3/4 Rocky PMPS 454 +1 503 +7 330 +11 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114802

It is hard to make oneself get up at 3:30am, at 4am not much easier. But I did get up at 4:30am to get BG reading for Rocky, and then again got up at 6am to do another test. I was pleasantly surprised that at the 4:30am test his BG was 185. So he did come down from those 300s.

It would be wonderful if Rocky's liver could learn to surf today.

Rocky recap of yesterday:
AMPS 281
+2 250
+4 283
+6 316
+10 325
+11 301
PMPS 325
+2 273
+4 185
+5.30 213
+11 188
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86

Hi Sandy,

That number was a pleasant surprise at his AMPS, as well as the number at 4:30am this morning. I-)

Not sure, haven't checked Rocky's SS chart yet, BUT, could this be the FIRST TIME that Rocky goes lower after his AM shot, his BG 86 after his morning meal-- and then his liver finally learns how to surfs? :shock: :lol: I'll recheck at +3 just to make sure Rocky, that you aren't doing a too deep dive into those green pastures. That was a HUGE DIVE from a BG 160 to 86 in just 2 hours.. nailbite_smile Which means, I am told many times by my new friends here, a likely BOUNCE coming very soon. :sad:

I DID just feed him his 2nd 0% carb meal of the day at +2 as well. So, if his number continues to fall at +3, maybe be going into emergency HC mode.

Oh Rocky Boy, your liver always does amaze me, and constantly keeps me on my toes, bcatrun_gif , but I still love you very much my boy! cat_pet_icon

(P.S...I put the elated green smile on the post to show that I am pleased, but might have to yank it off soon.)
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45

Drats.. BG of 45 at +3.. one half after his 2nd meal of the day. Just gave him (1)TBS of HC Friskies with no Karo. Will retest in 15 - 20 minutes.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45

What's up there, Rocky? You and Max are duck diving today! Up a bit more, please and then hold it steady.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45

Good call on the HC. I'll be watching for your next test result. Up please Rocky! And congrats on the reduction. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45 + 3.45 55

Tara and Wendy,

I will retest in another 15 mins. because I gave him only the (1)TBS of HC Friskies. I don't know if that was enough to keep him up or if it's going to fall again as soon as that HC wears off. My gut is that he will go lower. I don't know why, but it would be nice if he could go up a little bit higher and then coast along like that until PMBG...

Of course because Rocky is getting a reducie, and if he somehow managed to stay in the blues or greens by PMPS, I wouldn't know what to do for him next. :roll: But that is probably too much to even hope for since Rocky has a history of climbing into the 400s after a deep diving act. :roll:
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45 + 3.45 55

Great to see the 50's! Would he eat a bit of his regular LC food? It'd be great to get him surfing there, but I'd test again in 1/2 hour to makes sure he stays up.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45 + 3.45 55

Yes Wendy, Rocky would definitely eat some of his normal LC food. Nothing wrong with this boy's appetite. If he drops back down under 50 I will treat him to (1)TBS of his LC food. Good idea. I don't think I've tried giving him his LC food when he does a dive. :cool:
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45 + 3.45 55

Since it's daytime and you are around, an LC experiment could be OK to see how carb sensitive he is. Some people only need a higher carb LC to bring their cats up. But it is still early in the cycle. Just don't give him too much unless by some miracle he fills up. :lol:
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45 + 3.45 55 +4.15 47

He has dropped to 47, so under 50 again. I just fed him (1)TBS of his LC. It was a 1/2 can that I had already added (2)TBS of water to it from this morning. I couldn't use it because I accidentally heated it up in the microwave for 40 seconds... would have burned his mouth pretty bad, way too hot. I had to open another can and start over.

In the past, I was guesstimating how much HC Friskies but for the past few deep diving excursions I have used a regular measuring spoon for the accuracy of (1) TBS.

