3/4 Mouzer: Restart Shot - PMPS 367

Cherryl & Mouzer

Member Since 2017
Mouzer has come out of remission. A Lantus SoloStar Pen is here now and I would like to start his first dose at 9pm EST.
I have the half unit scale syringes. I want to make sure I understand before I do first dose.

Is this correct...
I am to start with 0.5 unit, which is the first half line from zero? And do this the first week, then get advice on whether to decrease or increase by 0.25 unit.
I am asking because the video is blurry and I am not able to see the markings on the syringe very well.
I am going by the photo that is supplied in sticky notes.

Also, once I do the dose, I recall in past that with first post in thread we are to also indicate how much food was eaten at what time of day --
And edit first post throughout the day with bg level and food intake information.
Is this still how this is to be done? And I am asking because I have poked around and I am not seeing that this is being done, so not sure.

I did a no insulin curve on Mouzer yesterday. The spreadsheet has documentation from past, so if you look, you have to scroll way down to find where I put dark red all across in boxes and started this new go at that point.
 
Last edited:
Sorry he’s out of remission. Has he been to the vet to make sure he doesn’t have an infection or issue with his teeth? I think that would be the correct starting dose but others will chime in.
 
Sorry to see you and Mouzer back. Could you start a new tab for 2021? Details here.

Any idea why Mouzer fell out of remission?

Here is the post on how we like people to post. POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ New people aren't always good at doing that. So thanks for considering it. You can put details of food in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet and even put a * in the cells you feed if that helps you with timing.
 
Thank You. I have read the posting guidelines but did not see mention of placing food intake within thread, so was not sure if that is still what I am to do, being as it was never in the guidelines to begin with but it was being done in past.

I do not know how Mouzer fell out of remission unless he got a hold of the dry food that I put out for other kitties.
I try watching him but things get very hectic in dealing with many cats, so it is possible he snuck into the food before I got it put away.
I am not able to be home three and four nights in the week to see what takes place in the morning times, while my husband is getting ready for work, and there is dry food in his room. Mouzer could have snuck into my husband's room. I have told my husband not to let that big blue cat in there but I cannot say that did not happen. Since Mouzer is out of remission, I am trying to figure how to work this where there is no dry food left out until I get home. All cats will have to just be hungry until Mouzer eats.

Whatever I have done messing with the SS, the 'template' feature at the bottom is no longer there :D

I do still want confirmation that I am to do first dose with 0.5 unit, which is first half line from zero -
And this dose is for first week -- and then get advise on increase or decrease?
I would like to start first dose at 9pm est tonight, but I wont start a dose without confirmation.
 
Last edited:
Hi Cheryl, sorry your kitty is out of remission. :( I'm tagging Bhooma here @Bandit's Mom who is a whiz at helping members with their spreadsheets. She's in India so she may not respond until later tonight.

As for the correct starting dose, your case is tricky because you're not sure if Mouzer is getting into dry food. .5 units (yes, it's the first line on the left) might be the safest bet, but I'll let more experienced members advise. Here's an excerpt from the Dosing Methods sticky for SLGS:

Starting Dose:
    • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
    • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet
 
Hi Cheryl, sorry your kitty is out of remission. :( I'm tagging Bhooma here @Bandit's Mom who is a whiz at helping members with their spreadsheets. She's in India so she may not respond until later tonight.

As for the correct starting dose, your case is tricky because you're not sure if Mouzer is getting into dry food. .5 units (yes, it's the first line on the left) might be the safest bet, but I'll let more experienced members advise. Here's an excerpt from the Dosing Methods sticky for SLGS:

Starting Dose:
    • 1u BID if kitty is not on a wet/canned low carb diet
    • 0.5u BID if kitty has been switched to a wet/canned low carb diet


Thank You! I am picking up the dry food from my husband's room. There will be no dry for Mouzer to get into.
I will start with the 0.5.

I am currently removing all information from 2017 and 2018 and going to move current to the top, but this is going to take a while to remove all of that information and recolor the boxes back to white by hand. There is information on the 2017 sheet that I want to keep -- The way it is set up was done by Margie and I do not want to lose what she put in for me And I have information in notes to help me remember things I need to know, so I dont want to lose that.
 
Last edited:
Thank You! I am picking up the dry food from my husband's room. There will be no dry for Mouzer to get into.
I will start with the 0.5.

I am currently removing all information from 2017 and 2018 and going to move current to the top, but this is going to take a long time to remove all of that information and recolor the boxes back to white by hand. There is information on the 2017 sheet that I want to keep -- The way it is set up was done by Margie and I do not want to lose what she put in for me And I have information in notes to help me remember things I need to know, so I dont want to lose that.
Don't remove anything! Hold off until Bhooma can help you. Agreed that the information is important to keep. :)
 
Don't remove anything! Hold off until Bhooma can help you. Agreed that the information is important to keep. :)

I have it all done. I checked the link and it goes to now.
I just have some relatively big boxes left behind and I dont know how to make them go back to the size they were before information was ever put in, but they are empty boxes, so it will do hahaahaha
 
Last edited:
Since you do have possible dry food in the picture, yes, start with 1/2 unit and hold the dose for a week, unless Mouzer goes under 90.
 
Since you do have possible dry food in the picture, yes, start with 1/2 unit and hold the dose for a week, unless Mouzer goes under 90.

There is no dry food anywhere now hahaha and I have some cats questioning its whereabouts but they will all just have to wait and eat when Mouzer eats, that way I am right there on top, cat-sitting with Mouzer :D
Being as there is no dry food for Mouzer to get into, I gave 0.5
If there was dry food, that would be the 1u.
I just wanted to double check if same is for a kitty coming out of remission.
 
Last edited:
I just have some relatively big boxes left behind and I dont know how to make them go back to the size they were before information was ever put in, but they are empty boxes, so it will do hahaahaha

Hi, I have sent you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account associated with the SS. Check the spam folder as well since it sometimes goes straight there! :-)
 
Hi, I have sent you a request for edit access to your SS. It will come to the gmail account associated with the SS. Check the spam folder as well since it sometimes goes straight there! :)

A little box area came up, I sent to you - I guess that is accepting hahaha
Let me know if there is something more I need to do.

When I first was to make a new SS, I clicked on TEMPLATE at the bottom of original SS. I wanted a duplicate of 2017, so I could keep the way it is set up and also keep notes with me. I went back and did duplicate of 2017. I clicked on TEMPLATE again and a new SS was created and I deleted it because it did not have the set up or information I want to keep from 2017.
After I deleted that new SS, the TEMPLATE feature has disappeared from the bottom.
I removed all info on duplicate 2017 that I did not need and copied and pasted what I want to keep, placed at the beginning of the sheet. I renamed it 2021.
Can you see if you can get the TEMPLATE feature put back?
And down on the sheet, where no information has been added, but I did take out previous year's information and it left some boxes real big.
And I thank you for any help in this. This is something I do not think I will ever grasp :)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top