3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87, +1 118, +2 88, +3.5 69, +5 45

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
WCR: A bit more like herself this morning. She refused her AMPS breakfast, I think, because it was cold. So I warmed it up and put it back...I think she is eating it now. She has descended from her tower! She followed me downstairs when I went to get her shot ready. Still no poo, but she's purry and has a bit of prance in her step. No preening yet today, and the pee spots in the LB are starting to get smaller. She still doesn't quite forgive me, but she's decided she will have to tolerate me. I can't wait until I can give her treats again! Life was much easier then.

She doesn't seem to be in any pain this morning. It's only been 48 hours since the dental. Should I lay off the bupe? Or finish out today? I'm torn, I don't want her to be in pain, but don't want to dope her unnecessarily. I wish she could just tell me if she needed it. (yes I just looked over at her to see if the wish came true, and no, it didn't.

Yesterday's Condo

Yesterday Recap:
AMPS 278 (1ml clavamox +2.5)
+2 266 (.2ml bupe)
+6.5 160
PMPS 118 (1ml clavamox)
+1 164
+2 145 (.2ml bupe +2.5)
+4 173
+9 251
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217

I'm glad Magnolia is feeling better. I have a question regarding the dental- how did you decide she needed it? Did your vet advise it? I KNOW my Boomer has really bad teeth. Poor guy, he's only 3 and has had so many freakin' issues! :lol: He's not been to the vet since November when he got diagnosed. What did she need done/are her teeth issues resolved now?
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217

Hi Traci. A vet told me 3 years ago that I needed to have a dental done to clean up all the tartar on her teeth. I didn't believe her, I had grown up with cats and we never had their teeth cleaned. I wish I had listened to that vet!

More recently, yes, a vet told me it needed to be done, but I could clearly see she had trouble in her mouth. Her gums were red, bloody and swollen. The back teeth looked very bad and she had really stinky breath. She had bad gingivitis and tartar buildup. During the procedure, they cleaned her teeth and had to extract 4 (!) The 4 extractions were resorptive lesions (FORLs) where the teeth are in the process of being reabsorbed by the body. They say this is very painful for cats. The process takes a long time. Her teeth were not far enough into this process to do the simpler (?) crown amputation, as the roots were still stable, so all 4 had to be surgically extracted.

$750 later, I sure hope her teeth issues are resolved! The vet said the rest of her teeth looked good once they got them cleaned up and that the extractions went well, no breakage or pieces left behind. She hasn't let me see her new smile just yet. I'm waiting for her to feel better before I go poking around.

I never thought that a cat could have to get its teeth cleaned, but I have learned from this experience. Tartar builds up on their teeth, the same as humans and can foster bacteria. The teeth will start rotting.

The vet tech gave me some kitty toothpaste to start using once she is feeling better. Do you think you can clean Boomer's teeth at home? If you do a google video search of "how to brush a cat's teeth" you will find a number of instructional videos that might help. They have little finger brushes you can use. I don't really know that much about it, but 3 years old seems young to have very bad teeth. I would guess that he wouldn't need any extractions? Maybe he just needs a good cleaning and then you can stay on top of it by keeping the tartar from accumulating? The vet tech also gave me a bunch of dental treats and chews, but I don't think Magnolia can have them with the FD. Maybe they make low carb dental chews? :lol:

On Tuesday, the vet tech told me to do whatever I can to keep her teeth clean. She said I can even use a q-tip to just wipe away any food particles on her teeth, whatever Magnolia will allow me to do. I figure, anything is better than nothing. Has your vet advised to have a dental done? Or anything that might help Boomer's teeth?
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217

Thank you so much for all this info. I think I'm gonna barf. I could never be a dental hygenist. Something about teeth and tarter (eeew) totally grosses me out. I guess I could get a finger toothbrush and start, although it gives me the goosebumps. He's a pretty laid back cat and I'll bet if I prime him with a little Reiki he'll be pretty relaxed. I cut his nails while I'm givinghim Reiki and he's pretty chill. :lol: He's got gingivitis (seems like all my cats had this) and some of his teeth are stained brown. It's not like I'm giving him charcoal to eat, he's just got teeth issues. I don't think he needs any removed, just a cleaning.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217

You are welcome! I'm a reiki practitioner too, but it doesn't help Magnolia to behave. But, I think it helps her heal. You're lucky though, if Boomer will let you clean his teeth, I'm dreading it because Magnolia does not let me manhandle her.