Rocky seems to be hoovering around that bg of 50, as he did before about five days ago on 2/28. I am trying to keep him just above 50, as you suggested. The longer he can stay in the greens without going under, the better at retraining his liver.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45 + 3.45 55 +4.15 47

Just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water...surf it Rocky!!
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 160 +2 86 +3 45 + 3.45 55 +4.15 47

Hey Rocky, the 90's are as healing as the 50's! And easier on the bean. Tina, no need to keep low.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +3 45 + 3.45 55 +4.15 47 +5 45

OMG.. @-) :o :shock:
I FORGOT to give Rocky his emergency LC at the reading of 47..​

How did that happen? Oh, I was doing a load of laundry, feeding kittens, renewing a car registration online, and I thought I had already brought him his meal. ohmygod_smile

When I went in to check on him again, I noticed that there was NO BOWL IN HIS ROOM! YIKES!! I could have just killed him.. :sad:

Well, it's good thing his BG dropped ONLY two points in that near hour.. man on man.. what is wrong with me. @-)
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +3 45 + 3.45 55 +4.15 47 +5 45

Wendy, I was afraid to spike his BG with the HC.. I thought it was better to keep him coasting at a little above 50? Actually, I don't know how much to feed him to keep him at 90, rather than say, 425... :roll:

This is trial by fire. He is still eating the LC very well.

So, when the BG is this low, does that mean that the juice is working, or something else going on with his liver?
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +3 45 + 3.45 55 +4.15 47 +5 45

Good grief Rocky ! :cool:

I'd say the juice is working. . .(I'm sure you will hear from his liver later)
 
3/4 Rocky AMPS +3 45 + 3.45 55 +4.15 47 +4.45 45 + 5 47 +5.3

My numbers/times were messed up. I've corrected them.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 5.30 53 +6 63 +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112

There it is.. above 100. Now I can go feed the community cats. Four hours until next shot time. I will reduce by .5?

So, Rocky is bumped back to 1.5u? Shot and dinner time is at 10:30pm PST.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS 5.30 53 +6 63 +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112

You would reduce by .25U to 1.5U tonight. Unless he skyrockets (high pinks or worse) between now and PS time, in which case you could shoot the bounce. Do a one time only dose of 1.75U tonight and go to 1.5U tomorrow morning.

Good luck on the new dose. :-D
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6 63 +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289

Thank you Wendy. :YMHUG:

His BG is really climbing now. 'Will be interesting to see where it is at shot time in two hours.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6 63 +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289

It sure looks like Rocky is bouncing.

I'm curious as to how you're writing out your +times. When I see +6.30, I read that as 20 min after your +6. If you mean 30 min. after your +6, that would be +6.5. So,
  • +6.25 = 15 min after your +6
  • +6.5 = 30 min after +6
  • +6.75 = 45 min after +6
  • +6.3 = 20 min after +6
  • +6.6 = 40 min after +6
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6 63 +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289

Good job today, Tina.

Looks like Mr. L has entered the party. Good luck with the reduction.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289 +10 368

He's now at 368.. but that is a bounce, right? That means I'm suppose to shot the same 1.75u tonight, and hopefully lower the insulin dose to 1.5u tomorrow.

Sienna then I have written all of my times wrong. Mostly I was checking every 1/2 hour and 15 minutes with Rocky today. Yes, I was writing the half our as ".30".. Looks like I will need to go back and change that throughout all of his SS chart.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289 +10 368

Yes...that is a bounce and yes you can shoot through the bounce with 1.75u tonight and reduce to 1.5u in the morning.

Good job today!
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289 +10 368

Yes, it is a bounce.

As Wendy mentioned, he has earned a reduction. However, if he climbs to high pink or greater for PMPS, you could employ the 'shoot through the bounce' technique.
Which is to hold the dose and take the reduction next cycle.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289 +10 368

Thank you Wendy, Marje, and Sandy!

Ok so I will plan to shot through this bounce with the 1.75u, unless he drops to somewhere in the 200s in the next 1/2 hour. In which case, I think I'm suppose to drop the dose to 1.50u. Mostly likely though his BG will continue to climb though because of all of those hours Mr. Lover spent in green today, as well as because he a few spoonfuls the HC Friskies. But at +5 I started feeding him his LC food for the low BG, I may have even started feeding him the LC somewhere in +4.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky AMPS +6.30 66 +7 67 +8 112 9.30 289 +10 368

You got it! :-D On the plus side, Rocky's SS is seeing some nice long stretches of healing green lately.
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky PMPS 454

YIKES!! 454!!

I gave him the 1.75u shot.

It looks like someone will be getting some sleep tonight. That someone would be me. I-)
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky PMPS 454 +1 503

Is there anything I can do next time, to try to prevent that high of a bounce? Jeez.. I was going to go to bed but now I'm wanting to stay up just to see how high his BG goes.. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/4 Rocky PMPS 454 +1 503

I would definitely go to bed now. Get sleep while you can. Not much you can do at this point except maybe play with him a lot so he burns off some energy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top