? 3/4 Winnie AMPS 407 +2 334 +4 277 increase to 0.75??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kerrie & Winnie

Member Since 2015
Winnie hasn't been in the greens for over a week and hasn't even had many blues. She's prone to bouncing and may start that again if I move her up to 0.75 (from her current 0.5). Is it worth a try?
 
If this were my kitty, I would be increasing the dose to 0.75.

For what it's worth, kitties bounce until they don't. Generally, you've just got to systematically increase the dose unless the numbers indicate a reduction is needed. At this point, Winnie's numbers are not exactly where you'd want them to be. That being the case, you want to increase. IMHO, the worst think you can do is be afraid of a bounce. It's a normal part of the process of getting a cat regulated. The bounces make us crazy -- usually because we take them very personally.

 
With SLGS, you hold onto the dose if you are getting nadirs below 150, which you are. And you are using the AT. Last night's fast drop to +3 and the red start this morning leads me to suspect she might have seen green last night and is now bouncing.
 
she might have seen green last night and is now bouncing.
That's an interesting theory. I'd better do more testing tonight and see if that sheds any light.
I'm a bit confused about 2 things though (well, actually, I'm confused about a zillion things but 2 that relate to your post) - her nadirs are only occasionally below 150. Is that good enough? And, what does AT mean (I couldn't find it in the glossary)?
 
Winnie's numbers are not exactly where you'd want them to be. That being the case, you want to increase. IMHO, the worst think you can do is be afraid of a bounce. It's a normal part of the process of getting a cat regulated.
I sure do agree that Winnie's numbers aren't where I want them. Is it normal to be this poorly regulated a year and a half after starting insulin???
 
AT = alphatrak. The numbers on an alphatrak are usually a bit higher than if the same drop of blood had been tested on a human meter. Both SLGS and TR were written with human meters in mind.

I don't think there is a "normal" according to the cat handbook. :p Neko took a couple of years to settle down. Looks like Winnie likes to bounce as much as Neko did.

Is there a reason you are following SLGS? You test enough for TR, which would allow you to increase the dose and means you don't have to hold a dose as long. Like Sienne, I think she could benefit from an increase. The other difference between TR and SLGS is when you take reductions. For something using the AT meter, you take reductions at 68 if you are on TR, but you take them at 90 if using SLGS. Those greens on the 24th would have had you decreasing the dose.
 
You test enough for TR
I've been on an extended holiday lately so I've been able to test more than I usually can. However, I'll look into the TR. That never occurred to me. I travel a lot but maybe I can do the TR when I'm in town and just hold the dose when I'm not. Thank-you very much for the suggestion!
 
That's definitely a possibility. The more time her body spends in green, normal numbers, the less bouncy she'll get. TR when you can may help her do that.
 
I tested last night and, as you suggested might be happening Wendy, Winnie dropped to 136 at +7 and had a AMPS this morning of 429. So my question now is: do I keep the dose and hope that the bouncing eventually stops but, in the mean time, put up with a lot of pinks and yellows (at best!); OR - do I increase the dose to 0.75, possibly causing bigger drops and bigger bounces, but possibly getting more greens and blues (except for the bounces)?? Maybe what I'm essentially asking is whether I SHOULD be switching to TR, in which case an increase seems to be in order - ? But even there, I'm not sure because the numbers are with human meters and I'm using AT. I'd be really grateful for any input from those with experience with bouncey kitties. (Should I be starting a new thread??? As I say in my signature, I am technologically challenged!) THANK-YOU!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top