3/4 Max PMPS 97 +1=101 +2=80+3=66+4=71+5=105

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
The good news is no vomiting this morning and he was trying to catch a bug. Bad news is he wouldn't go in the box with the plastic last night so no test. I put it back in now and covered it with some litter so hopefully that will work before I need to leave. He as 3 1/2 hours and he just ate. At first I was getting really scared because when he started his usual meowing for food, I called him and he wouldn't get on the bed. He did later and got on my chest for petting and head butting as usual. I wouldn't wish this journey on my worst enemy. It is such a scary disease. I had no idea. People I know just gave their cats shots and never thought about it. Then they would go in for an occasional curve. If I had gone that route I don't think Max would be here. I hope all your kitties are giving you nice numbers. I pray Max will start that again.

I did give him a few pieces of freeze dried chicken, nothing but chicken as it is a human food without even salt added, about a little over an hour before his AMPS. I knew we didn't have to worry about low numbers, :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease

Hi guys .. I hope that max uses the LB with the plastic in it for you .. and I agree, FD is a scary disease .. but being here makes it sooo much easier to deal with .. I couldn't have imagined doing all this on our own .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease

I'm glad there is no vomiting today. It is scary to deal with and I'm so glad I have the people on here to help, just scary to think what may have happened if we didn't find this board and all the wonderful info!

Trying to catch pee in my house is a royal pain sometimes too :roll: ! I hope you can manage to get enough for a test soon. Good luck with the dosecrease :-D I hope you and Max have a great day.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease +3=200

Agreed, Rachel. Now we have a 140 point drop and that is after getting insulin and eating. I suppose that means a bounce will likely follow? I will be gone from 10:45-1:15 and will test again when I return. So far he hasn't used his box again. I'm going to give him some more food.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease +3=200 +6=40

Max was 200 at +4. Now he is 40 at +6. I gave him a little higher carb food which he ate and then some of his normal food which he is eating.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease +3=200 +6=40

Wow! That's quite a drop there Max! Hopefully, you're in the homestretch. Time to flatten out, lil man. You need not worry your mamabean like that.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease +3=200 +6=40

Good catch Elise! :o :mrgreen: I'd test again in 20-30 minutes and see how he is doing. Up please Max! Congrats on the reduction.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 inc +3=200 +6=40+6.5=49

Really. He has been so high I was worried about ketones. Then one shot and he goes down like this. Now I don't know what his dose will be. How do you all get through these highs and lows without going insane?
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49

This is soooo confusing. We just increased today and all he got was the one dose this morning. So this means we go back to the 1.75 that wasn't bringing him down at all and making us fear ketones. This disease makes no sense at all.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49

Who said I was sane? :lol: :lol: Seriously though, once you've done this a few times, it does get easier. There's a saying here that sometimes a cat needs to go up to go down. It's like they need a little reminder. I've seen it many times with Neko where I've had to go up, then when I go back down things smooth out a bit.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49

This is not for the faint of heart that much I know!!! :lol:
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49

Good job getting him up a bit. Will he eat a little more HC or medium carb food? Maybe a tsp? You don't want too much carbs in the last half of the cycle but you do want him out of the 40's.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49

Up to you, but it takes 20-30 minutes for carbs to go from the plate to the blood stream. So if it's been 20 minute you could test again, then feed. If he's up over 50, you could switch to low carb.
 
Re: 2/4Max/Elise AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49

Tested again. At +7 hours he is now 72. TG I have this testing down. He is being really good. These terumo 24g needles are much better for this than the 22g.
 
Re: 2/4Max AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49 +7=72

Fabulous! Could you take down the 911 now? You and Max are doing well. :-D You could give him a little LC if you want, or not - it is getting alter in the cycle. I'd still check every 1/2 hour until until he's over 80 and/or 2 hours past his last high carb food, then switch to hourly testing.

I found the smaller gauge pokies made a difference too.
 
Re: 2/4Max AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49 +7=72

Absolutely I will remove the 911. We both thank you for helping us through this!! So we go back to 1.75 tonight, right?

Elise
 
Re: 2/4Max AMPS340 Dosecrease+3=200+6=40+6.5=49 +7=72

Yes, back to 1.75 and all paws crossed he settles down a bit after the bounce is over. Presuming he bounces. Which brings up one option. If Max decides to bounce to the moon tonight (high 300 or 400's) you could give him a one time dose of 2.0 tonight and reduce to 1.75 tomorrow. That is what we call shooting through the bounce. But I'd want him to be high before doing that, cause look what he did with a start of 340. :o
 
2/4Max AMPS340+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7.5=62+8=54

Okay, I will post his number a half hour before insulin. I tested again and he was 54. I fed him now some of his LC food.

Elise
 
Re: 3/4Max Inc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+9=44

The slide is not over. He was 44 at +9 so I just gave him some HC food. I guess I test again in 20-30 minutes?
 
Re: 3/4Max Inc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+9=44

Okay. He didn't eat the food but I will add gravy to it.
 
Re: 3/4Max Inc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+9=44+10=51

His +10 is 51. I wonder when he will go back up. :?
 
