3/4 Michelangelo AMPS 186, +4/311

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

Wow! Just realized I haven't been on since Thursday!

RubenTheCat said:
oh kpassa, i feel your frustration. stay the course. i don't have one but i hear calipers help with the measurements
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79851&p=862883&hilit=+caliper#p862883
remember what your father says... ;-)

I tried using the calipers, but I'm too OCD to wait for myself to get it measured up perfectly to my satisfaction. I found out overfilling just a teensy bit and then twisting out drops is a lot easier and faster to do for me (no exactness required).

And in this instance, it's not the uncertainty of the future that is killing me, it's the PATIENCE! I'm needing some patience pants right now more than anything else, I think. :lol: I feel like I've got to be doing something wrong because everyone else seems to get it down in a couple of weeks or a month or two. I've been going at this since the beginning of October and have yet to see him in consistently good numbers.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Mikey, IMHO, isn't quite at being regulated. I posted the quote just to point out that even in a cat that is in a desirable BG range, you may need to make periodic dose adjustments. In addition, there is that LL truism -- sometime you have to take the dose up in order to get the numbers to come down.

The last month or so, he's finally been holding fairly regular greens and blues without needing a dose increase (that's what I meant by almost regulated). This is the closest we've ever been to "normal diabetic range" and I just want to cry sometimes like today when his AMPS number looked so good that I thought we might be able to carry it through till onset, which would keep him going in the good range. Instead, he throws out a 311 at his +4 on me. :cry:

I did return him back to his 2u dose, though. (Is that what you meant by taking the dose up?)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top