It is totally gross. I know. But, if you have his teeth cleaned at the vet, they won't be gross anymore and then it will be just like brushing your own teeth, right? And maybe if you stay on top of it, you will keep him healthy and save yourself a ton of money in the long run. It's preventative maintenance and seems well worth it. I wish I had done it years ago. Since Boomer is young, do you think you can get him to chew on those toys that are supposed to help clean his teeth?

I bet that some cats, like some people, are prone to more tartar buildup and gingivitis. Maybe Boomer (and Magnolia) fall into this category.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217, +3.5 148

Hi Sara, thanks for the input on the meter. Hope the battery thing and the blow out of the port works.

I've seen a lot here about making sure teeth are kept clean. It can really influence a cats health and their eating habits. After cleaning they recommended brushing Tess's teeth too. Easier said than done.

One other thing is a daily treatment w/ something like the Maxigard gel we use. Get a couple of drops on the gums. Helps to prevent tarter build up and increase the time between cleanings. Brushing is the best though. Tess gets a reward of being brushed afterwards, she'll put up w/ just about anything for a good brushing.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217, +3.5 148

There was an interesting discussion on PZI a few days ago regarding dentals and at-home tooth care. MicheleS is a retired vet so she knows of what she speaks. Scroll down to the 7th post in this thread (it's by Michele) and that is where the dental talk begins. She had some good tips for taking care of kitty's teeth at home.

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=7830&p=78954#p78954
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217, +3.5 148

Wow, I guess I really need to start this. His teeth are pretty gross. If i could get over the gross-out factor I could probably get in there and make his mouth better. I think he'd let me manhandle him a little. As long as food is involved, he'll deal with it! :lol:

What level Reki practicioner are you? I am level 2 and today I posted on Community about needing thoughts/ideas/opinions regarding remote treatments. Unfortunately a lot of the people I talk to on Lantus don't visit the other groups :sad:
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217, +3.5 148

Sarah-
Thanks for the post in PZI. I'm gonna get some gauze and do some scraping (and hopefully no barfing) tonight. I got so grossed out when I read the part about her liking to pop off tarter with her finger nails. OMG. That's what my vet does too. Vets can handle the really gross stuff. :lol:
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217, +3.5 148

Thanks Sarah, that is helpful. Gauze seems like a better idea that a q-tip.

Traci, Yes I am guilty of not frequenting other boards, I hardly find time for one. I am level 1 reiki, I got my attunement about 10 years ago and never went any further. I use it on myself and my friends and family, beans and furbabies too. I know "of" remote treatments, but can't offer any expertise. My understanding is that the intention is of the utmost importance and meditation often helps me focus and strengthen my intent.

Try to think of the tartar as something else...how about pieces of marshmallow stuck on his teeth? I hope that doesn't ruin marshmallows for you. :lol: I find it helpful if I remove the thingness from the thing that grosses me out. I'm easily grossed out too. My friend's puppy puked on me in the car last week. In order to avoid more puking, I had to convince myself that it was just some puppy food stuck on my hoodie...as I wiggled out of it and threw it to the back of the car. Ugh.

Good luck tonight. I hope it goes well. It may take some time before he will let you get to his teeth, so you might get out of heavy duty scraping tonight! Baby steps. I'm going to bookmark all this advice and positivity I'm sending out here, so that when Magnolia is feeling better and it's my turn, I'll have to follow my own advice.
 
+8 79

The elusive 5th P showed up in LB! I never thought I'd be so relieved to see cat poop.

There's been more pee than usual in LB as well, but I'm blaming that on the extra fluids they pushed during the procedure. I will keep an eye on it. Her numbers have been nice today. Last check was 79 at +8.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217, +3.5 148

The elusive 5th P showed up in LB! I never thought I'd be so relieved to see cat poop.

:lol: u gonna save that special poop? lol!

Looking good for +8 Magnolia! Bet you feel lighter too :lol:
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia AMPS 217, +3.5 148

Yea for the elusive P!

Glad the dental is out of the way. They feel so much better afterwards.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87

I think I'm going to shoot the full dose. I have about 10 minutes til her shot is due. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87

I was told by someone on the board that when a vet or tech pops that tartar off the teeth. like in office or home done, it can release bacteria into cat's mouth & cause other problems- Dentals need to be done properly in sterile conditions-Moonie has had 2 with total of 9 extractions, & was fine after both-they were done at the vet's and also cost me $750 each...EEEKKKK!!
-If we could somehow knock my cats out, tie them down, and pry their little mouths open, I could maybe clean their teeth myself!! :lol: :lol: :lol: I had tried with the finger toothbrush & cat tooth brush, to NO avail. cat(2)_steam
Guess I'll always have to leave it to the pros!!

