3/4 Miles PMPS 401

Chris and Miles

Member Since 2020
Previous thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-3-miles-amps-360-3-263-pmps-257.244023/

Well I feel quite confident about this morning's shot if nothing else. Took some bits of TP for the purpose of only cleaning off the end of needles. Just used the pen needle to give the 1.0 shot. Will have to read over the syringe instructions on the package and here at some point soon, and I guess I have extra insulin in my pen because all the leftover will go to waste after 28 days.

I did get a pic last night at the pharmacy of how they sell Lantus. It was all in boxes and I'm not sure if any of it was pens. Will post it later.
 
Your Lantus lasts much longer than 28 days! That's only for humans who doesn't store it in the fridge.
Just use the pen up.
 
Yeeees but since I read that the device doesn't work properly if it's stored in the fridge (or, at least, right up until injection time), I haven't been storing it in the fridge.
 
If you buy syringes you can use the pen to the last drop and store it in the fridge. You really need to get syringes because we change doses based upon .25 increments and less even most of the time. You can get syringes with half unit markings in Ontario.

It looks like you need to increase but not by a full unit.
 
Yes, I got all that - but when I started out I didn't have syringes so I decided there wasn't any point in keeping it in the fridge - I would just "eat" the loss of the remaining insulin after 28 days. I only just got some syringes and I don't know how to use em yet.
 
Yes, I got all that - but when I started out I didn't have syringes so I decided there wasn't any point in keeping it in the fridge - I would just "eat" the loss of the remaining insulin after 28 days. I only just got some syringes and I don't know how to use em yet.


Have you seen this? We can start to increase after you look at tge videos and are ready to use the syringe.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/
 
Have you seen this? We can start to increase after you look at tge videos and are ready to use the syringe.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...info-proper-handling-drawing-fine-dosing.151/

Yes, thanks!

Your post also spurred me to check which products the person at the pharmacy had shown me - I only took a photo last night. They have all three of the options available for Lantus listed in that article. On that note:


Does anyone here have experience drawing insulin from the refill cartridges - is the "interface" as easy as with the pen? (Setting the question icon on this thread for this question)
 
Yes, drawing from cartridges is like with pens. Cartridges are pen refills, just less waste material than getting the pen itself. And they were a bit cheaper.
 
Hi Chris & Miles! Hope you all had a wonderful day :bighug: You didn't shoot last night, right? In the units cell for last night, write "NS" (instead of 1.0; NS = No Shot). Good luck with all of your scavenging for supplies :bighug:
 
Hi JaxBenji, thanks for the well wishes. Honestly I'm just worn the heck out tonight
you are welcome :bighug: hang in there. one day at a time. I promise it gets easier. And people here like to remind each other a cat is more than just their numbers - Miles is so lucky having you looking out for him :bighug:
 
Back
Top