3/4 Tess PMPS~132

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Member Since 2010
3/3 Condo

Tess is still eating well. Very playful last night, running back and forth through the living room. Haven't seen the "scatter cat" in a while.

Getting really frustrated w/ this vial of strips, grr_red and see it fill from a good sample of blood but it never starts the countdown or it reads "LO", test again and 111or something. Both just happened for this AMPS, Tess was remarkably patient about it. I have never had a problem before, the battery level is good, I don't know if something is wrong w/ the meter or this vial of strips.

BTB, deal w/ it tomorrow. :sad:
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

Tess seems to like to hold a dose for quite a while to get comfortable with it. Still in the normal range, just wish she'd surf a little lower again. Yesterday mornings greens were so nice.

Tess is back in her sunbeam having eaten al of her 3 breffus feedings even though it was just Wellness. The other foods have a little more texture, I think that's what she likes about them. No having to scrape it off the bottom of the bowl, of course that's what we are there for.

A little playing after brushing, purring always. LB had only one P, but DH claims that this is her regular Thursday schedule. I have class this afternoon so I am having him practice drawing the .25u w/ an old needle. He hasn't had to do this one yet.

I'm going to try a new vial of strips today and see if I have the same problems. The last several and the three I have left are all the same batch number. so there shouldn't be a difference, but I hope it was just the on vial.
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

Hi Ann,

Did you try resetting the meter? Maybe take the battery out and restart it? This is what I do with all of my electronics when then misbehave...why not give it a try? Or do you have the liquid to recalibrate it? Recalibrate probably isn't the right word...but I hope you know what I mean.

Good luck. It would be a shame to waste a batch of strips, but it happens.
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

Hey Ann,
what about trying another type of meter? Maybe the tru2go one is not working well, and it's good to have a backup.

Maybe it could be at the connection point inside the meter where the strips enter and line up; I am just guessing here, and don't know a thing about the resilience or function or costs for your type of meter.

I can't remember but can't you get a starter kit with new meters that has a couple free strips in it??

I went looking online for comparisons. I am sure others have already posted on meters, but here is more info:
http://www.diabetesforums.com/forum/typ ... rison.html
I have the September 2008 Consumer Reports, which has their ratings of the meters. Here they are in order of performance, with their overall score, which is based on consistency, accuracy, and ease of use and features:
One Touch UltraMini 88
Ascensia Contour 78
One Touch Ultra2 74
ReliOn Ultima 70
Accu-Chek Compact Plus 70
One Touch UltraSmart 68
Nova Max 67
FreeStyle Lite 64
Accu-Chek Aviva 55
FreeStyle Freedom 50
Duo-Care Combined 45
Ascensia Breeze 2 45
TrueTrack 44

That list is kinda old and it does not list yours, but I have heard others say they like the ReliOn and its strips are cheaper I think.
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

I didn't realize you were using the True2Go. I bought one of these meters to save some money, and had a horrible experience. If you look at Magnolia's SS, I switched to the True2Go on Nov. 18, the same day I switched her to raw food. When I switched back to the One Touch Ultra on Dec 5, the numbers went right back up. For about a week, I tested with both, and the True2Go ALWAYS gave readings at least 100 lower than the One Touch. I also tested myself with both meters and my numbers were fine, similar on both. I'm not sure about the scientific explanation of it, but maybe there's something off when it comes to feline testing with the True2Go?

A backup meter seems like a great idea. If nothing else, just to see if your current meter is off. I found cheap strips for the One Touch ($22 for 50 strips) on Amazon.
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

Sorry, I forgot to update the profile when I changed meters last month. I forgot that the meter was listed in the profile, I did make note of it on the spreadsheet. I've changed it now. I know that the True test meters run very low so I changed to the Maxima AST that had been recommended by several members. I also have a OTUMini for a backup and I'll try that too.

I just took the battery out and put it back in, and the battery level has always been good when I turn it on, checked that first thing. At least I know that something is wrong w/ the test at the time, since I'm just not getting a reading rather than an off reading, I hope. I always test new vials of strips against the testing solution too. This one was right in the middle of the range.

AS for the True Test strips for the True2go, i have 2 new vials up for grabs. I just haven't sent them in to the supply closet yet, wasn't sure anyone would want them. ;-)
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

I was so heartbroken when I realized it was the meter, not Magnolia's pancreas! I threw out the meter and a bunch of strips. I wouldn't want that to happen to anyone else!

It sounds like your strips are good. Hopefully resetting it will help.
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

Just tested again w/ the Maxima and the OTU and had exactly the same reading, 111. So the readings are accurate. I hope it was the battery thing, I also blew out the strip port in case there was some dust (how could that happen around here :o )

I know the feeling of seeing the numbers go up after changing meters. At least there wasn't the panic any more about hypo numbers that weren't really down that low.
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

When so many decisions are made and actions taken based on those numbers, it is surely a relief to know that you have verified with different meters and come to the same number.
I am glad you were able to double check.
 
Re: 3/4 Tess AMPS~111

(((Ann & Tess)))

Nice pretty Blue good girl.. but I think Green will look even better on you!! :-D

Wishing you both a fabulous evening surf & cheering you on!!

:RAHCAT T :RAHCAT E :RAHCAT S :RAHCAT S
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top