Re: 3/4Max Inc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+9=44+10=51

I'd go ahead and give him a little more (2 tsp) HC gravy because after this feeding at +10, we probably don't want to feed unless he drops into the 40s. Retest in 30.

You're doing great.
 
Re: 3/4Max Inc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+9=44+10=51

He didn't want to eat the hc so I gave him some baby food and that way he got more of it. He isn't hungry. He was on my bed so he isn't hiding which is good. Do you want me to remove the 911?
 
Re: 3/4Max Inc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+9=44+10=51

Yes, Elise, thank you...you can remove the 911.

Please retest 30 mins after you fed him which should be about +10.5.
 
Re: 3/4MaxInc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=6

Sorry but the last test before was +9.5. We are now 68 at +10. So now I guess no more tests for 2 hours?
I forgot I was testing every half hour. He gets insulin in two hours if he is up enough.
 
Re: 3/4MaxInc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=6

I'd probably get a +11 if he's tolerating it. He's been wobbly today and you don't want any surprises....like below 40. I don't expect it but it's better to just check him.
 
Re: 3/4MaxInc+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=6

Thank you. I will be back with the results in about 45 minutes.
 
Re: 3/4Max+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+1

There aren't enough spots to record all these tests on the ss so I recorded them earlier than the tests were done. I started testing at +6. His +11 was 88. When is it wise to skip the night shot? I'm guessing he will be bouncing around like crazy the next few days. Then again expect the unexpected seems to apply really well here.
 
Re: 3/4Max+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+1

Let me look at his SS.

Do you have plenty of strips, HC food, karo, etc and if he's still green at PS, can you stay up and test if he doesn't bounce?
 
Re: 3/4Max+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+1

You can stack tests in a cell. For example, last night I had a 56; 56@9.5 in the same +9 cell.

As for shooting tonight, as long as Max is on the rise, you should be good to go. You've shot a 139 before. He's at 88 now and still an hour to go and he'll likely keep rising. We try to encourage people to shoot low to stay low. I would shoot his newly reduced dose. Curves flatten out a lot when your PS time is lower to start with. Take a look at Davidson's SS and how flat his cycles look lately.

And yes, cat's like to do the unexpected. :lol:
 
Re: 3/4Max+3=200+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+1

I'm with Wendy on you shooting the rise if you have supplies and can be up. It's best to take advantage of good Preshots.

Wendy and I are around tonight, too, for a few hours to keep an eye out.
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+11=88PM

He is surfing. That is the same as his +11. Some cats get a little double dip at the end of their Lantus cycle, but not lower than his nadir today. You should be fine to shoot if you have HC, strips and can monitor tonight.
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+11=88PM

I have HC food, 75 or so strips, and Karo. What about stalling? He actually got his shot exactly 12 hours ago right now. My other problem is my mom is not doing well and could end up at the ER. We are trying to keep her out of the hospital but I'm not sure what will happen.
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+11=88PM

The situation with your mom changes things. I hope you don't have to go there. Do you want to try stalling for 1/2 hour without feeding to see where he goes?

I'm doing TFS here - back in a bit.
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+11=88PM

Elise

I hope your mom will be ok.

You can clear out the subject line of numbers and just put +11 88 +12 86

That way we can all see you are stalling.

Keep in mind that because of the depot, you might see the cycle play play put the same no matter what you do....
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=44+9.5=51+10=68+11=88PM

Sounds good. Could you change your first subject line so the PMPS is replaced by a +12. That means you are stalling and haven't shot yet.
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+8.5=49.5=51+10=68+11=88+12=

His BG is 97. We should be okay,right? I keep thinking how he went from 340 down to 40. Which numbers should I erase to make room for the new ones?
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+51+10=68+11=88+12=86+13=97

Yes...I would shoot, feed, and get a +1 and +2.

You can now just put PMPS 97 with the date and his name and take everything else out.

Doing ok?
 
Re: 3/4Max+6=40+6.5=49+7=62+8=54+51+10=68+11=88+12=86+13=97

I'm hanging in there. I just gave him the 1.75 so we are off an hour. I fed him before I gave him the insulin. He ate a little. He is acting fine. More lively actually. I'll test +1 and +2 as you suggest. I guess I better order more test strips. I bought the 5 boxes that I thought would last several months. Right!! Thanks.
 
Re: 2/4 Max PMPS 97

Just checking in to see how it's going. You're doing great, Elise, and couldn't be in better hands. I hope Max settles into his new dose. Sending vines to your Mom, too.
 
Re: 2/4 Max PMPS 97

So far so good. Thanks for asking. She has congestive heart failure, a narrowing valve, and a fever that is draining her and has been going on for 2 weeks. She almost landed in the hospital today but in November she went in and was going to be out in 3 days but caught pneumonia and was there 2 1/2 weeks. The time before they gave her a drug that nearly killed her. My sister lives with her and we have caregivers so it's really hardest on her. We take things day to day. I guess this is way more info than you needed. Thanks for the support. I need to eat something myself now. I'll be back around 9:20.

Thanks Tara.
 
Re: 3/4 Max PMPS 97 +1=101

He's still the same. Should I feed him a little every hour? What does it mean when the writing icon is scrolling?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top