3/4 - Scooter - AMPS 331

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
Scooter's been bouncing like mad lately, he'll drop to green and then bounce to pink-yellow for 2 days... drop to green again... rinse and repeat. I can't imagine that feels good, but... at least the greens are a good sign right? I wish there was a way to stop the bouncyness... is there anything I can do? Does his dose seem OK or should I put him back up to 2.25?

I was very sick yesterday, I don't know what it is... but every once in a while I get this stomach sickness. I eat something, a trigger food of some kind maybe, and my stomach just refuses to digest it... it sits in there and goes rancid and I get these awful burps that taste and smell terrible, almost like sulfur. About 12 hours later it finally decides to digest the rotten food and I get severe stomach cramps, loud gurgling, gas, and eventually very bad diarrhea. The whole ordeal lasts about 24 hours. It's happened twice in the past month. I'm going to talk to a doc about it when I get a chance to.

So that's why my AM shot was 2 hours early yesterday. I was feeling too awful to stay awake so I shot Scooter early and went to sleep. I think Scooter knew I was sick, because he slept in bed the whole time with me. I woke up in time to do a spot check at +5 and he was 72, so I fed him and we went back to bed until just a few hours ago. By then he had bounced back up. And now he's still in the high 200's because of the bounce.

I will be filling in this thread with his AMPS when the time rolls around today, because his shot schedule is still all wacky that isn't for another 5 hours. I just wanted to put this thread up while everyone is here for the morning.

Scooter found out that our bedroom had a window the other day, I opened up the blinds for some light and he went bananas... he loves windows but he's never really made a move to go outside.

IMG_3311.jpg


He's also a bedhog....

IMG_3321.jpg
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

what made you decrease the dose on 2/27? the 56? you want to see a number below 50 before you decrease.

so a couple of things.

you can try to change scooter's feeding schedule so you divide whatever you would normally give into 4 mini meals at each cycle = preshot, +1, +2, +3 and see if that flattens him out any.

actually i would go back up to that 2.25 dose and wait til you see a number under 50 to decrease. the bouncing usually lessens as they hit the lower numbers more. remember your goal following the TR is to get the cat's BG between 50-100 and have it stay there as much as possible.

there might be some effect now from the shot being 2 hours early as well. if you go back to your regular time tonight, he'll have had a 14 hour cycle today instead of a 12 hour cycle. i understand you needed to do it, i'm just saying you may see some wonkiness because of it.

sorry you're having such problems - that is no fun. hope you're feeling better soon. love the peacock (or is that a bird of paradise?) on your wall - it's just beautiful. scooter looks very comfy! :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

I love that pic of Scooter in front of the window! You're lucky is one of those who doesn't try to out. Weezer is like that, but our civie, Doobie, sneaks out every once in awhile. He doesn't like it outside though. He runs back and forth in front of the house and you can tell from his body language he is screaming "Oh cr@p! I did it again!! Let me in!!!"

The early shot you gave would act like a dose increase, so that may have played a part in the 72. I hope you are feeling better now.
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

It's really tough to measure a .25 dose because we don't have half unit syringes, so we were struggling to get a consistent 2.25... after he hit the 56 I didn't want to be worrying about accidentally giving him something like a 2.40 and that being all it took to make him hypo, but with these consistent good non-hypo greens I think we could up it again.

I'm OK with bumping the time back, the time before was like 3PM/3AM and that was awful to try and make a coherent spreadsheet out of.

And I love the peacocks too. I love birds in general. I have a lot of peacocks and owls around the house. I have two of those plaster plaques, one on each side of the bed. Just one of the few thrift store treasures I've found :)
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

Oh sorry I missed your post Linda, thankfully Scooter has been an indoor cat all his life I think, and he has no desire to go outside... sitting in the window is enough for him. Unfortunately our bedroom window doesn't have much of a view, all you can see is our parking spot and the back alleyway. The living room window is his favorite because the ledge is deep enough for him to lay on.

Come spring time we are going to buy him a harness so we can take him out in the yard and see what he thinks :) I think the snow would scare him too bad right now.
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

i know what you mean on the .25u! they are hard to read. if you haven't seen the pictures, there are micro-dosing pictures on the "new to the group" sticky. it helped me to read the description of seeing space/light around the plunger in addition to just seeing the pics.

overall, i think scooter's doing really well. the bouncing is a problem for many cats. punkin's into it in full swing right now. i'm just starting to try the minimeals as well.

for your timing and the ss - it doesn't matter what time you shoot, start with whatever the closest to morning is on your left and then go across the page. do you know what i mean? actually, as long as it works for you, whatever is fine - it's just that many cats go lower at night and it makes some sense, i suppose, to have that be the cycle on the right just because that's where everyone else's is. i was just pointing out that if you saw wonky numbers today or tomorrow, it might be related to the early shot.
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

The spreadsheet problem was that when I started we were doing a 11AM/11PM thing, AM was on the left, PM was on the right, and the time of day matched up to that. Slowly and especially because of the hospitalization, the AMPS on the SS ended up being in the PM, and the PM in the AM... so it got really confusing when I was making threads :?

LOL... my moms cat is like that... squawks at the door to go out, 5 mins later wants back in... has a bite to eat, wants back out... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

ah, gotcha. i might just insert an empty line and say whatever the new one is. one half would be empty, but it wouldn't matter. whatever works for you is what's most important.

heehee love the pic. dogs are like that too.
 
Re: 3/4 - Scooter - Recap of yesterday (for now)

I hope Scooter starts to settle down into a smaller range of lower numbers soon. I know it's frustrating when they're all over the place. He's such a pretty cat! I love seeing pictures of everyone's cats.
Have you ever tried acidopholus or a probiotic for your tummy difficulties? I'm often beset with digestive issues myself (I've even had pancreatitis!) but I seem to do a bit better when I take them consistently. There are several different ones, they're also called "digestive enzymes." They basically help the stomach break down and digest food more efficiently. You take them with your meals.
 
I tried probiotic yogurt last time I got sick and it helped a bit, but it was a Saturday and the bus schedule is so crappy I didn't want to deal with going out to get anything. I might see if I can find something both for myself and Scooter when I get a chance though.

AMPS 331, same as yesterday... blah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top