3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS95 +2.5 63 +5.5 124 PMPS 327 +3 283 +5 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65228

Ruby just tested at 87.
Green first thing in the AM...

I haven't fed her anything yet. Do I stall and see where she's going before I feed her?

+12 87
+12.25 88
AMPS 95
+1 106
+2 72 little food with gravy
+2.5 63 little food with gravy
+3 75
+3.5 85 little food with gravy
+4 75 little food
+4.5 89
+5 108
+5.5 124
+6.5 142
+7.5 248
+10 352
PMPS 327
+3 283
+5 248
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 87 - Need dosing help!

If it was me, I would stall for 15 or 20 minutes, test again, and if she is surfing or rising, go ahead and shoot.
You will be feeding her when you shoot which should bring up her numbers, and the onset of the insulin isn't usually until +2. You have HC and lost of strips if you need them, right?
Let me know what you decide to do.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 87 - Need dosing help!

Dyana! I'm glad you're here.

I test her again. Its been almost 15 minutes. I've got lots of HC & strips.
This is the first green she's had at PS time.

I'm using an AlphaTrack so on a regular meter she'd probably be in the 60s.
I should have stayed up and tested her more last night!
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 87 +15 min 88

Okay, so she's surfing.
This is my thinking. I don't really like stalling because it messes with your schedule, and the dose when you give it is like a reduction (because it's late), and often the cat just goes lower because of lack of food and then the stall is prolonged, and sometimes the dose is even skipped.
I think you should either shoot now (you are on a very low dose, and you have what you need to bring her up if you need to) or stall for 15 more minutes. It's your choice. I think if you stall for 15 more minutes you'll find that she is still surfing, but cats do like to surprise us.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 87 +15 min 88

Its only 5 minutes until the +30 minutes so I can wait.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 87 +30 min 95

Ok, +30 minutes 95

Once I feed her, she'll be over 150 before long.
Should I feed her, shoot her and check her at +1
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 87 +30 min 95

That sounds like a plan.
You can change your Subject line to be something like 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95
See you at +1. :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95

Change made.

Thanks!

The stalling might not have been a bad thing because there is a possibility I might need to stay a little late at work tomorrow night. If not, then I can start scooting her back to the right time.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95

Very nice shooting!!

Whenever you shoot a low number, you want to get a +1 and a +2 to start.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95

You might want to do a test at +0.5, but it does look like she's rising and the food will help. It's up to you.
Nice exciting morning, for you, huh? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95

Definitely not what I was expecting to find when I got up, that's for sure!

I should have tested her again after that 156 at +5.5 last night. I was trying to cut her a break from all the testing and go to bed a bit early myself. :roll:
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95

arozeboom said:
Definitely not what I was expecting to find when I got up, that's for sure!

I should have tested her again after that 156 at +5.5 last night. I was trying to cut her a break from all the testing and go to bed a bit early myself. :roll:
Don't feel bad. We've all done it. Now, you have all the energy you need (from the extra sleep) to handle this excitement :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95

Ru is pretty hungry. She's eating more of her breakfast than normal (she normally eats about half at first, then goes back off and on thru out the day). Is that ok? She's probably eaten about 2/3 of it.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95

It's fine. Just keep an eye on her numbers. Cats are frequently hungry when they are running in low numbers so she may be telling you something.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95 +1 106

+1 106
A little lower than where I thought she would be.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) +12 87, +12.25 88, AMPS 95 +1 106

That's a nice +1. Looks like she's still surfing :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 Give her HC??

That is a decent drop. How about a little LC with a bit of HC gravy poured over the top?
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 Give her HC??

That's what I did. She only had about a Tablespoon left of her breakfast. I mixed in about 1/8 teaspoon of gravy and she ate about half of that.

I take that back...she ate all of it in the time it took me to type that.

Back in 30 min.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 Give her HC??

Nice shooting this morning! :thumbup Keep testing frequently. That 72 is a reduction on the A Track meter. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72

Right now she's getting a fat .5. Should I go skinny .5 tonight or lower?

