3/4 Kim's Simon AMPS 139, +5 82; dental tomorrow

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Good afternoon to all! Here's yesterday.

Simon has his dental tomorrow at this practice http://www.pcvdos.com/philosophy.htm. I have met the doctor before and I feel good about the care and the situation. I have my ammunition in terms of the recommended and non-recommended medications, so I think we are all set. I have no idea what he will have done besides cleaning because he hasn't been examined or x-rayed before.

Please review this list and make sure we're not missing anything:
Tonight's dose: Should I give him his regular .3u or reduce him, maybe to .2u?
Tomorrow morning: Instructions are to give him a very small meal (2-3tsp) and a half dose of insulin at 6am prior to his 8:30a.m. appointment. So I will give him .15u in the morning, making sure to be on the skinny side if in doubt.

I will bring my meter with me to the appt just in case. I will bring a can of his usual food. It is about a 15 minute drive, so I might have Karo for the ride home, although it's a quick trip.
I've shown her the spreadsheet already and she said I would win the science fair for sure :lol: But she was complimentary of the care I'm giving Simey.

Any other thoughts or differing opinions?

Thanks LL,
Kim
 
Never taken either of mine for a dental, though I plan to do Atticus in the next several months. Just wanted to tell Simon good luck! I'll be keeping a good thought for him tomorrow.
 
Monica and Atticus said:
Never taken either of mine for a dental, though I plan to do Atticus in the next several months. Just wanted to tell Simon good luck! I'll be keeping a good thought for him tomorrow.
I will let you know how it goes with Dr. Brown. I met her several years ago. She was part-timing at my old vet and I really liked her. My kitties loved her, almost like she cast a kitty spell on them. It was something I haven't seen from a vet before. Then she disappeared and I never knew it was to do dentistry! But it was interesting because she's not going to be more expensive than my regular vet! I'm a people DDS but I really have no idea what to expect--it's impossible for me to look at Simon's teeth except for the very superficial exam :) She is super nice and I feel good about the care, that we'll get the best tx to help him go OTJ (anti jinx!).
 
Good luck with the dental tomorrow. I've never heard of feeding the morning of.
 
Dyana said:
Good luck with the dental tomorrow. I've never heard of feeding the morning of.

I know, it is a little different. Our regular vet would make him be NPO or nothing by mouth from the night before. I think that because 8:30 is our consult, he would not be going under until awhile later.
 
if your vet didn't specifically say to reduce the dose tonight, i would not. i would give the regular amount. i gave punkin a little bit of food and a half dose of insulin about 6am the morning of his dental as well. they did the dental several hours later and there were no problems.

well, he likely had retained roots that caused an infection, but that was specific to him. there were no problems with barfing or BG's going too low or any of that.

if simon has teeth removed, make sure they take x-rays and they got all the roots. punkin had a bad time with that and our vet at the time didn't have an x-ray machine.

good luck, we'll be cheering for simon and watching for updates.
 
Re: 3/4 Kim's Simon AMPS 139, PMPS 87; dental tomorrow

Simon's trying to keep things exciting with a low pre-shot! Here's hoping he'll let me sleep. I actually haven't necessarily seen that his pre-shot makes a huge difference, though, so we soldiered on!
 
Good luck tomorrow Kim and Simon. Your dental vet sounds like she knows what she is doing (and you sound on top of it, too). We'll be thinking of you and sending good dental vines for Simon's procedure.

Ella & Rusty
 
The food the morning of seems to be a change in practice. I think Gabby could eat if it was several hours before the procedure.

The only thing I would say is that if Simon's AMPS is low, I'd skip the shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top