BTW GREAT NUMBERS TODAY Magnolia & good job Sara~~ :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87

Sara & Magnolia said:
I think I'm going to shoot the full dose. I have about 10 minutes til her shot is due. Any thoughts?

I say go for it. :mrgreen: Hopefully this means that Magnolia is ready to get back into the major green/blue she was in before her dental. Yeah!
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87

Roni, I was thinking the same thing...if I could drug her...maybe I'll be able to get at her teeth! She tolerates the poking because of her treats.

Libby, I went for it. I can stay awake tonight if necessary. I'll be happy to see her on the same track she was on before the dental! Ps. 2 vets have told me she won't go into remission because her diabetes is genetic. I'd like very much like to let magnolia prove them wrong! Antijinx.

Her appetite is not quite back to normal yet. I had to sprinkle salmon dust on her dinner to get her to eat it.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87

Sara, it was suggested to me that I mash up the food after Kitty's dental -- just an idea, in case you're not already doing it.

May I ask, did your regular vet do the dental, or did you use a specialist?
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87

i peeked... magnolia's going green again! :mrgreen:
keep an eye on the numbers. she may be looking for another dose reduction...
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87, +1 118, +2 88

Sexy mr green! :mrgreen:

I'm on it. I had asked last night, but late, is it better to hold off the reduction by feeding high carb? Or is it better to let her get a decrease? I think I was more eloquent with my wording last night. And can't copy/paste from my phone.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87, +1 118, +2 88

Almost missed your post Kathy. I am not mushing her food. I'll try it for the next feeding. I figured wet food was mushed enough, but I can see how mushier might be better! Her regular vet did the dental, but I think she must be very good at it.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87, +1 118, +2 88

Sara & Magnolia said:
Sexy mr green! :mrgreen:

I'm on it. I had asked last night, but late, is it better to hold off the reduction by feeding high carb? Or is it better to let her get a decrease? I think I was more eloquent with my wording last night. And can't copy/paste from my phone.

when a kitty has a history of not holding reductions OR if reductions are coming too close together, sometimes feeding the curve in order to hang onto the dose longer works to your advantage.

at this point, i don't think magnolia falls into either of those categories. there's a real good chance that having had this dental may end up decreasing her need for insulin. mouth pain or discomfort and/or infection can increase the need for insulin. when the problem(s) are taken care of... insulin requirements may lessen. i wouldn't be surprised if she'll be asking for a dose reduction sooner rather than later...
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87, +1 118, +2 88, +3.5 69

That makes sense, thank you for explaining it.

So I really need to stay on my toes, huh? Ok....let's see where she goes tonight.
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87, +1 118, +2 88, +3.5 69

as sure as i suggest the possibility she may earn a reduction tonight, she won't.
so, i'm not sayin' nuttin'! :-D
 
Re: 3.4 Magnolia PMPS 87, +1 118, +2 88, +3.5 69

She does like to be different. But, whether she earns a reduction, or not, I'm staying up to see where she's going. And at least I'm on break and can stay up all night with her without having to worry about being a zombie tomorrow! DH said he will do the morning checks, give ab and shot, so that i can sleep in a little bit. As long as she cooperates with him and isn't too low, it will work out. I'm watching teevee, cuddled on the couch with a furry purry kitty. It's not too bad.
 
And there's that reduction. She is very sleepy from bupe, I hope I can get her to eat.

I think I'm going to feed MC and see where she is in 30 minutes.
 
sara, you can go ahead and feed her a little hc if you want. she has nothing more to prove tonight. she's earned her reduction. hc might give her enough of a bump so you'll be able to get to bed soon.
 
wooo-hoooooo! congrats on the reduction to 3.5 units! :mrgreen:
if she's high in the morning, you might want to hold onto the 3.75u dose for the AM cycle and then take the reduction to 3.5u for the PM cycle.
 
+6.5 42

I just tested and she's 42. But she's awake now and she ate ALL the HC and then went back to the leftover MC and snarfed it too. I'm going to retest in 15 or 30 (however long I can stay awake) and then go to bed. I'll leave out more food and the feeder goes off at +8.5. DH will be up by +9. That's safe, right?
 
I left out lots of MC for her. Off to bed. Thanks for hanging out and advising me in the middle of the night! You must be a night owl too. night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top