She's one happy camper after that gravy mixed in with her regular food. Her ears are all perked up and her eyes all big and happy.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72

arozeboom said:
She's one happy camper after that gravy mixed in with her regular food. Her ears are all perked up and her eyes all big and happy.
Happy Happy Cat :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Let's see how the day and cycle plays out, and talk about the new dose later.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

+2.5 63 :shock:

I'm going back in with more gravy.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

Try just gravy this time. You don't want her too full, so she'll eat more later, if we need her to.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

Got it!
Maybe she's doing this just to get more gravy. ;-)
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

She's certainly getting all your attention.
I'd test again in about 20 minutes. That 63 is like a 33 on a human glucometer.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

If she goes down again, we're probably going to be adding a drop or two of karo. You have karo, or honey?
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

I agree with Dyana, give just gravy, a tsp or two. It works more quickly. I would get another test 20 minutes after the gravy, if any lower or still below 70, add a drop of karo to the gravy next time.

Breathe....you're doing great. Dyana is giving you good info. :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

Great job this morning. Just checking in, too, in case Dyana or Laurie have to leave.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63 +2.75 75

+2.75 75
going up a little.

More food or wait a bit and test again?

Thanks everyone for being around this morning! I'm not in panic mode yet. If I had a human meter and saw what numbers would be coming up on that one, I probably would be though. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63!

That's good, I would give her more gravy...it's early in the cycle, I would try to bump her up a little more. Test again in 20 minutes.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63 +2.75 75

You're going to have one happy cat if she likes her gravy :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63 +2.75 75

Oh, she loves that gravy!

What's the best way to separate the gravy from the "morsels"? Do you add some water? Its a bit thick and hard to separate.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63 +2.75 75

looking great amy! good job shooting - the LL mantra "shoot low to stay low!" amazing how well ruby is doing on the lantus and TR protocol. she had a long haul getting here.

you're doing great.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63 +2.75 75

I always used the can lid to squeeze out the gravy into a separate container. You can also use a fine strainer.

ETA: I would separate the gravy when I opened the can....once you put it in the fridge, it gets harder to separate. ;-)
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +1 106 +2 72 +2.5 63 +2.75 75

+3.5 85

I'm losing track of the hours...I think its +3.5
I'll figure that out shortly.

She's looking a bit worn out right now. Should I worry about that?
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +2.75 75 +3.5 85

She's probably wore out from all the attention she's been getting for the past four hours :smile:
I think you can give her a teaspoon of the food with the gravy, now. The food will help her to sustain the surf better.

Great Job, by the way.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +2.75 75 +3.5 85

I feel so bad for all the poking in her little ears. They're so pink and sore looking, even though I use a new lancet and put on a little neosporin with pain relief every time. I also alternate ears. Her left one is much easier to get blood from.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +2.75 75 +3.5 85

Great job of steering the curve. I think you can probably test every 30 min. You want to keep Ruby's numbers above 80. (It usually takes at least 20 - 30 min. to see a change in numbers, although this varies from cat to cat.)
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +2.75 75 +3.5 85 +4 75

+4 75

Back down again. More food & gravy?
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +2.75 75 +3.5 85 +4 75

NICE SHOOTING, AMY!!!!!!!

AND WHAT A GORGEOUS SURF, RUBY!
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +2.75 75 +3.5 85 +4 75

We need one of those little smiley guys of a cat on a surfboard.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +2.75 75 +3.5 85 +4 75

SurfCat.jpg


Yes, I think a little more food. And a test in 30.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +3.5 85 +4 75 +4.5 89

+4.5 89

This is the longest run of green she's had. I'm betting she spent a few hours there overnight as well. I know have Beach Boys songs in my head.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +3.5 85 +4 75 +4.5 89

Keep Surfing, Ruby.
felix_the_surf_cat_wh_bg.jpg

You're doing Great.
 
Re: 3/4 Ruby (AT) AMPS 95 +2.5 63 +3.5 85 +4 75 +4.5 89

This is very nice, you're doing great! I would print out that link that Sienne posted for you, it's really good to keep it handy! Test, feed as necessary, wait 30 minutes, test again....lather, rinse, repeat!

Surf, Ruby, surf! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top