the sticky that's about taking care of your Lantus/Levemir, it says to refrigerate the pen. In your case, because you are using the pen needles, the pen should be left unrefrigerated. The refrigerator will change the dose that is dispensed through the pen needles. Because the rest of us are using syringes instead of pen needles, we refrigerate the lantus to last as long as possible. You should leave yours unrefrigerated. Has it been in the refrigerator so far?
ask questions on anything that seems confusing!
you're already seeing a curve appear in her cycle today. great job getting the spreadsheet going! you're doing just great!!!
julie & punkin said:no, i think in that case, don't take it out. when you change to using syringes, we might have to look at the dose because i think it won't be exactly the same as 2 units using the pen needles. but that's ok. we'll figure it out then. for now, keep doing what you have been doing.
so rosy has had ketones in the past? did she have DKA - diabetic ketoacidosis? or only ketones?
one thing you can do instead of the sub-q fluids is to add water to rosy's food. i make punkin's soupy. that gets a little more fluid into them.